8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67 PMPS 272 /6 580! Dose adv

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459

Hi Helen:) I hope Rosy comes down from the red floor. Hopefully she'll do it nice and easy for you too. Thanks for sharing your dental experience with me the other day. I really appreciate it:)
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34

previous

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77850&p=841547#p841547

Rosy start with a 459 at AMPS. Not a good sign.
She looks fine now but one would understand that how difficult it will to handle such a big swing. Hope her reading could settle down soon.

The Long Day just begin. Rosy hit 34 at +4. A Big Deep Drop. Feed her with a spoonful of Hi Cal. gravy. Need to hold her at the green. Retest a momment later.
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Helen,
I hope Rosy will have a better set of numbers as the day progresses. Have a good one, and keep cool!

Ella & Rusty

Ella, Thanks. Tony (DH)
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67

previous

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77850&p=841547#p841547

Rosy start with a 459 at AMPS. Not a good sign.
She looks fine now but one would understand that how difficult it will to handle such a big swing. Hope her reading could settle down soon.

The Long Day just begin. Rosy hit 34 at +4. A Big Deep Drop. Feed her with a spoonful of Hi Cal. gravy. Need to hold her at the green. Retest a momment later.

The green keep on. Rosy hitted 49 at +5. Gave her gravy again. Reading then back to 67 at +6. Will resume normal process.
~~ DH report at +6~~
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67/10 238

Final check for the morning cycle have a good sign. Rosy is now back to Yellow zone 238. Hopefully, she might stay at blue during the PMPS.

Tony
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67/10 238/PMPS 272

PMPS is a good start. Rosy stay in the Yellow with a 272 score. will test at +3 and +5 tonight. Can't afford to miss the drop again.
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67/10 238

tortie58 said:
Final check for the morning cycle have a good sign. Rosy is now back to Yellow zone 238. Hopefully, she might stay at blue during the PMPS. Tony

Hi Tony

GREAT job with that dip into the 30s!!

Normally, this would mean that you reduce Rosy's dose for the next shot. Helen has mentioned a few times that Rosy likes very gentle reductions - more a "shaved dose" than a "reduced dose".

Are you able to measure a slightly reduced dose?

Rosy's dose now is 0.9u, so to reduce, you would shoot a *little* more insulin than what is shown in the photo below, ok?
5e86c3d4.jpg


Jane
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67

Caught just in time, what a drop! Rosy definately wants a reduction for that 34, I think you're using calipers to measure the dose now. I never had to do microdosing like you need to for Rosy so I don't know how it all works, especially with calipers - maybe Helen can explain over the phone if you're not sure? Anyway I will ask Marje to drop in on you, she uses calipers with Gracie too :smile:
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67

Hi guys .. wow, what a drop indeed! Very nice job on handling it though .. I hope the new dose works for rosy!
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67

Rosy has given you a lot of excitement today, looks like she may have settled in for the moment. Great job catching that steep drop and feeding her back up, well done! Hopefully she has less drama for a while. Have a great day/evening in Tortieland.
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy PMPS 272/3 221/6 580

I guess it is just too good to be true. Life is not working logcially.

Rosy keep a nice yellow score 221 at +3, but she then rock the boat and goes up to 580 at +6. Retest again get similar result.
The bounce is quite high and scary. :shock:

I would like to keep the shot for the moment and not to reduce the dosage. Any recommendation?

Tony
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67/10 238

Jane said:
tortie58 said:
Final check for the morning cycle have a good sign. Rosy is now back to Yellow zone 238. Hopefully, she might stay at blue during the PMPS. Tony

Hi Tony

GREAT job with that dip into the 30s!!

Normally, this would mean that you reduce Rosy's dose for the next shot. Helen has mentioned a few times that Rosy likes very gentle reductions - more a "shaved dose" than a "reduced dose".

Are you able to measure a slightly reduced dose?

Rosy's dose now is 0.9u, so to reduce, you would shoot a *little* more insulin than what is shown in the photo below, ok?
5e86c3d4.jpg


Jane

Hi Jane, it is no problem to shave as we use calliper to measure dosage. But she suprise me with a 580 reading at +6 in the evening. I probably will hold the dosage for one more day and see..... I will keep my fingers cross.

Thanks for your advice.

Tony
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67

Vyktors Mum said:
Caught just in time, what a drop! Rosy definately wants a reduction for that 34, I think you're using calipers to measure the dose now. I never had to do microdosing like you need to for Rosy so I don't know how it all works, especially with calipers - maybe Helen can explain over the phone if you're not sure? Anyway I will ask Marje to drop in on you, she uses calipers with Gracie too :smile:

Hi Vyktors Mum,

I am ok with the Calliper operation. no worry.
Need to check for morning reading to desire on the dosage as she hit big score 580 at +6.

Tony
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67 PMPS 272 /6 580! Dose

Hi Tony.

What I think is this:

You can do what is called "shoot through the bounce" - Rosy is high right now because she dropped so low earlier. This is called a bounce. You can keep the same dose (0.9u) for this cycle, and reduce the *next* cycle. Doing this can help get her out of the high (bounce-related) BGs faster.

Are you ok with that?
Jane
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67 PMPS 272 /6 580! Dose

Jane said:
Hi Tony.

What I think is this:

You can do what is called "shoot through the bounce" - Rosy is high right now because she dropped so low earlier. This is called a bounce. You can keep the same dose (0.9u) for this cycle, and reduce the *next* cycle. Doing this can help get her out of the high (bounce-related) BGs faster.

Are you ok with that?
Jane

Hi Jane,

Thanks for your advice. This is what we wr thinking too. Will keep 0.9 u one more cycle (AMPS) and shave in the next one (PMPS).

Tony
 
Re: 8/27 Rosy AMPS 459/4 34/5 49/6 67 PMPS 272 /6 580! Dose

Tony

Great job handling those low numbers and Jane gave you great advice to shoot through the bounce one cycle.

I'd like to give you another idea on reductions. And I'm speaking from the point of someone who also has a cat very sensitive to reductions. Rosy is newly diagnosed and Helen has determined that .25u reductions don't work. But if you are only reducing by .1u each time she earns a reduction, I am worried that you might be leaving her overdosed and you might, at some point, have a huge shed to try and stay ahead of. Let me tell you from experience that it is not fun and is, in fact, dangerous.

Jill has taught me that when Gracie gets into the 30s, I need to give her a decent sized reduction.....she recommends .25u. I usually opt for about .2u. Or put another way, every dose on my syringe with my calipers is .11mm. If she goes onto the 30s, I reduce her dose by .22mm.....so I take off two drops instead of the normal shave.

I think you all need to be giving larger reductions when Rosy gets into the 30s. I don't want you to be where we were one night where we fought all night to keep Gracie out of the 20s. It was scary....I had let the shed get ahead of me. Also, if Helen uses three times below 50 as the other way to take a reduction, she needs to do a bit larger reduction. It's for safety.

Talk to Helen, but I'd like to see you drop Rosy back more than just .1u because she got so low so fast.

Also....no matter how high she is, you all should be getting a +2 every cycle. If the +2 is much less than the PS, then you need to feed her to flatten out that drop so she doesn't bounce so hard.

When Helen gets back, she can PM me and maybe we can go back over feeding strategies. But for right now, please get that +2 every single cycle.

Have a great evening, Tony. Hugs to Helen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top