8/27 Moe: amps=61, dec to 6.75u;+1=98;+3=71;PMPS=146

Erin and Moe (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-90-2-71-4-68-5-75-86.234150/#post-2620199

Good morning. Moe gave me a 61 for amps today. I had been mulling a decrease and decided to go ahead, since I know he will have to be propped up with food to stay out of hypo range at 7.0 units. Decreased just a tiny bit, to 6.75. We’ll see how he does today and whether he needs some MC to maintain.

We were very fortunate that hurricane Laura turned East and missed my area completely. We got just a tiny bit of rain yesterday afternoon, and no wind. I pray that people in the direct path were able to evacuate and can stay safe through the aftermath.
 
Good Morning Erin, Glad Laura passed you by without an issue.

So for the dose today, I don't see where Moe earned a reduction - no numbers below 50 or 40 there...so when you get a low number like this on a preshot here are the steps:

STALL / NO FOOD
ASK FOR HELP
TEST AGAIN IN 20 MINUTES (to determine if numbers are going up or down)
If you can afford to wait another 20 minutes, no food, test again...if 2nd number is still going up/down, decide on shooting the same dose at that time.
Reductions are earned when kitty goes below 50 x 3 or 40 x 1 (unless your kitty is super sensitive and then you reduce after one drop below 50)...

I hope this helps for next time...maybe make a little cheat sheet and put it on the fridge? I know these preshots an catch you off guard and the first thought is not to give as much insulin. But, Lantus is a depot insulin and reductions/increases are based on nadirs, not pre-shots. Of course there's always variables to consider - newbies, sick/medicated kitties and your knowledge of how low a dose will take your kitty. He's really showing some great numbers on his usual dose...fingers crossed that reducing at this time will continue to support him.

Have a great day!
 
So for the dose today, I don't see where Moe earned a reduction - no numbers below 50 or 40 there...
Reductions are earned when kitty goes below 50 x 3 or 40 x 1 (unless your kitty is super sensitive and then you reduce after one drop below 50)...

But, Lantus is a depot insulin and reductions/increases are based on nadirs, not pre-shots. Of course there's always variables to consider - newbies, sick/medicated kitties and your knowledge of how low a dose will take your kitty.
Thanks, Sue. I appreciate your input. I do understand the rules for decreasing. The reason you don’t see numbers below 50 is because Moe is being propped up with food when he tests low (noted in the comments on 8/23 and 8/25), thereby avoiding that drop below 50. I could withhold the food and allow him to drop so we could see the limes on his spreadsheet, but I don’t see the point in doing that.

Moe is acro and taking cabergoline, so he’s not a typical diabetic. He’s very likely not going to go into remission. My goal is to keep his glucose at a safe level and attain some sort of balance with testing and feeding. See yesterday’s condo and discussion on dose reduction with Wendy. If this reduction fails, we go back to 7.0 units.
 
Moe is acro and taking cabergoline, so he’s not a typical diabetic.

Ah yes, of course! Thanks for referring to yesterday's condo...I was just reacting to the info this morning...my bad!

Looks like you've got a good handle on this and doing what's best for Moe.

Hope you continue to see those great numbers today :bighug::bighug:
 
Keep in mind higher dose is still active this cycle and probably next cycle.

Moe is doing great. Could never get Ollie to coast on any dose but she had so much other stuff going on.
 
Back
Top