8 29 Corv -- AMPS 116 +2 100 +4 95

Just got off the phone with the vet, she thinks we should try a week trial of OTJ with continued BG monitoring to see how he responds. I think I'm gonna do it -- if he starts bumping back up to 150-200 I'll go back on 0.1U
 
Just a FYI, remission lasts better if you have a strong remission. By which we mean keeping him on insulin support according to our dosing methods and not stopping early. He's really close but looks like he needs a bit more time yet on insulin. I'm talking days not weeks if he stays looking like he has the last couple days. It is your choice of course and we will support you no matter which way you go.
 
Jud, I'll tell you what happened to Jude. He really did not have a strong remission when I took him off insulin the first time. You can look at our sheet and at his numbers--and you'll see some higher end numbers. He only held that remission for about six months. He was SLGS early on in his diagnosis, and he kept dropping below 90, so I didn't give him shots, until he eventually didn't get them any more, but his numbers were not stellar/strong, and I REALLY wish I had switched him to TR at that point so that he could have spent more time in the greens before I stopped the insulin. And Corv's numbers are not as good right now as Jude's were. Corv is seeing some much higher end (cycle) numbers. He's likely headed in the right direction, but, as Wendy advises, you want a good, strong remission that will hold. Good luck with the decision.
 
Last edited:
We don't look at just the preshots, but the overall numbers, including the nadirs. You want Jud to be spending a lot of time in what is under 100 on the human meter, probably closer to 120-140 on the pet meter. But don't quote me on the AT numbers as there isn't really a conversion.
 
Back
Top