8/29 Doogle PMPS 329+2 399+4.5 339

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/29 Doogle AMPS 266+3.5 208+5 178+7 88 Up dose tongiht?

We are green today!! :mrgreen: I let him chill till at least +7 till feeding him something. Things are so much easier when I am doing it...LOL.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle AMPS 266+3.5 208+5 178+7 88 Up dose tongiht?

Let's see where he goes with this. If he turns right around and goes right back up, I'd increase .25u tonight because you do a great job of testing. Maybe just a little more insulin will kick start him a bit more. If he keeps coming down and stays green, I'd hold off.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle AMPS 266+3.5 208+5 178+7 88+8.75 225

Well at +8.75 his is now 225 (which I know is food, fed him FF Chunk Turkey). I agree with the jumpstart. But this is better than we have been.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle AMPS 266+3.5 208+5 178+7 88+8.75 225

Yes...he is doing better but since you test alot, I'd increase the dose and see if you can't get some better numbers.

Have you ever thought of using R on Doogle when he starts to bounce? The goal in using R is to give it in a very small dose, initially, as the bounce starts to keep it from going so high. You are home to test enough to monitor R because once you give it, you need to test hourly for 4-5 hours. The goal is to stop the numbers from going higher and, ultimately, it would bring the numbers down 50-100 mg/dL. You must avoid having the R nadir overlap with the Lantus nadir, though.

You can look at Gracie's SS starting back in Feb. She sometimes had a very pronounced response to it and once she started clearing her bounces in a cycle, I quit giving it for quite some time.

Let me know if you are interested, and I'll post more info here for you.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle AMPS 266+3.5 208+5 178+7 88+8.75 225

I have seen alot on here about R and they used it while he was in the ER with DKA. So please, give me some information on it and how to use it. Our vet it pretty good about giving me what I need when I ask. Thank you Marje!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle AMPS 266+3.5 208+5 178+7 88+8.75 225

You're welcome. I'll post it tonight. I'm getting ready to give Gracie her shot and get the kitties' dinner so I'll be back with it in a bit.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle PMPS 329

Not to bad of a bounce. Fed him a Purina One Chicken (which is 2 carbs and he likes). Went up to 2.0u so lets hope this jump starts him. This is what he was before the DKA and UTI and was getting good numbers. So lets see what happens. Looking forward to your info on R Marje!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle PMPS 329

Donna

If you want to think about trying the R, because you are experienced and also because of Doogles history with DKA, then you will want to start at a very low dose (0.1u) and practice until you can get the dose very consistent. You can purchase R at Walmart the cheapest. It does not require a prescription; you want Novolin R.

It's very important that you know Doogles onset, nadir, and duration on Lantus. R is usually in and out in 4 hours. So you can draw a curve of his lantus cycle and then overlay the action of R to determine when it is safe to give understanding that the R nadir will be (likely) at R+4. You should not allow the nadirs to overlap.

Starting out, I would only give it after nadir as a bounce starts. It is crucial that you don't give it as a bounce clears so you have to be familiar with Doogles bounce patterns. R is not a good idea for a cat that clears bounces in one cycle.

Starting out, you will need to check every hour for four hours after you give the R. The goal is to stop the bounce from getting any higher but you will likely see the BG come down some.

Questions?
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle PMPS 329+2 399

So do you give R when he isnt bouncing? What happens when he decides he wants a late nadir? He has done that a few times or even double dipped.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle PMPS 329+2 399

If he were very high and flat due to DKA, for example, a CG could give R to bring numbers down.

If you gIve R only as the bounce starts, you shouldn't overlap with a late nadir. A good example of when you could have given it is 8/4 a.m. cycle.
 
Re: 8/29 Doogle PMPS 329+2 399

Ahhhhh, ok. I will go to walmart and see if I can get it. Lets hope they dont give me hard time (they can be pains depending on who is there). Thanks for all the info Marje!!! As soon as I can get, I will post and get feedback and help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top