8/27 Tiger Amps 259, +2 191, +5 95, +6 88

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-20-tiger-amps-399.293302/#post-3201434

I haven’t posted for a while since nothing much has gone on, other than Tiger being high most of the time. We increased 3 days ago and saw some action that night but not like we’re getting today. After a huge bounce yesterday he went down a bit last night without the usual bump before or after his am food. He is still going down gradually, so we’ll see what he has in mind today. Such a relief to see his numbers coming down! Hopefully he gets to a good number and coasts along without any intervention from me!

Have a wonderful day kitties and your humans too!
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-20-tiger-amps-399.293302/#post-3201434

I haven’t posted for a while since nothing much has gone on, other than Tiger being high most of the time. We increased 3 days ago and saw some action that night but not like we’re getting today. After a huge bounce yesterday he went down a bit last night without the usual bump before or after his am food. He is still going down gradually, so we’ll see what he has in mind today. Such a relief to see his numbers coming down! Hopefully he gets to a good number and coasts along without any intervention from me!

Have a wonderful day kitties and your humans too!

Hi Deb,

so nice to see Tiger sees such a long string of blue again! I hope you don't have to intervene and he just keeps coasting along. I hope he is eating well and drinking on his own again and his teeth are finally healed.

Have a wonderful day too Deb! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb,

so nice to see Tiger sees such a long string of blue again! I hope you don't have to intervene and he just keeps coasting along. I hope he is eating well and drinking on his own again and his teeth are finally healed.

Have a wonderful day too Deb! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Heike but I did have to intervene. I had a feeling he would drop under 90 today and the weirdest thing was his numbers didn’t respond to food at all, even mc which was all he would eat. He is refusing any other food, even this morning. Totally strange for his numbers not to reach t to food. I don’t know what’s up but here we go with a reduction to 1.5 which did nothing for him. I don’t know what’s going on.

I hope you have a wonderful day and that Binie is doing better.
 
Thanks Heike but I did have to intervene. I had a feeling he would drop under 90 today and the weirdest thing was his numbers didn’t respond to food at all, even mc which was all he would eat. He is refusing any other food, even this morning. Totally strange for his numbers not to reach t to food. I don’t know what’s up but here we go with a reduction to 1.5 which did nothing for him. I don’t know what’s going on.

I hope you have a wonderful day and that Binie is doing better.

Hi Deb, I am sorry he was not just surfing in good numbers. And I understand that going back to 1.5 doesn't look like a solution. Maybe you want to tag some of our experts? I am sorry that eating is still a problem. I know that makes everything difficult. I hope he likes eating his lc food again soon. Fingers and paws are crossed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Maybe the effect of the dental work being done is finally having a positive effect. Love his numbers going lower on a reasonable dose. My Mac's number started going down too (just before vacation) and not sure why but I will take them! Good Luck Tiger!
 
I think we talked a while ago about the idea of lowering his reduction point a bit? Did you ever do that? I'd love to see him stay on this dose a bit, 88 is so close to 90. A tsp of syrup? Wow, Neko only needed a drop to bring her up, and I didn't do that unless she was below 40. Truly ECID on how carb sensitive cats are.

I was thrilled to read a few posts back that you managed to get a manual BG reading one morning. Way to go. :). Kitten steps.
 
I think we talked a while ago about the idea of lowering his reduction point a bit? Did you ever do that? I'd love to see him stay on this dose a bit, 88 is so close to 90. A tsp of syrup? Wow, Neko only needed a drop to bring her up, and I didn't do that unless she was below 40. Truly ECID on how carb sensitive cats are.

I was thrilled to read a few posts back that you managed to get a manual BG reading one morning. Way to go. :). Kitten steps.
I had forgotten about that. It’s been so long …at 88 he was still going down according to the libre arrow. Normally I would have no problem with lowering it a bit but I have a doctors appointment Thursday and am afraid he might drop while I’m gone. It’s at the same time as his drop today. Maybe do a reduction until Thursday night and try it again? Would that be ok?
I thought that was the normal amount to give of syrup. It did send him sky hi so it was too much. It’s what I had used in the past, pre surgery. Weirdly today his bg was not responding at all to food. He’s acting a bit off eating today also.
We were thrilled too! I wouldn’t count on it all the time but sure was glad it worked that day!
It’s hard getting him just back to normal after the tooth extraction. Drinking water is still not normal. He rarely drinks from his bowl still. Still has a hard time eating some of his food and dry food is completely out for him now as well as hard treats. He doesn’t act happy as much as before but it’s a slow process I find getting to back normal. I feel so sorry for him…
He has used it to his advantage at times I think though. He refuses to sleep in his bed but rather now sleeps between Matt and my heads with his head on the edge of my pillow, on his side with a paw on my shoulder. He’s taking spoiled to a new level!
 
He’s taking spoiled to a new level!
Cats!

Up to you if you want a temporary reduction.

As far as syrup goes, it takes however it takes to get a cat up into a safer zone. You will find that later in the cycle it'll take less than a drop earlier when the insulin is stronger.
 
now sleeps between Matt and my heads with his head on the edge of my pillow, on his side with a paw on my shoulder.
Okay, but that's so adorable! The thought of the paw on the shoulder?

d7f65bfb-e45d-4212-928f-75bac29f5d6b.jpg
 

Attachments

  • d7f65bfb-e45d-4212-928f-75bac29f5d6b.jpg
    d7f65bfb-e45d-4212-928f-75bac29f5d6b.jpg
    13.5 KB · Views: 43
I had forgotten about that. It’s been so long …at 88 he was still going down according to the libre arrow. Normally I would have no problem with lowering it a bit but I have a doctors appointment Thursday and am afraid he might drop while I’m gone. It’s at the same time as his drop today. Maybe do a reduction until Thursday night and try it again? Would that be ok?
I thought that was the normal amount to give of syrup. It did send him sky hi so it was too much. It’s what I had used in the past, pre surgery. Weirdly today his bg was not responding at all to food. He’s acting a bit off eating today also.
We were thrilled too! I wouldn’t count on it all the time but sure was glad it worked that day!
It’s hard getting him just back to normal after the tooth extraction. Drinking water is still not normal. He rarely drinks from his bowl still. Still has a hard time eating some of his food and dry food is completely out for him now as well as hard treats. He doesn’t act happy as much as before but it’s a slow process I find getting to back normal. I feel so sorry for him…
He has used it to his advantage at times I think though. He refuses to sleep in his bed but rather now sleeps between Matt and my heads with his head on the edge of my pillow, on his side with a paw on my shoulder. He’s taking spoiled to a new level!
Oh sweet Tiger. He’s such a sensitive boy. He loves his mama so much. The thought of him sleeping with you both is just so touching.
Wishing you and Tiger well, Deb.
You’re doing so great watching every nuance of his situation and keeping him safe.
So glad he’s healed from the dental and is seeing better numbers :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Deb, I see the picture of Tiger sleeping between you and your husband. He knows he is safe and loved. You are all going through a lot together and it seems it is bringing you all closer together. It really touches my heart. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

upload_2024-8-28_21-42-13.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-28_21-42-13.png
    upload_2024-8-28_21-42-13.png
    36.6 KB · Views: 33
Back
Top