8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331; PMPS 229;2.75-312;5.5-282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Everyone!

Yesterday's Condo

Sending healing wishes and hugs to all our kitties and beans who need them.

Today's News:

AMPS: 315
+3: 331
+4: 349

PMPS: 229
+2.75: 312
+5.5: 282

Clare had a good night on mouse duty. She bounced and let her beans sleep while she was keeping a vigilant watch over the space beneath the utility room door. The nights are getting colder now and some of the critters like to see if they can move to warmer places. Not if Clare has anything to say about it!

Have a good day Friday, Lantus Land! It's a long weekend for many, so enjoy some extra nap time if you need it.

Georgette
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315

Boo to the pink! But I am sure she will safely find herself on the yellow floor in no time :)

Have a great day !!!
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315

Well, now, Clare. Time to slide down from the pinks, o.k.

Funny about the utility door stare. My Rowsie lives in the hallway keeping watch under the water heater closet door. That time of year, I guess.

Central WI? A former Stevens Point person, here. Are the maples turning red yet? Always an omen that school would be starting soon.

Hope it's a good day for you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331

Thanks for your visits, Molly and Marilyn,

Clare's still bouncing. We haven't had two back-to-back bouncing cycles for awhile. :sad: I hope she gets down to yellow soon like you said, Molly.

Marilyn, we live in Marshfield. I get to Stevens Point quite often and now that Highway 10 has been improved between our cities it's quicker to get there. A great town!

Have a great weekend (even though you don't get Monday off, Marilyn0!

Georgette
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331

A question for everyone in LL who might have experience or ideas about this:

I have a part-time job that requires me to be at a three-day conference starting in about a ten days. It would be difficult to skip the meeting (a grayish mark against my record) but not impossible.

In order to go, I figure we'd need to have Clare under professional supervision. We're lucky to have a supportive vet with two techs who are willing to come to our house to test, feed and give insulin (charging each time they come out.) or we can board Clare there, but there are some hours overnight (during her nadir) when she would be unsupervised. 24-hour veterinary care is possible out of town with folks we don't know as well.

So, my question is: What are the basic steps we need to take to (1) ensure Clare's safety while we're gone and (2) hopefully keep her progressing as much as possible toward being OTJ, or minimizing a backslide?

Thank you for any thoughts and advice. I plan to gather them and then have a get-together with the vet and techs to outline a plan for while we're gone.

If it's not possible to keep her safe, we won't go.

With gratitude,

Georgette
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331 What to do while we're away?

morning ~O)

first question, did you dose last night and not write it down or skip? whichever, you space is empty and you should correct that....



I would pick the vet or tech coming to my house.... that way Clare is less stressed getting to be at home.
To keep her safe.... I would reduce the dose slightly.... which isn't so easy since she is on a small dose. Draw up a sample syringe with colored fluid in it just as a safety measure. It's a reminder that her dose is small.
And then when you return, get right back on track.


I started clicking on reading some background but decided I'd just ask...
Has Clare had a dental with x-rays anytime recently? Her numbers weren't crazy high with dx so wondered if her teeth could be a reason....
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331 What to do while we're away?

10 days away is a long time in FD land - she could change a lot between now and then. Sienne often has traveled for work and Gabby won't let anyone else test her. She reduces her dose and the petsitter comes by to shoot, but not test.

Clare is on a very small dose, but there are 2 smaller doses. One is the 0.1u dose, the other is a "breath" of insulin, where you press the plunger hard, put it into the insulin and release the plunger. The vacuum effect will pull up one small drop.

To get a certain measure of the dose you're currently giving, it would be helpful if you measured how many drops is in your 0.25u. To do that, draw up the dose, then point the needle to the ceiling and "screw" the plunger to measure one drop at a time sliding out. Then you'll know how many and we can help you decide how many to go to when you're gone.

I don't think we can plan now for a dose that far away. I'd make the decision on the dose amount 1-2 days before you leave.
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331 What to do while we're away?

Hi Rhiannon and Julie,

Thanks for the reminder to enter the dose on the ss, Rhiannon. I fixed that. Clare hasn't had dental x-rays, but her teeth and gums have been examined and they appear to have a small amount of tarter. I can ask for a dental x-ray next week if that would clear up that possibility.

Julie, my DH, who does the insulin shots, just checked the drops in his 0.25 dose. He said that there are two, or maybe one and another drop that looks like it might be a very small amount under a full drop.

He also did the vacuum-dose thing, and looked at the amount of insulin that resulted. He said that it looked very much like the amount that was in the second drop of the 0.25 dose, if that makes sense?

Hope this helps,

Georgette
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331 What to do while we're away?

Hi Georgette:

We go out of town fairly frequently, and I've done both - having someone come in and boarding my kitties. Of the two, I prefer having them come to the house, as the cats are much more comfortable in their own environment. I would make sure the person or persons who will be coming to test and shoot comes by ahead of time to interact with Clare in her own environment, as well as to learn where everything is and how you do things. If they can keep the routine as close to normal as possible, that helps the kitty be more comfortable. If you have a general idea when Clare's nadir usually falls in the cycle, you can ask them to come to test as close to that time as possible. Will they also be scooping the littler box? That's important for kitty's comfort, too.

My cat sitter is gone all day at her regular job, so Cinco does not get tested between AMPS and PMPS. I generally have her shoot .25 less than we have been shooting for that reason, and there has never been a problem (anti-jinx). Cinco gets right back on track within a couple of days.

Boarding is a good option, too, if you think Clare wouldn't be totally freaked out by it. Three of my cats tolerate it fairly well, but I have one who would absolutely lose his mind if he were confined in a cage for several days (or even several hours). I also reduce the dose when boarding, because they don't test as often as I would, and there are some overnight hours when no one is there.

Good luck making your decisions. You are very fortunate to have options.
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331 What to do while we're away?

yes, it makes sense. there are different sized drops. :roll: like you needed one more thing to notice! :lol:

so perhaps the "breath" dose would be an ok dose for while you're gone. let's see how she is when it's closer.
 
Re: 8/29 Clare AMPS 315 +3-331; PMPS 229

Tricia, thanks for your thoughts and experience on caring for Clare while we're away.

Julie, we'll carry on through the week and pick this up again on Friday. We'll be leaving on Sunday.

Thanks again to you both!

Georgette
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top