8/28 eyes on Mr Grey PMPS 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
Hope everyone's been enjoying their summer and their kitties are doing well :-D I have been doing my best with Mr Grey unfortunately I couldn't be around as much for testing throughout the day. I'd really appreciate if a genius could look at SS and give some advice where to go with dose. I realize I have skipped some doses over the summer mainly due to Mr Grey's numbers being 99 or lower pre shot and playing it safe knowing I would not be around to test on certain days. He is very healthy and spends a good portion of the day outside during nice weather. His weight looks perfect, one thing I have noticed since switching over to feeding exclusively Wellness LC chicken & or turkey is that all 3 of my cats water bowl drinking habits have changed. I NEVER catch them drinking from the water bowl ??? yet they all urinate normally and have no signs of dehydration. I did some research and found that the Wellness food has a very well balanced combination of ingredients including water. Could there be enough water in the Wellness wet food to keep them healthily hydrated ? When they were living on Iams dry multicat for the first 8 years of their lives they would polish off the water bowl and hop in the bath tub for faucet drip lickings :-D these days no more paw prints and litter in the tub... I can easily say that just by getting all 3 of my cats off the Iams dry they all have lost weight into healthy normal, their coats are healthier, their feces is healthier. All around happy cats :-D So here I am back on the forum it's been a few months....
 
Hi Rick!! It's been a while.

Most cats in the wild do not have a huge thirst drive since they are eating what they kill. Raw food, like canned, has a high proportion of water. When cats are eating dry food, they need supplemental water. I rarely see either of my cats drinking. I feed Wellness (same flavors), too.

Mr. Grey looks like he's doing great even with the skipped shots. In response to your question, I have two thoughts. First, if you are going to be home, I'd encourage you to shoot lower numbers if you are going to be home to monitor. You're great at keeping an eye on Mr. Grey's numbers and know how to steer the curve with food. I'd think you'd be fine working your way down to shooting low.

I'd also stick with the protocol. There are some points where I'm not sure why you decreased Mr. G's dose. I'm not sure if you know that if a kitty is in normal numbers (i.e., below 120 -- but we look for lots of green) for a week, you can lower the dose. This option may be easier on your nerves than the drops into the 40s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top