8/28 - KT AMPS 281 +3-346 +6-331 +9-340

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/28 - KT AMPS 281!!!

Did you shoot less than 2.0u? If so, please keep the dose a consistent 2.0u. You need to shoot the same dose for a total of 5 to 7 days in order for the Lantus depot (i.e., "shed") to be established. I know I keep harping on this but Lantus is not like N. Humulin N is in and out of the system within a cycle. It's an intermediate acting insulin. Lantus is a long-acting, depot-type insulin.

Also, please get into the habit of getting tests during the PM cycle. At the minimum, you need to get a test before you go to bed. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.

Just as a reminder, if you're going to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol
Tight Regulation sticky said:
Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
 
Re: 8/28 - KT AMPS 281!!!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Did you shoot less than 2.0u? If so, please keep the dose a consistent 2.0u. You need to shoot the same dose for a total of 5 to 7 days in order for the Lantus depot (i.e., "shed") to be established. I know I keep harping on this but Lantus is not like N. Humulin N is in and out of the system within a cycle. It's an intermediate acting insulin. Lantus is a long-acting, depot-type insulin.

I try to get it right on the 2.0 line but I felt like it was a half-hair less this morning. I'm doing my best to keep it at a steady 2.0.

Also, please get into the habit of getting tests during the PM cycle. At the minimum, you need to get a test before you go to bed. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.

Is a 2+ PM test enough? There will be times I can't test at specific times if DH's low potassium periodic paralysis attacks are happening. I have to hold his head up so he can breathe/swallow and slowly give liquid potassium until I get him back to correct breathing and steady heartbeat. Sometimes this happens within half an hour, sometimes we're at it for 4-5 hours. During that time, I have to constantly monitor his heart and breathing to be sure I don't need to start CPR and call the ambulance.

Just as a reminder, if you're going to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol
Tight Regulation sticky said:
Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

THANK YOU for answering that - it was one of my yesterday's questions. I'll do my best to get +3, +6 and +9 daily.

I'm SO blessed to have found this wonderful site. I'm not sure how I would have learned all this otherwise. THANK YOU AGAIN!!!
 
Lyresa --

Getting a PM +2 is good. There will be times when you will need to test later than that but a +2 is good.

Given your DH's medical condition, I really want to urge you to think about a plan should KT's numbers drop at the same time as your DH needs you. We've certainly had people here who were grappling with medical problems of their own or their family's but nothing quite so critical. Please take a look at the info in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky -- the section on handling low numbers. It will require repeated testing and feeding. Once you get the hang of it, the process only takes a few minutes but it doesn't sound like that may be possible. Let's try to do some brainstorming so you're not trying to manage two situations, one of which catches you completely off guard.
 
you have your hands full! sienne's got a good idea with an advance plan.

how often does your husband have that kind of crisis?

hopefully KT is going to settle down and her numbers will flatten out. you got a wonky curve today - these things happen. it won't be every cycle. hang in there.
 
Sienne, I've already been rubbing my worry stone over these 2 things colliding AND Snow having an asthma attack due to all the stress. There's no one that KT will let do anything for him - big scaredy cat runs and hides. I think I can juggle both things but I do have one neighbor that, if she doesn't fall apart and give me even ANOTHER problem, will help with DH for a short time. Having been dealing with DH's thing for a few years now, I've learned how to maneuver him quickly into a strategically placed chair that will hold him up while I fix meds.

Julie - sometimes he has none a day, sometimes up to 5. Sometimes we have a few seconds notice, sometimes he drops unconscious between words of a sentence. Some days we can tell early in the day that he's overly 'melty' so I watch him closer. He can't tell me he's in trouble as he's too weak or unconscious. If I don't hear him make some kind of noise every few minutes, I check on him. Very rarely get more than 50 feet from him unless I KNOW he's stable.

I'm learning SO much about all sorts of things I never wanted to learn so much about.... ;-)

Hugs

EDIT TO ADD: Tonight's +2 is 286 - about where we started the morning....gotta hit the hay now....
 
What I would suggest is getting a couple of extra meters that you can leave strategically placed. Ditto on strips -- keep some with each meter. A can of cat food and a spare bowl along with some Karo/honey, etc. with your set up may also be helpful so you don't have to run to the kitchen.
 
Congrats on the yellows today :) :thumbup Sounds like you have your hands full. Hopefully you wont have to ever deal with both at the same time. ((fingers crossed))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top