8/28. Elmo AMPS 182. +1 251. +2 295. +5 439. PMPS 430. +2 365. + 4 285

I'm just popping in from work. I can't stay on. If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies, you can shoot his normal dose. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 if you shoot. Since he is coming down from the bounce last night he could bounce back up today or keep going down. The +1 will give you an idea of where he's going to go today.
 
I'm just popping in from work. I can't stay on. If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies, you can shoot his normal dose. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 if you shoot. Since he is coming down from the bounce last night he could bounce back up today or keep going down. The +1 will give you an idea of where he's going to go today.
Thank you, thank you , Carla :bighug:❤️:bighug:❤️
 
Good Morning Beth!

A couple things to consider: will you be home to monitor? If you are then I would shoot.

If not and if your AMPS in a half hour is higher or the same as 182 I would feel safe to shoot! If you’re nervous you can leave out a higher %LC food or shoot a reduced dose
 
:rolleyes:
Good Morning Beth!

A couple things to consider: will you be home to monitor? If you are then I would shoot.

If not and if your AMPS in a half hour is higher or the same as 182 I would feel safe to shoot! If you’re nervous you can leave out a higher %LC food or shoot a reduced dose
Thanks ,Amanda :bighug: Yes , we will be here all day today . Locked and loaded with all essentials .Any advice as we go thru the morning ? Test til see a steady rise? Haven't done this in almost 3 years .
 
I think Carla provided some good advice for initial testing, As long as your +2 isn’t too much lower than your AMPS/+1 then I would probably (personally) hold off until +5 or +6 for your next shot.

When my kitty is safe, the strategy I use for picking when I preform my next test is to take a look at my spreadsheet and see if there are hours in the spreadsheet that I am missing information. For example: if I was constantly switching between taking +5 or +6 day by day but I notice I haven’t gotten a +7 in a while... I will try to grab the +7 so that I have a better picture of what Mowgli’s day looks like.

Make sense?
 
Don't worry, it's just like bicycling you don't forget !!
As Carla said, you shoot and get +1 and +2 tests and make sure he's going up! You have supplies and MC, there's no problem!
I don't know if you have new numbers yet ?? Keep posting when you do ! :bighug:
Thanks, Lyane :bighug:
 
Every cat is different (ECID) but I always look for dramatic drops, for example if he drops down into green by +1 then that would indicate an active cycle to me and I would give some LC. Just a little to see if he would come up by +2 (about a tsp or 1.5 tsp.) If by +2 he is the same or lower I would feed another tsp LC and test at +3. You want to get him to surf.
 
Geeze Elmo! come back from the moon!

I would say hold off on the testing until PMPS at this point! It looks like Elmo might be going low at night time, Cats typically do go lower at night so if it's important to grab a before bed test to make sure kitty is safe before going to sleep :)
 
As Amanda had suggested ab checking at times I haven't or haven't in a while ...that would be +9. And/or +11
 
Geeze Elmo! come back from the moon!

I would say hold off on the testing until PMPS at this point! It looks like Elmo might be going low at night time, Cats typically do go lower at night so if it's important to grab a before bed test to make sure kitty is safe before going to sleep :)
I thot it might be his tooth prob that kept him from eating but during the night he eats a 3oz can while during the day I have to assist feed or he will eat from my hand . I will be getting a + 11 and a before bed( ab +4)....;)
 
I thot it might be his tooth prob that kept him from eating but during the night he eats a 3oz can while during the day I have to assist feed or he will eat from my hand
I had a similar problem and it wound up being a result of me paying too much attention, which it sounds like you are too. During the day if he didn't right away I would freak out and go right to assisted feeding. At night I would leave the food out and it would be gone by the morning. So it ultimately just wound up being a case of he wasn't hungry right at shot time and I just had to let him eat on his own. If you don't hand or assist feed during the day will he eventually eat on his own? It might be a case where he's not finishing off that night can of food until only a couple hours before shot time and isn't hungry and you maybe need to get an automatic feeder that will pull the food at a certain time.
 
@AmandaE Question: at +1 and +2. What would be number that would tell me to steer with a little food ??
Hi Beth! I love the +2 test. If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number then it could indicate an active cycle because usually that number would be bumped up a bit higher due to a food bump. Then you would know to keep testing and how often would be according to how low that number is. If unsure, always put up a question mark to get some eyes on your thread.

And Lantus will onset around +2 as well.
 
Hi Beth! I love the +2 test. If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number then it could indicate an active cycle because usually that number would be bumped up a bit higher due to a food bump. Then you would know to keep testing and how often would be according to how low that number is. If unsure, always put up a question mark to get some eyes on your thread.

And Lantus will onset around +2 as well.
Hi Bobbie !! Thanks for info ...Elmo is doing it his own way, as per usual :confused: Hope ur eye is well , ur Momma spunky and Bubba one day closer to release :bighug:
 
Bubba one day closer to release :bighug:
Oh, I haven't had him grounded for some time now. As soon as he went down to .25 unit I let him have his outdoor privileges. He is a much happier kitty to be able to be outside some. :p

Eye is better, had a 4 week check up yesterday. Symptoms are less, yeah, going back in 4 more weeks and it should be resolved. Thanks for asking.

Mom is good. She just had her primary doc appt. today and the doc is very pleased.
 
Oh no! Sorry to read Elmo is back on the juice. :bighug:

Prayers for appy issues :smuggrin:.

Thought about you guys last weekend when I was putting out the hummer feeders. Already have several here and feeding. Seems awfully early to me, but alas, they are here :D
 
Oh no! Sorry to read Elmo is back on the juice. :bighug:

Prayers for appy issues :smuggrin:.

Thought about you guys last weekend when I was putting out the hummer feeders. Already have several here and feeding. Seems awfully early to me, but alas, they are here :D
Hi Lizzie !!! He started wavering back when I contacted you . It's teeth issues so vet has upped his ABs . Just want him as comfy as possible for his elder time. No drama , doing it as easy , simply as possible for the time we have left with him . He turned 19 in July !
Thot of you too as the hummers have been bulking up here for last few weeks and headed ur way :bighug: And it does seem early . Btw , Frankie is a doll :) Many hugs and prayers to you :bighug:
 
PMPS 430 (. Sorry Carla ...totally forgot ab +11 ...think I fell asleep with my eyes open !!!). He is eager to eat ! Will be checking him at + 2
 
Last edited:
Thanks , Lizzie :bighug: Could we see a current Frankie pic ?? I am so happy for you ❤️
Last vet visit he was 6#'s!

download_20190828_193507.jpg
 
PMPS 430 (. Sorry Carla ...totally forgot ab +11 ...think I fell asleep with my eyes open !!!). He is eager to eat ! Will be checking him at + 2
You don't have to apologize. I hope Elmo comes back down tonight. By the way, the oldest cat I've had lived to be 20.
 
It’s great to see Elmo can make it to blue. But it also shows the value of night time tests cause he sure came down a long way overnight.

Have you reviewed the Dosing Methods Sticky Note and decided which one you would like to follow? May or may not be time for an increase to 1.25 units, depending whether Tight Regulation or the Start Low Go Slow Method is what you would like to do. Putting SLGS or TR in your signature will help us help you.
 
Wendy , I haven't had a chance to really study the dosing methods thoroughly . I am wanting to be as gentle as possible with Elmo ...no dramatic changes . That said I'd say I'm leaning toward SLGS but will give it a thorough read here in next day. I am also dealing with my 16 year old civie, Chris, who is anemic and requires extra help and attention . Hopefully I will be able to read thoroughly tomorrow . Thanks for reminding me :)
 
Great start for Elmo! I guess he decided to bounce though. I’ll second the PM tests. For a long time Scooter did all his lower numbers at night. Without the night tests I never would have known he was getting into better numbers!
 
Great start for Elmo! I guess he decided to bounce though. I’ll second the PM tests. For a long time Scooter did all his lower numbers at night. Without the night tests I never would have known he was getting into better numbers!
Jill, thanks for encouragement in this area . I plan on testing at +2 and again before bed at +4 or + 5 .
 
Back
Top