Thank you, thank you , CarlaI'm just popping in from work. I can't stay on. If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies, you can shoot his normal dose. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 if you shoot. Since he is coming down from the bounce last night he could bounce back up today or keep going down. The +1 will give you an idea of where he's going to go today.


Thanks ,AmandaGood Morning Beth!
A couple things to consider: will you be home to monitor? If you are then I would shoot.
If not and if your AMPS in a half hour is higher or the same as 182 I would feel safe to shoot! If you’re nervous you can leave out a higher %LC food or shoot a reduced dose
Yes , we will be here all day today . Locked and loaded with all essentials .Any advice as we go thru the morning ? Test til see a steady rise? Haven't done this in almost 3 years .Don't worry, it's just like bicycling you don't forget !!Test til see a steady rise? Haven't done this in almost 3 years .

Thanks, LyaneDon't worry, it's just like bicycling you don't forget !!
As Carla said, you shoot and get +1 and +2 tests and make sure he's going up! You have supplies and MC, there's no problem!
I don't know if you have new numbers yet ?? Keep posting when you do !![]()

I would still grab a +2 in case Elmo’s insulin onset is around that time. Just in case+1. 251![]()
Everything seems to be under control now!You're doing good....Everything seems to be under control now!

I thot it might be his tooth prob that kept him from eating but during the night he eats a 3oz can while during the day I have to assist feed or he will eat from my hand . I will be getting a + 11 and a before bed( ab +4)....Geeze Elmo! come back from the moon!
I would say hold off on the testing until PMPS at this point! It looks like Elmo might be going low at night time, Cats typically do go lower at night so if it's important to grab a before bed test to make sure kitty is safe before going to sleep![]()
I had a similar problem and it wound up being a result of me paying too much attention, which it sounds like you are too. During the day if he didn't right away I would freak out and go right to assisted feeding. At night I would leave the food out and it would be gone by the morning. So it ultimately just wound up being a case of he wasn't hungry right at shot time and I just had to let him eat on his own. If you don't hand or assist feed during the day will he eventually eat on his own? It might be a case where he's not finishing off that night can of food until only a couple hours before shot time and isn't hungry and you maybe need to get an automatic feeder that will pull the food at a certain time.I thot it might be his tooth prob that kept him from eating but during the night he eats a 3oz can while during the day I have to assist feed or he will eat from my hand
Hi Beth! I love the +2 test. If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number then it could indicate an active cycle because usually that number would be bumped up a bit higher due to a food bump. Then you would know to keep testing and how often would be according to how low that number is. If unsure, always put up a question mark to get some eyes on your thread.@AmandaE Question: at +1 and +2. What would be number that would tell me to steer with a little food ??
Hi Bobbie !! Thanks for info ...Elmo is doing it his own way, as per usualHi Beth! I love the +2 test. If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number then it could indicate an active cycle because usually that number would be bumped up a bit higher due to a food bump. Then you would know to keep testing and how often would be according to how low that number is. If unsure, always put up a question mark to get some eyes on your thread.
And Lantus will onset around +2 as well.

Oh, I haven't had him grounded for some time now. As soon as he went down to .25 unit I let him have his outdoor privileges. He is a much happier kitty to be able to be outside some.Bubba one day closer to release![]()

Beth, I hope you and Elmo have a great evening! He's really a cutie and his name suits him!![]()

Thank you for thinking ab us, Sonia

. @Bobbie And Bubba Your Momma is doing well cos she has a super caregiver , namely YOU![]()

Hi Lizzie !!! He started wavering back when I contacted you . It's teeth issues so vet has upped his ABs . Just want him as comfy as possible for his elder time. No drama , doing it as easy , simply as possible for the time we have left with him . He turned 19 in July !Oh no! Sorry to read Elmo is back on the juice.
Prayers for appy issues.
Thought about you guys last weekend when I was putting out the hummer feeders. Already have several here and feeding. Seems awfully early to me, but alas, they are here![]()
And it does seem early . Btw , Frankie is a doll 
Thanks , LizzieNot sure if you saw this but might be an option to try and see if Elmo likes. Petco carried single cans
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-149-photo-just-added.218239/#post-2425920
Could we see a current Frankie pic ?? I am so happy for you Last vet visit he was 6#'s!Thanks , LizzieCould we see a current Frankie pic ?? I am so happy for you
![]()
You don't have to apologize. I hope Elmo comes back down tonight. By the way, the oldest cat I've had lived to be 20.PMPS 430 (. Sorry Carla ...totally forgot ab +11 ...think I fell asleep with my eyes open !!!). He is eager to eat ! Will be checking him at + 2
Oh...my...goodness.

Jill, thanks for encouragement in this area . I plan on testing at +2 and again before bed at +4 or + 5 .Great start for Elmo! I guess he decided to bounce though. I’ll second the PM tests. For a long time Scooter did all his lower numbers at night. Without the night tests I never would have known he was getting into better numbers!