8/28 Emma AMPS 266

Manuel

Member Since 2022
Hi there! Hope y'all are well. A busy return to campus this past while but I was able to run a bit of a curve yesterday. It tracks with what I think I've been seeing with spot checks since reducing Emma to 1.00u two weeks ago.

Some things I've noticed:
- the nadir appears to come later now: around +6 instead of +3 as before
- pre-shot is almost never in the blues anymore. It starts in the yellows.
- She has not tested below 90 except for what I'm pretty sure was a faulty strip, once, at preshot.
- a typical start is around 275, dropping to 125 and holding for few hours.

Since the green is the healing zone, I'm a bit sad not to see a few more of those. I'm wondering if I should increase the percentage of her calories that comes from *wet* food, as opposed to the high-carb IBD dry food. On most days it's 50/50, but on days after prednisolone when her BG is a bit higher, I sometimes make it 62% wet. Maybe the time to increase the wet food is now, or else to wait longer in between giving prednisolone. Any thoughts are much appreciated. :)
 
Hi there! Hope y'all are well. A busy return to campus this past while but I was able to run a bit of a curve yesterday. It tracks with what I think I've been seeing with spot checks since reducing Emma to 1.00u two weeks ago.

Some things I've noticed:
- the nadir appears to come later now: around +6 instead of +3 as before
- pre-shot is almost never in the blues anymore. It starts in the yellows.
- She has not tested below 90 except for what I'm pretty sure was a faulty strip, once, at preshot.
- a typical start is around 275, dropping to 125 and holding for few hours.

Since the green is the healing zone, I'm a bit sad not to see a few more of those. I'm wondering if I should increase the percentage of her calories that comes from *wet* food, as opposed to the high-carb IBD dry food. On most days it's 50/50, but on days after prednisolone when her BG is a bit higher, I sometimes make it 62% wet. Maybe the time to increase the wet food is now, or else to wait longer in between giving prednisolone. Any thoughts are much appreciated. :)

I will tag a few members for you
@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Wendy&Neko

@Bandit's Mom
 
- the nadir appears to come later now: around +6 instead of +3 as before
A couple nights ago her nadir seemed to be just before +4. Nadirs can and do change from cycle to cycle, based on a few things. For example, in a bounce breaking cycle the nadir can be later.
'm wondering if I should increase the percentage of her calories that comes from *wet* food, as opposed to the high-carb IBD dry food.
If you think you can increase the wet food without it impacting her GI system, I'd try increasing it a bit. It's worth the experiment. I'd keep the pred as the same for now. Do just one experiment at a time, so you know what is working. Food trials can take more than a couple days, so be patient if you do that change. I'm also not convinced the pred is doing bad things. Look at the night of 8/13 and 8/26 where she got pred at PM.
 
Thank you, Diane. Sorry I forgot to link the previous thread!

A couple nights ago her nadir seemed to be just before +4. Nadirs can and do change from cycle to cycle, based on a few things. For example, in a bounce breaking cycle the nadir can be later.

If you think you can increase the wet food without it impacting her GI system, I'd try increasing it a bit. It's worth the experiment. I'd keep the pred as the same for now. Do just one experiment at a time, so you know what is working. Food trials can take more than a couple days, so be patient if you do that change. I'm also not convinced the pred is doing bad things. Look at the night of 8/13 and 8/26 where she got pred at PM.
Thanks, Wendy. Is there somewhere I can read about bounce-breaking cycles and learn more about when a bounce is likely to come? I know too low a drop (according to the cat's body, rather than absolute terms) can cause a bounce, and one goal is to make the drops less drastic. So far the snacks at +2 and +5 have helped.

I will go ahead and try to increase the wet food at shot time, since I cannot reliably give wet food at +5, and I find the higher carb food at +2 has helped prevent the very large drops I saw in the beginning. I won't make a change with the pred. I do find it really shows the next day, rather than in the hours right after. I read online somewhere that it typically begins to be active 4-8 hours after ingestion. (In a sense that gives me peace, going to bed at night, knowing that BG won't dip too low.)

Thanks for the advice! I'll report back after I've implemented 66/33% wet/dry.
 
From this Sticky Note: The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Over time, and as cats become more comfy in normal numbers, the length of time they bounce should diminish. It's very much an ECID thing. But look for cycle where they start high and the numbers slide down for most, if not all, of the cycle, as possible bounce breakers. 8/14 PM down to 8/15 AM is one example. Cycles following bounce breakers can be more active.
 
From this Sticky Note: The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Over time, and as cats become more comfy in normal numbers, the length of time they bounce should diminish. It's very much an ECID thing. But look for cycle where they start high and the numbers slide down for most, if not all, of the cycle, as possible bounce breakers. 8/14 PM down to 8/15 AM is one example. Cycles following bounce breakers can be more active.
Wow - very good to know. Thank you again for sharing.
 
Back
Top