8/27 mocha pmps 90 +2 114 +3 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23362

WCR: had a good night last night .. surfed the greens for awhile .. she's starting out blue today but I'm sure she will sky rocket into pink .. I am sure about that! Looks like it is going to be another beautiful day here today so once I finish my morning errands I will be home and get the windows open for them .. can't leave them open if we aren't home .. mocha is territorial and has ran through our screens before after seeing stray cats in the area ...
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106

Well, look at that pretty morning number.
Mocha we know you're a girly girl, but try not to wear pink today, ok?

I hope she surprises you and stays lowish for you today, Devon. :smile:
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106

I hope Mocha has her own agenda that doesn't include pinks...but maybe you will be right Devon...
I think that 106 is worth celebrating this morning though!
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106

Nope, mocha isn't going pink today - I think she is going to surf in the blues. Hey, did you ever hear if your cake won??
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106 +3 160

Great AMPS for Mocha!!! I hate knowing the "history" and anticipating bad numbers....but hopefully Mocha will surprise you!! Have a great day!!
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106 +3 160

Nice AMPS and no skyrockets yet. :-D At this point if Tess hasn't had all installments of breffis yet, I go to the lowest carb food I have tp slow things down. You can control the rise as well as the drop w/ food. There's a 0% Sophisticat Poached Trout that she loves.
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106 +3 160 +5 118

no you know what yet ... nailbite_smile she must be storing em up for later in the cycle! Ann, I am embarrassed to say this, but food manipulation is like a foreign concept to me .. It's probably one of those things I will never understand.
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106 +3 160 +5 118

118, NICE!! :thumbup

Devon, the way I understand the food manipulation is this:
  • ❖ Several small meals spread out the carb load and even out the BG numbers. It's the way cats eat in nature, catch a mouse, eat it, go hunting again.
    ❖ A high number gets LC food at meals to help ease the strain of the high BG.
    ❖ A low number at mealtime, gets a little higher carb % food, to maintain or bring up if a little too low.
    ❖ If you have a fast drop in BG, feed MC or HC depending on how your cat responds, to slow the drop. Extra food is useful here, but only small amounts.
    ❖ If you have a sharply rising number, feed LC, to slow the bounce, IF, she is due for more food.
    ❖ I don't think (?) extra food, even if LC, is effective in slowing a rise unless there is some insulin being produced by the pancreas. If there is, feed just a little to stimulate the pancreas to produce some extra insulin. This is the idea behind the +9 snack and for feeding, then retesting OTJ kitties 4 hours later.
    ❖ ECID, you have to experiment to see what foods work for your cat.

That's what I've understood. Sienne, Libby, any corrections or clarifications? I hope this helps.
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106 +3 160 +5 118 +8 52

ann, thank you for the notes. I copied and pasted into my "notes" on my computer. Hopefully I will remember to use them ..

This low +8 is my fault .. I should have checked her earlier but I fell asleep and didn't wake up till ten minutes ago .. I'm sure there will be a bounce ... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/27 mocha pmps 90

Hey Devon, thanks for asking the question. Ann, thanks for answering. I copied and pasted too. :lol:
I see a couple of beans that won't be getting much sleep tonight.
Hope Mocha surfs tonite, Devon and Peter. :smile:
 
Re: 8/27 mocha pmps 90

carb manipulation is more about learning what your cat's response is to varying amounts of carbs at different times during the cycle, and using that information to your advantage. Learn how many points bump she gets from LC, MC, and HC, both early in the cycle and later in the cycle. Use that information to guide her cycles the way you want them to go. Mocha's AM and PM cycles are very different, so the best feeding times for her might not be the same in each cycle. Take the amount you would feed her over the 12 hour period, divide it into 3-4 meals, and experiment with when to feed them. Whatever changes you make, write them in your spreadsheet and hold it for at least 3-4 days to see if it is changing anything. Mocha drops later at night than she does during the day, so your food schedule might need to be different at night.

Many cats benefit from front-loading the cycle with food. That means feeding at PS, +1, +2, +3 (when the insulin is kicking in) and then NOT feeding after +6 (because for a carb sensitive cat, you would be adding food at the same time the insulin is wearing off, driving the numbers higher). The +9 snack is helpful for some cats when they are trying to go OTJ, because it can stimulate their pancreas. That is more useful if the cat is generally flat, but spikes up just before PS. I wouldn't worry about that yet, until you get to a lower dose.

I've never heard of using food to soften a steep rise, sorry. I also don't generally believe in feeding different carbs just so you can shoot, but there are a few cats here for whom that makes sense.

I think the big key is ECID. :smile:
 
Re: 8/27 mocha amps 106 +3 160 +5 118

not sienne or libby, but happen to know a little bit about using food to manipulate the curve. :-D
hope you don't mind me expanding on your comments...

Ann & Tess said:
Devon, the way I understand the food manipulation is this:

❖ Several small meals spread out the carb load and even out the BG numbers. It's the way cats eat in nature, catch a mouse, eat it, go hunting again.
this concept may be true as far as treating feline diabetes. smaller meals spread out throughout the day do *seem to* take the burden off the pancreas. however, there are some cats who do just fine eating 2 - 3 meals per day. ECID.

Ann & Tess said:
❖ A high number gets LC food at meals to help ease the strain of the high BG.
lc is normally fed to all numbers except possibly in the case of a significant or fast drop or fed to a drop below 50. more on that below.

Ann & Tess said:
❖ A low number at mealtime, gets a little higher carb % food, to maintain or bring up if a little too low.
presuming we're talking about preshot numbers greater than 50, the only time you might want to feed a little higher carb food at shot time is to bump the numbers up so the insulin is starting from a higher number when onset occurs if you're running out the door and will be unable to monitor.

if you're around to monitor, there's no reason to bump the numbers up at shot time. the beauty of lantus and levemir is being able to shoot low to stay low. shooting low is how you obtain the low flat curve with lantus and levemir.


Ann & Tess said:
❖ If you have a fast drop in BG, feed MC or HC depending on how your cat responds, to slow the drop. Extra food is useful here, but only small amounts.
whether you'd want to feed lc, mc, or hc to slow a drop depends on two things:
1. the carb sensitivity or lack of of your particular cat.
2. the point you're at in the cycle. a drop early in the cycle *may* require big guns. a drop at nadir (unless nadir is less than 40) or late in the cycle usually only requires lc to bump the numbers up. however, if you have a carb sensitive kitty, you may not have to use anything except lc to bump up the numbers. "KNOW THY CAT".


Ann & Tess said:
❖ If you have a sharply rising number, feed LC, to slow the bounce, IF, she is due for more food.
lc is the *norm* for all mini-meals.
i'm sorry. i don't know of any situations where a bounce will be slowed down by feeding lc to a sharply rising number.


Ann & Tess said:
❖ I don't think (?) extra food, even if LC, is effective in slowing a rise unless there is some insulin being produced by the pancreas. If there is, feed just a little to stimulate the pancreas to produce some extra insulin. This is the idea behind the +9 snack and for feeding, then retesting OTJ kitties 4 hours later.
yes, the idea behind feeding a snack at +8, +9, or +10 *may* help bring the numbers down by the next shot time if there's a sputtering pancreas in the house. if not, all it will do with most kitties is hinder or stop whatever action is left on the insulin.

Ann & Tess said:
❖ ECID, you have to experiment to see what foods work for your cat.
yes! experimenting is how YOU learn how YOUR cat responds not only to food, but to the insulin itself. no one feeding plan will effect two different cats in the exact same ways. experimenting, testing, recording your observations... these are the things which will help YOU with YOUR kitty. ECID.


ok, so what is meant by using food to manipulate the curve?
simply put, it's a method of feeding used to prevent kitty from dropping too fast and/or too low.
the amount of food normally fed to the cat is broken down into several mini-meals fed throughout the course of the day with the intention of flattening out the curve.

why would you want to manipulate the curve with food?
--- bouncers: kitties who drop low and then bounce to the moon benefit from food manipulation. using food to manipulate the curve will tend to flatten out the curve. flattening out the curve helps to prevent huge bounces.
--- carb sensitive kitties: kitties who experience large food spikes when consuming even lc benefit from manipulating the curve with food. strategically spacing out meal times will help flatten out the curve.

why do i want to use food to flatten out the curve ?
--- flattening out the curve allows you to get as much insulin into the cat as safely possible without having kitty bottom out on you.
--- flattening out the curve *usually* allows you to hang onto a dose longer
--- flattening out the curve allows you to shoot higher doses of insulin than you would have been able to otherwise.

why would i want to get as much insulin as possible into the cat?
lantus and levemir are known to have a harder time bringing down higher numbers. more insulin helps bring down the higher numbers in a bouncer's cycle. more insulin will help counteract the spikes in a food spiker. using food to manipulate the curve will flatten out the curve and help keep your kitty safe.


when implementing food manipulation, i generally recommend starting with dividing up the normal amount of food your kitty should be eating into 8 mini-meals to be fed at preshot, +1, +2, and +3 of each cycle. however, that recommendation is strictly a starting point. a plan customized for YOUR cat is YOUR goal. frequent testing and learning how YOUR cat responds not only to food, but to the insulin itself will help you tweak the plan.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 8/27 mocha pmps 90

Thanks Jill and Libby, I knew you would clear things up (sorry Jill, I didn't know if you would be around :oops: ) I think a lot of us were looking for a more detailed explanation. As I said that was only what I understood, now I know more. :-D
 
Thank you all for taking the time to explain the food manipulation process to me. I feel like we have tried a few different ways of feeding mocha from feeding every two hours through the day and night to feeding every four hours during the day and spaced out through the night to free feeding ... I honestly do not see a rhyme or reason to how she responds to carbs .. sometimes giving her MC will send her off to the pink floor and sometimes feeding her MC won't do a darn thing for her .. you bring out the HC and that does nothing .. sometimes it takes a mouthful of karo to get any response from her ... sometimes you feed her LC and she drops drops drops ... I can switch it up from feeding early in the cycle to feeding late in the cycle ... as long as someone can make sense of her numbers ... cause of course when I see her SS I just see numbers .. no pattern .. no significant times when feeding her would be best ...

anyways tonight we are feeding her MC at +3 in hopes of preventing any kind of major drop from happening .. keeping fingers crossed she doesn't sky rocket and just surfs ...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top