8/27 Moonie AMPS 242, +2 218, PMPS 160

Connie & Parker & Moonie

Member Since 2026
8/26 Moonie AMPS 118, +2 136, +6 263, PMPS 262, +2 298

I can’t believe it’s only 3 more days until we take off. I wish we were leaving at a time when Moonie’s numbers are a little better but I guess in that case, I’d be agonizing over “ruining her amazing numbers” :)

We have a lot to do around the house (to get everything ready for the sitters) so I’m going to try to make some progress on it today after work.

This is a snoozy Moon Moon 🌙
She always has the funniest little sleep poses and faces 😻

IMG_2261.jpeg
 
Totally relaxed cat! What you worrying about mom?

What dose is going to be your away dose? 3.0 is easier for the petsitter. Whatever you choose, might want to leave a sample syringe with light coloured liquid (juice, tea, pop) for PS to refer to.

Love the new avatar.
 
Totally relaxed cat! What you worrying about mom?

What dose is going to be your away dose? 3.0 is easier for the petsitter. Whatever you choose, might want to leave a sample syringe with light coloured liquid (juice, tea, pop) for PS to refer to.

Love the new avatar.
Thanks Wendy! I was planning to ask you and Marje for advice on our vacation dose tomorrow AM! But we were leaning towards 3u too. It's easy for the sitter (though we are leaving both a caliper + pre-filled with color liquid syringe) and she's been pretty high even on 3.25u so it'd be unlikely she goes too low.
 
Wendy beat me to it! I know we originally talked about starting to drain the depot tonight but I don’t think that is necessary. I’d give the 3.25u tonight and tomorrow morning and then we can see whether you drop it tomorrow night or Saturday morning.

Pack light! 😂
 
Wendy beat me to it! I know we originally talked about starting to drain the depot tonight but I don’t think that is necessary. I’d give the 3.25u tonight and tomorrow morning and then we can see whether you drop it tomorrow night or Saturday morning.

Pack light! 😂
Thank you Marje!! Yeah sadly Moonie’s been throwing us some naughty numbers on this dose. We’ll keep posting and confirm the vacation dose closer tomorrow night / Saturday morning :)

And yes!! I kept side eyeing Parker for saying we could check a bag… I used to travel for work every week so I’m used to packing one carry-on for a whole week. Hopefully he won’t try to bring a giant bag for his stuff 🤣
 
BTW, was reading back on your previous posts, especially about random kitties in the photos. Some of my favourite trip pictures are the ones with cats in China, Cambodia, Peru, Bolivia, Italy etc. 🤣 Ireland had some great cats too. IMHO, AirBnB's should offer "visiting cats" as a feature.
Omg that sounds amazing! I’d love to make a travel scrap book some day of all the cats we meet. Parker and I always talked about doing a cats around the world trip to Greece, Turkey, and Japan though I don’t think my heart can take leaving Moonie for that long. So why pay to go see cats when we’ve got cats at home for “free” 🤣🤣🤣
 
Moonie’s feeling nauseous this evening. Rejected almost all her food and tried to gnaw on a bunch of leaves which is the tell tale sign that she’s not feeling well. We gave her 4mg ondansetron and will try feeding her again in 20 mins.

I’ll repeat this question on my condo tomorrow but in case people see it - has anyone here ever had issues with injectable ondansetron? Did we do something wrong?

Ironically we were told it’s injectable Cerenia that stings, but she tolerated that just fine - and when we tried to inject ondansetron this evening, she meowed in pain and moved away 😭. We were too afraid to attempt it again after that.
 
I've heard that injectable ondansetron can sting some cats. Did you keep in in the fridge? Injectable is better absorbed so usually a lower dose than oral.
 
I've heard that injectable ondansetron can sting some cats. Did you keep in in the fridge? Injectable is better absorbed so usually a lower dose than oral.
Thank you so much Wendy!

No we kept it at room temp - should we have kept it in the fridge? We got prescribed 2ml to keep at room temp. The injectable Cerenia was kept in the fridge and injected cold because I read that it would sting less. We ended up doing 4mg oral (wrapped in a tiny bit of pill wrapper), which thankfully Moonie let us do.
 
Chewy's pharmacy listing says to keep at room temperature but the one I got from Chewy had a label that said keep in fridge 🤷‍♀️

I've always given the injectable and the Cerenia with the subq fluids. Less poking into a boney skeleton.
That makes sense. Thank you! We’ll have to keep it in the fridge for next time. I feel like that must have made a big difference since she didn’t react at all to the injectable Cerenia which is supposedly way worse.
 
Thanks Sara! I think the ondansetron is starting to kick in because she ate a bit of her wet food!
Im so glad Moonie is feeling better. I must have missed it, but where are you going on your trip and for how long? Im envious. I havent been able to bring myself to go away for more than a few hours in the last over 2 1/2 years! I suppose having a good pet sitter is key and having a good patient.
 
Im so glad Moonie is feeling better. I must have missed it, but where are you going on your trip and for how long? Im envious. I havent been able to bring myself to go away for more than a few hours in the last over 2 1/2 years! I suppose having a good pet sitter is key and having a good patient.
We’re going to Ireland Sunday evening and staying for a week! We’re spending a couple days in Dublin with the two of us, and then doing a few days near Kinsale with his whole family.

I’m excited but I must admit I’m very nervous about leaving Moonie on her own and I already made Parker promise that we’re not doing a trip this long again 😅. I know it’ll be fine, but I don’t know, I’ll miss doing our little routines together and nothing quite eases my mind like being with her and seeing her with my eyes I guess :)
 
Back
Top