8/28 Ivy Amps 300, +4 139, +5 88, +9 169, Pmps 322, +3 339 Libre (feels better after B12 shot)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
8/27/26
Amps 300 Libre

Ivy seems to be feeling much better today 🙏💖
Seems after she gets the weekly B12 shot, given yesterday (4th weekly shot), she feels so much better within about 6-8 hours 🙏

Waiting for a stool to know what’s going on. It’s been almost 24 hours :nailbiting:

She ate well for dinner yesterday (some lamb and some baby food) and breakfast today, all lamb diet (anti jinx) 🤞🤞🤞
I gave a slight insulin increase this morning, since I had lowered her dose a few days ago when her G.I. flare began.
Since I couldn’t be sure she was going to eat, I needed to be a little conservative with her insulin.
So I’m slowly taking her back up again, her prior dose she had her really diving lower and bouncing high, so I wasn’t sure if the dose was a little bit intense for her, causing such huge swings.
Maybe that contributed to her not feeling well and vomiting the other day.
It’s also hard to know exactly what causes these things.
It could be completely unrelated to the BG situation and completely be that the B12 shot was due, and the former dose was waning.

I wish I had clear answers.

I did discuss Budesonide with her vet yesterday, he seems to not want to use that yet for her. He wants me to use the support meds we are using and see if we can get her to recover from all of this GI situation.
He has me using an herb for inflammation that he likes (Si Miao San) as well.

I’m not sure how hard to push on this issue of adding the steroid right now.

I will update as the day goes on.

Sending calm and biting wishes to all for a steady and easy day 🐈🐈‍⬛😻
IMG_5857.jpeg
 
Yay, Ivy! I’m so relieved to read this today. That B12 shot really worked fast! I wonder if that’s really what does it and if so, does your vet think you can do every 6 days instead of 7? And then also, what you should do once you hit the 6 weeks and then move to a month, maybe go every 2 weeks for a bit?

I’ve been kind of curious too why after 6 weeks the dosing schedule changes. If I learn anything, I’ll let you know!

Good luck with the increase and the poop! Hope you’re able to breathe a little easier today 🤗
 
I hope this means Ivy is recovering! You don’t want to give the B 12 more often as it can cause rare issues. After 6 weeks I think you give it monthly.
Do you know what the issues may be?
Is it a problem if she needs it more frequently than monthly after this 6 week weekly course of shots?

It seems she really needs this B12 support 😭
 
Yay, Ivy! I’m so relieved to read this today. That B12 shot really worked fast! I wonder if that’s really what does it and if so, does your vet think you can do every 6 days instead of 7? And then also, what you should do once you hit the 6 weeks and then move to a month, maybe go every 2 weeks for a bit?

I’ve been kind of curious too why after 6 weeks the dosing schedule changes. If I learn anything, I’ll let you know!

Good luck with the increase and the poop! Hope you’re able to breathe a little easier today 🤗
It seems the protocol was recommended by TAMU and that what most vets follow.

But I don’t know what happens if we go to monthly and she’s just a mess without the support.

I’ll keep reporting here as well, Briana if I learn anything new 💖
 
Yay Ivy! It sounds like the B12 shots really really help her and I’m really glad that she’s doing so much better today :)

Hopefully as you check her levels, you can decide what cadence to use going forward for her B12 shots since they seem so beneficial for her.

I love the photo of Ivy today! She looks like she’s supervising at the beach on that towel with all her toys 😻😻😻
 
I would think that if still low she would need more. I think but do not know that this could on,l be an issue if giving it when the level is good. Kind of like if we supplement ourselves with D when we do not really need it.
 
I would think that if still low she would need more. I think but do not know that this could on,l be an issue if giving it when the level is good. Kind of like if we supplement ourselves with D when we do not really need it.
Ok thanks Elise. Looks like I need to do some research on this
 
Update today, I’m on poop watch and oddly she hasn’t even pooped since yesterday’s very mushy poops in the morning.
Maybe the B12 (and or the Ondansetron, Mirataz and Cerenia cocktail has her constipated??)
Usually after giving thy B12 about a day later she had a great poop 💩 🙏
So I’m on poop watch 💩
 
How long term did you give the weekly B12?
It was quite a while, a year or two, Im guessing. I really dont recall, sorry. it was a long time ago. I still had the b12 bottle when I had to start Karamelle on it, but I had to buy a new one because the one I had was so old. I was under the impression from everything Ive read that excess B12 just comes out in the urine. I also just read that if B12 is high and they get cancer, its not from giving the B12 injections.
This is an interesting read. B12 supplementation in cats with possible cancer
I dont know what study they are referring to. It doesnt appear remotely common that anything bad would happen from giving weekly B12 injections. Just do a search for "will giving B12 injections weekly to a cat cause cancer" and see what comes up. Ai summerizes what it reads, but you can look directly at the links they site to read what they say about it.
 
It was quite a while, a year or two, Im guessing. I really dont recall, sorry. it was a long time ago. I still had the b12 bottle when I had to start Karamelle on it, but I had to buy a new one because the one I had was so old. I was under the impression from everything Ive read that excess B12 just comes out in the urine. I also just read that if B12 is high and they get cancer, its not from giving the B12 injections.
This is an interesting read. B12 supplementation in cats with possible cancer
I dont know what study they are referring to. It doesnt appear remotely common that anything bad would happen from giving weekly B12 injections. Just do a search for "will giving B12 injections weekly to a cat cause cancer" and see what comes up. Ai summerizes what it reads, but you can look directly at the links they site to read what they say about it.
For whatever it’s worth Staci - our internist was ok with us doing either weekly B12 injections or daily B12 supplements because he said any excess B12 would just get excreted in her urine, as Jo shared above.
 
It was quite a while, a year or two, Im guessing. I really dont recall, sorry. it was a long time ago. I still had the b12 bottle when I had to start Karamelle on it, but I had to buy a new one because the one I had was so old. I was under the impression from everything Ive read that excess B12 just comes out in the urine. I also just read that if B12 is high and they get cancer, its not from giving the B12 injections.
This is an interesting read. B12 supplementation in cats with possible cancer
I dont know what study they are referring to. It doesnt appear remotely common that anything bad would happen from giving weekly B12 injections. Just do a search for "will giving B12 injections weekly to a cat cause cancer" and see what comes up. Ai summerizes what it reads, but you can look directly at the links they site to read what they say about it.
Thank you for sharing this information!! 💖
 
How long term did you give the weekly B12?
Too add, for a cat with IBD, its possible there might be some malabsorption, which would mean that the B12 may not build up in the system as well as with another cat without this condition. You could go a month in between shots and retest the B12 and see what the level is. If its still low, then she may need the shots more often. It would be interesting tho to see where this info about the cancer relation came from.
 
Too add, for a cat with IBD, its possible there might be some malabsorption, which would mean that the B12 may not build up in the system as well as with another cat without this condition. You could go a month in between shots and retest the B12 and see what the level is. If it’s still low, then she may need the shots more often. It would be interesting tho to see where this info about the cancer relation came from.
She may not be able to go a month without these shots now. Seems she really needs them to keep her from having these awful bouts of GI issues.
 
Hi Staci, such good news, sweet Ivy is doing better! 🙏 ❤️ She looks extra cute today in her blue top! Sounds interesting your vet recommded Chinese herbs. Maybe it*s good to try and to keep the steroids in your toolbox for later. I am sorry it`s so much try and error. Ivy is lucky she has such a thoughtful mom. 😻
 
Hi Staci, such good news, sweet Ivy is doing better! 🙏 ❤️ She looks extra cute today in her blue top! Sounds interesting your vet recommded Chinese herbs. Maybe it*s good to try and to keep the steroids in your toolbox for later. I am sorry it`s so much try and error. Ivy is lucky she has such a thoughtful mom. 😻
Thank you Heike 🫂
He seems to like this one herb a lot. He gave it to her several years ago but then later she tested better for other herbs.
But he thinks it may help her now.

You know how much trial and error goes on. You certainly had plenty of it with sweet Binie 💞🐈‍⬛🐾💖
 
And we now have a perfect poop 💩 At dinner time! So 18 hours after B12 shot was given.
It truly turns her around in a day (or less).
She must really need this shot (I’m convinced each week she gets it).
Great news!! 🤩🌿🌿🌿

I gave Mami Cat oral B12 every day for 6 months. Her levels have remained stable/very high ever since, and they still haven’t gone down. (And I stopped giving it 6 months ago.)

...It’s definitely good to repeat the test and check her B12 level again, but in her case, I would also look at B9 and B1, Staci. Perhaps that could help her as well..

Maybe you could discuss with the vet shorter intervals and then restarting B12.

I'm quite sure you will find a way 🙏🏼🌿🌿🌿
 
Great news!! 🤩🌿🌿🌿

I gave Mami Cat oral B12 every day for 6 months. Her levels have remained stable/very high ever since, and they still haven’t gone down. (And I stopped giving it 6 months ago.)

...It’s definitely good to repeat the test and check her B12 level again, but in her case, I would also look at B9 and B1, Staci. Perhaps that could help her as well..

Maybe you could discuss with the vet shorter intervals and then restarting B12.

I'm quite sure you will find a way 🙏🏼🌿🌿🌿
I’m glad to hear Mami Cat’s levels have remained stable. That’s great news!
I will look into those other levels.

We need to figure out this B12 situation.

Sending you back many vines for Mami Cat, Clarice 🥰😻💖🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃
 
Great news!! 🤩🌿🌿🌿

I gave Mami Cat oral B12 every day for 6 months. Her levels have remained stable/very high ever since, and they still haven’t gone down. (And I stopped giving it 6 months ago.)

...It’s definitely good to repeat the test and check her B12 level again, but in her case, I would also look at B9 and B1, Staci. Perhaps that could help her as well..

Maybe you could discuss with the vet shorter intervals and then restarting B12.

I'm quite sure you will find a way 🙏🏼🌿🌿🌿
Her B9 (Folate) was tested last month and was in the normal range (it’s on her Labs tab, tested at TAMU).
 
I’m glad she’s better. Sometimes when they get older, we have to balance what they need now for QOL even if down the road, it might cause issues. I spent a lot of time thinking about this with Tobey and decided if something I was giving him made him feel great, I’d deal with any long term issues later because his QOL was more important to me than him living until 20. Yes, I am devastated he is gone but I know he was happy and felt great up to the last day. Of course, he didn’t pass from any issue related to his treatment plan.
 
Back
Top