8/29 Biggie AMPS 375 +4.25 206 +7.25 129 +8 100 +8.5 109 +9 93 +9.5 85 DOSING QUESTION

Jackie and Biggie

Member Since 2022
Previous post

The past few days Biggie has been somewhat flat but mostly pinks. My novice interpretation of this is Biggie has been building up his depot again (after skipping doses when he was under 200 and trying out a smaller dose but now going back to his original dose of .5u for two days). If his bg continues to go down, I may need dosing advice tonight. TYIA ❤️

ETA I went back to .5u after trying the reduction b/c I was using different syringes and when I saw his high numbers again I wasn’t sure if it was because of the dose adjustment or if I was actually giving him more than .5 u before with the syringes that didn’t have 1/2 unit markings. I decided for consistency to go up to .5 u and stick with the same syringes.
 
Last edited:
I couldn’t fit the whole curve in the title, so pasting it here:
Full Curve: AMPS 375 +4.25 206 +7.25 129 +8 100 +8.5 109 +9 93 +9.5 85 + 10.25 112 +11 126

I know I can earn a reduction for SLGS. In the past two weeks my cat has reduced his budesonide and gone off hard food. So I know those things can help lower BG a lot.
My vet advised me going forward to give lantus .5u once a day now. What is the advantage to giving it at half that dose (.25u) twice a day, as one would with SLGS. What would be the difference in responses, theoretically, and in your experience? Thank you.


@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Chris & China (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Vets tell people that because they don’t realize we can measure smaller doses. Lantus needs to be given every 12 hours or you will see erratic cycles. Give .25 twice a day.
 
Back
Top