8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,PMPS 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Hi guys,

I gusess i just did it wrong....AMPS 63 which is a pretty low ps number for Ahmin, but i just gave him the same dosage (0.5u) as the past few cycles.....too stupid i am.....coz the scale of my meter is in mmol/L, i usually convert the number to mg/dl for your guys easy reference, by the time i shoot i just don't realize that is a low number for him.....
what should i do now?????

Pls help!!
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

Hi Christine,

no worries. you are "data ready". get a +1 and +2. you have plenty of HC food and strips?
You are fine. It may be an exciting cycle - which you are familiar with handling.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

Thx Sandy.

ok, i'll do the same as the past exciting cycles and do more tests.
what a stupid girl i am, i deserve to have an exciting cycle as a punishment if there will happen (i hope there will not)......

lots of strips & hc food, i think i can handle it if just treat the same as the exciting cycle i have experienced.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

You will do fine. Now that you are shooting lower doses it will be easier to control and you will find yourself feeling more confident in shooting them. Ahmin is in great hands. :thumbup

BTW you can take the 911 down, you have eyes on your condo tonight.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

Don't be too hard on yourself, you are only human.

christine&ahmin said:
lots of strips & hc food, i think i can handle it if just treat the same as the exciting cycle i have experienced.
Exactly! :-D
In this case a +1 and +2 are important.

Christine, do you have honey or sweet syrup of some kind? This would be good, just in case you want the BG to come up faster than it would with HC.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

yes, i have plenty of stock for strips, syrup & hc food.
do u think i should give him hc food now to prevent the number goes too low?
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

christine, i told sandy i would stay with you so she could go to bed. it's 10pm here and i'm up for at least another hour.

how are you doing?
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

julie1220 said:
christine, i told sandy i would stay with you so she could go to bed. it's 10pm here and i'm up for at least another hour.

how are you doing?

Thx for staying here with me! sorry to bother you....
i'm very guilty now.....
I usually do the preshot test 10 mins b4 shooting time. When i was trying to poke Ahmin today b4 noon, he was trying to escape from me because he's hungry & wanted to eat. i poked him few times but not success since he kept moving (this is rare, he usually lying quietly when i'm poking or shooting him). I finished the test just right at the shooting time, it was too rush that i haven't think about the number might be too low. that's what happened.....
i always tell myself have to stay calm whenever what's happening, only clear mind can solve problem in a right way, otherwise, we would only make things worst.

retest already :
AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59

i probably would experience another exciting cycle ;-)
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63, Lower number than usual

just to add a little perspective, christine - people do shoot low numbers around here. i don't think you did anything wrong. i think the message you are getting is that ahmin's pancreas is starting to work, he needs less and less insulin, and (antijinx) i would guess your little kitter is on his way off of insulin. you just have to go through this little dance right now to help him get there.

i'm jealous! so don't beat yourself up about it. just make sure and drop the next dose.

looks like you're going to need to test every 30 minutes until he hits 49, then start giving him gravy and/or karo syrup. just like you've done before.

i'll check with you in a few minutes. you're not bothering me - no worries!
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59

Hi Christine:

I don't think I"ve been on your condo before but have noticed that Ahmin has been keeping you very busy. I'm gonna hang out a bit, too. Julie needs to go to bed by 11 and I'll be up until 11:30 with Miss Gracie.

I'm sure you know the drill by now, but we're hoping the +2 won't be too far off the AMPS. I have to go feed some of the other cats but will be back on the hour to check in.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59

Julie, Thx for encouraging me :-D
I know Punkin will do the same as Ahmin and will finally get off the juice :mrgreen:

Will retest @+2

I know what i have to do & i think I can handle it, just go bed if it's time. Don't worry about me, I'm feeling better now :-D
Thanks very much indeed for all u guys here, this place is fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56

luckily dropping slowly. Will rest @+2.5 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

i wasn't just trying to make you feel better, christine. it's true. the Lantus Land saying is "shoot low to stay low." it's nerve-wracking to shoot a green number the first time, but you have to. that's part of the process of flattening out the curve that leads to off of insulin. you did fine. the downside is that you have to watch your kitter like this. but it will pay off for you.

i'm headed to bed. you're an old pro at this now and you're doing everything just right. have a wonderful day!

see you tomorrow, my favorite Hong Kong friend! :-D
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Great....slow is good. Not sure when Ahmin onsets....do you know?

I'll be up for 30 more minutes and then we'll see where he is.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

julie1220 said:
i wasn't just trying to make you feel better, christine. it's true. the Lantus Land saying is "shoot low to stay low." it's nerve-wracking to shoot a green number the first time, but you have to. that's part of the process of flattening out the curve that leads to off of insulin. you did fine. the downside is that you have to watch your kitter like this. but it will pay off for you.

i'm headed to bed. you're an old pro at this now and you're doing everything just right. have a wonderful day!

see you tomorrow, my favorite Hong Kong friend! :-D

Thx Julie, Don't worry about me! Goodnite & have a sweet sweet dream :-D
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Great....slow is good. Not sure when Ahmin onsets....do you know?

I'll be up for 30 more minutes and then we'll see where he is.

onsets usually @+1.5 to +2, nadir usually around +4 to 5.5
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52

Love to see it's going down slowly. Will retest in 15mins :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Ok.....you know to give him some HC gravy (and karo if you need it) to get him up if he gets to 49?

How are you doing and are you able to stay home and test? Also....I'm thinking you've handled low numbers (below 50) before...shall I stay up with you?
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Ok.....you know to give him some HC gravy (and karo if you need it) to get him up if he gets to 49?

How are you doing and are you able to stay home and test? Also....I'm thinking you've handled low numbers (below 50) before...shall I stay up with you?

I've handled number below 50 b4, just a little panic after the AM shot, but I'm fine now & i'm able to handle it by my own, no need to stay with me, i know it's late at nite in US. Go bed now, we'll see a beautiful green day of Ahmin tmr :mrgreen:

Thank you & wish u have a sweet dream :-D
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Ok...if you are absolutely sure. There is a link to "Handling Low Numbers" in my signature block.

I don't like to leave people alone if they have low numbers but I know you have dealt with this a few times. If you have any problem, just put up "HELP" or the 911....sometimes there are night owls around.

Thanks so much and I'm sorry I haven't visited you and Ahmin yet. I'm getting ready to go from full time to part time on my job and it's been crazy. After tomorrow, I'll have lots more time.

His SS looks fabulous. I agree with Julie that I don't think he's going to like the juice much longer.

Have a wonderful day there!!!
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52
+2.75 58
+3 63

wierd....nadir came so early this time?? anyway, this is better than if number drop suddenly :lol:
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Hi Christine, I'll be up for about an hour still. Tess has a very late onset and nadir.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Hi Ann,

Thx for stopping in :-D
How are u & Tess? I saw your post & Tess is doing great :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52
+2.75 58
+3 63
+3.5 61

Dancing dancing_cat ??
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

Ahmin is having a lovely cycle! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It looks like you may be on the rise soon. Remember also with low numbers to consider when in the cycle they occur. Early on you do need to stop Ahmin from dropping too fast and HC may be needed. Close to nadir you can back off on the carbs and just supplement w/ lower carb foods to just nudge the numbers up a little since they will be coming up soon.

For Tess I will vary the amount of carbs before onset if I see a fast drop. slowing it down like that often means we never actually have to resort to HC because she usually slows down before she goes too low.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52
+2.75 58
+3 63
+3.5 61
+4 58
+4.75 72

i think number @+4.75 is not reliable, coz friend of my mom come to my house suddenly, Ahmin is kinda nervous about stranger, i believe it bump up his number :sad:
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63,+1 76,+1.5 59,+2 56

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52
+2.75 58
+3 63
+3.5 61
+4 58
+4.75 72
+6.25 83

numbers starting from +4.75 may not reliable, coz friends of my mom came to my house suddenly, Ahmin are nervous when strangers here, it probably bump up his bg :sad:
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63. Dosage reduction for tonite???

Christine:

I don't see any numbers below 50 that would warrant a reduction. However, I also couldn't tell how hard you were working to keep Ahmin's numbers up. Were you feeding HC during the early part of the cycle? If so, you could probably shave the dose and shoot a "skinny" 0.5u (or a "fat" 0.25u).
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63. Dosage reduction for tonite???

What a gorgeous cycle and you did a great job, Christine. Sorry everyone pooped out on you but you're an old hand at this now!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 8/29 Ahmin AMPS 63. Dosage reduction for tonite???

Sienne and Gabby said:
Christine:

I don't see any numbers below 50 that would warrant a reduction. However, I also couldn't tell how hard you were working to keep Ahmin's numbers up. Were you feeding HC during the early part of the cycle? If so, you could probably shave the dose and shoot a "skinny" 0.5u (or a "fat" 0.25u).

only fed 1/2 small can LC @+0.5
 
Good morning guys!

just shot 0.5u to Ahmin.

AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52
+2.75 58
+3 63
+3.5 61
+4 58
+4.75 72
+6.25 83
PMPS 79 (2/5 small can of LC food after test)

Have a good day :mrgreen:
 
Hi guys .. That was such a beautiful cycle for ahmin! You handled it great christine .. you're becoming such a pro at this before you know it you'll be holding newbies hands .. great job!
 
AMPS 63 (1/2 small can LC food @+0.5)
+1 76
+1.5 59
+2 56
+2.5 52
+2.75 58
+3 63
+3.5 61
+4 58
+4.75 72
+6.25 83
PMPS 79 (2/5 small can of LC food after test)
+2 79 (1/2 small can of LC food @+1.5)
+3 65
+4.5 85 (1/2 small can of LC food @+4.25)

Surfing in the greens today :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top