8/29 - AMPS 133 (Help - stalling?)

Curt & Leo

Member Since 2019
Hi again everyone. Still getting used to this...

I was here a few days back when my guy tested at 200. I stalled, fed him, and the next morning he was higher again than he had been. He stayed higher for the next day until I raised his dose from 1u to 1.25.

Now, he just tested at 133 AMPS.

I haven't fed him yet, which I feel bad about cause that's his 'reward' after testing, but I want to make sure what I should be doing. Do I not feed or shoot and test again? Feed but don't shoot and test later? Feed and shoot back at 1u?

Thanks again in advance for your help and advice.
 
Don't feed yet; stall for 20-30mins and then test again. If he's on the way up you may be able to shoot, but we want to make sure he's not going down.

Nice to see the blue number, though!
 
Nan is right, glad she posted!
133 is a great start.
What you also need to know is when the insulin onset starts, and when the peak performance (nadir) is (usually between +5 and +7). Onset could be at around +2. But my kitty has a food bump and doesn't start heading down until after +3. Only testing at different times will give you this info.
I hope this helps a little!
 
Okay, y'all. It's been 45 mins and he's reading 167, so on the rise.

Feed and shoot? If I shoot, should I leave it at the 1.25 or back to 1?
 
Have you gotten any more tests today? It's really critical to get at least a couple tests in on days like this when he starts off at a new low. Not only do you (of course) want to keep him safe today, but it will help you later on to have some data on how he does when you shoot a number like this morning.
 
Even when I stall, I give Figaro a small treat after every test. Just a suggestion to use a small LC treat rather than a meal as a reward so you don't feel as bad if you have to stall again :)
 
Have you gotten any more tests today? It's really critical to get at least a couple tests in on days like this when he starts off at a new low. Not only do you (of course) want to keep him safe today, but it will help you later on to have some data on how he does when you shoot a number like this morning.


I got a +5 at 151. I'm assuming that's probably pretty good?
 
Yes! Let's hope that the 1.25U dose is a good one for him. I was a little worried looking at your spreadsheet, because you didn't have a whole lot of data before making the change from 1U, but so far, so good.

I don't know if you've had a chance to read the "stickies" at the top of this forum, but we use two main methods of dose adjustments here, Tight Regulation and Start Low, Go Slow. If you pick one that works for you, put the info in your signature so people like me don't keep bugging you about it :rolleyes:.

Love the profile pic, by the way-- he's a real cutie!
 
Back
Top