8/28 Jack: 319@amps, 265@+3- bouncing from overnight 66? Dose advice, pls

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Very Active Member
I guess according to SLGS, Jack has earned a reduction courtesy of his early cycle numbers in the 60's and the occasional 56 - but because he won't give up the LC Elsey's kibble/ Ziwi Peak dried ckn mix in the morning, his pmps numbers are consistently in the 200's and 300's with the occasional 400. I know I'm not increasing his dose, but the last time we were on 8.5u (back in Feb) he never really saw anything under 200...unless he didn't eat anything. Is it better to reduce to 8.5 u and play the up and down game (which I thought was worse for his organs than just a steadier, albeit higher, number) or to keep 9u and see some green in each cycle? I appreciate any and all suggestions/input.

Thanks in advance and hope all the kitties are surfing safely today!

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-26-jack-162-amps-60-3-77-4.293474/#post-3202560
 
I guess according to SLGS, Jack has earned a reduction courtesy of his early cycle numbers in the 60's and the occasional 56 - but because he won't give up the LC Elsey's kibble/ Ziwi Peak dried ckn mix in the morning, his pmps numbers are consistently in the 200's and 300's with the occasional 400. I know I'm not increasing his dose, but the last time we were on 8.5u (back in Feb) he never really saw anything under 200...unless he didn't eat anything. Is it better to reduce to 8.5 u and play the up and down game (which I thought was worse for his organs than just a steadier, albeit higher, number) or to keep 9u and see some green in each cycle? I appreciate any and all suggestions/input.

Thanks in advance and hope all the kitties are surfing safely today!

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-26-jack-162-amps-60-3-77-4.293474/#post-3202560
Hi Christine,
I see your dilemma. I know it took you a long time for you and Jack to get to this point and I can certainly understand your unwillingness to go back down.
I'm no dosing expert and I hope some people will chime in
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee

I know some people do custom SLGS. I think Deb (Sly's mom) did well with the reduction threshold of 60 with SLGS for Sly.
You've done this for long enough and you test many times that something like that could be an option?
I hope you will find the best option for you and Jack! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Such a dilemma Christine. I think Kit’s suggestion has merit.
I hope you hear back from our resident experts who can best guide you.
Your thinking is very sound.
It’s so hard when they bounce so high after these lows.
I hope you and the kitties are all well and have a nice night :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks @Staci & Ivy and @Mikanmama . He gets an automatic reduction at 50, but today he's riding high from his overnight low....really hate to give less insulin on higher numbers. Really wish the stubborn mule would give up the kibble!!!
They are stubborn, aren’t they?

I wish Ivy would be a better patient so I could get her the I131 treatment. But I don’t see her becoming a model patient anytime soon :arghh:
 
I know he's in the higher dosing numbers, hence the 0.5 increases and decreases - have you tried a decrease of 0.25 units just to see if it helps any? I know that's not the standard, but just a thought. But I definitely get not wanted to decrease when they have higher numbers, even if those higher numbers are a bounce. Kit is joining Jack in bounce land tonight (although thankfully not super high as yet).
 
but the last time we were on 8.5u (back in Feb) he never really saw anything under 200
First of all, February is a life time ago when looking at dose needs. A cat's dose needs can and do change over time. We typically just look back a couple weeks worth of data.

I know you occasionally can't test like you have been able to lately. With a larger depot, and him teasing with the 50's, I'd worry about you suddenly not able to test as well for a cycle or two and have him go low. The larger depot can influence quite a few cycles after a reduction.

Lastly, if 8.5 doesn't work, you could always try Alicia's suggestion of a 0.25 unit reduction and see if that brings up the nadirs to a more comfortable zone. Some cats do well with smaller changes, though it's not something I'd generally suggest first at this size of dose.
 
First of all, February is a life time ago when looking at dose needs. A cat's dose needs can and do change over time. We typically just look back a couple weeks worth of data.

I know you occasionally can't test like you have been able to lately. With a larger depot, and him teasing with the 50's, I'd worry about you suddenly not able to test as well for a cycle or two and have him go low. The larger depot can influence quite a few cycles after a reduction.

Lastly, if 8.5 doesn't work, you could always try Alicia's suggestion of a 0.25 unit reduction and see if that brings up the nadirs to a more comfortable zone. Some cats do well with smaller changes, though it's not something I'd generally suggest first at this size of dose.
Thanks very much for your advice. Typically Jack doesn't do much with .25 dose changes either way, ive tried doing that, both up and down, a few times. Interesting about the length of time that data is viable. I really appreciate your sanity checks, and advice... everything you pointed out makes perfect sense. Thanks again.
 
I know he's in the higher dosing numbers, hence the 0.5 increases and decreases - have you tried a decrease of 0.25 units just to see if it helps any? I know that's not the standard, but just a thought. But I definitely get not wanted to decrease when they have higher numbers, even if those higher numbers are a bounce. Kit is joining Jack in bounce land tonight (although thankfully not super high as yet).
I've tried .25 changes both up and down in the past and he doesn't do much with them but I'm always willing to try this if the 8.5 doesn't work out...thanks for your support and suggestions!
 
Back
Top