8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 +2 124 +3 152 +5 211 +7 443 +10 407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
(Starting a post before driving off for work because I know some of you are waiting to hear from me - will fill in subject line in AMPS about 6 hours after my husband tests and I arrive at work.)

See Leo's Condo yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77875. Just took a +10. AMPS in 2 hours.

PMPS 429
+5 323
+10 353

I work in another state M-Th AM, so my husband will be doing preshoot and 1 least 1 nadir a day, I will be posting them remotely.

Talk to you later!
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS ??

Thanks for posting anyway, you are right about people waiting to hear :smile: Looks like he is heading in the right direction again. Hope he makes it down past the pink floor for you today.
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS ??

Hi Lisa!

Looks like Leo had a decent rest of his cycle, that's great!

I sent you a PM (private message) also. :smile:

We'll be ready to help when Leo's next BGs come around.

Have a good day at work. Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 ?

Thanks all -

Leo's AMPS was 160 and Al confirmed 20 minutes later at 163. I told him to shot 2.0u and I turned around and came home.

Some factors ...
1) We think he got into Molly's high-carb crunchies after his +10 (353) and before his AMPS. I left him out of his room during this time and forgot her hard food was out ... and he knows where it's at.
2) Leo was not interested in his 1/2 can FF (very abnormal, but logical if he ate Molly's hard food.) BUT! DH served it cold, it's usually room temp.
3) His BG fell very far from 353 to 160 in 2 hours ... Huh? I've read some about carryover and those other terms, and think this might be related, but not enough data. I will re-read these posts, but comments welcome.
4) I gave about 1 tsp of fresh chicken at +10 for his BG ... he always gets a little high protein treat before each test. I *think* that should have little-to-no effect on BG relative to the swings I see, but just throwing that out there.
5) Leo got a subQ injection of B-12, 25 units (1/4 mL) at +10 before AMPS.

I told Al to shoot because Leo ate the high carb. I will encourage him to eat his FF now, and I will monitor every hour and post.

Yes, I felt comfortable shooting at 160 (Yay!) Not comfortable shooting in the green yet, but I want to make sure we don't have a repeat of 8/25's blue shoot either, since that led to a bounce.

[Edited: added B-12 info]
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 ?

Hi guys .. I'm not sure if I've ever been in leo's condo, so welcome from us! Numbers are looking really nice this morning! I know you say you aren't comfortable shooting in the greens yet, but I'm sure when the time comes you'll be ready! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS ??

Jane said:
Hi Lisa!

Looks like Leo had a decent rest of his cycle, that's great!

I sent you a PM (private message) also. :smile:

We'll be ready to help when Leo's next BGs come around.

Have a good day at work. Hugs,
Jane

Thanks Jane - I turned around and came home after his (in my mind, unexpectedly low) AMPS, and will be home all day. I didn't get your PM ... I don't understand - I got the one where you said you missed all the excitement, but none after that and my notifications says (0 new messages). Grrrr.
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 ?

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. I'm not sure if I've ever been in leo's condo, so welcome from us! Numbers are looking really nice this morning! I know you say you aren't comfortable shooting in the greens yet, but I'm sure when the time comes you'll be ready! Have a great day guys!

Thanks, Peter. We're newbies here, and apparently having LOTS of stressful fun in our first weeks! I want to get around to other people's condos (why is it called a condo?) and read more about other's experiences, but outside a couple glimpses of spreadsheets, I just haven't had enough time with all the very informative reading assignments I've been getting. :smile:
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 ?

Leo is off to a good start today! Shooting low numbers is scary at times but you will get used to it. You are doing great at getting lots of data to have better idea what to expect and that helps a lot with confidence at the PS. Your spreadsheet is blank for the PM dose yesterday, suggest you put in the dose or indicate if you didnt shoot. Hope you and Leo have a calm uneventful day!
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 ?

Leslie and Jasper said:
Leo is off to a good start today! Shooting low numbers is scary at times but you will get used to it. You are doing great at getting lots of data to have better idea what to expect and that helps a lot with confidence at the PS. Your spreadsheet is blank for the PM dose yesterday, suggest you put in the dose or indicate if you didnt shoot. Hope you and Leo have a calm uneventful day!

Leslie - thanks for pointing out my missing information, and your best wishes for us today! With all his bouncing, I am worried about how far he'll go, and if my responses to his values are appropriate. When he goes green, he's bounced so I want him out of the green today so I can see if that (and my handling of his food) avoids a bounce.
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS ??

Sienne and Gabby said:
Your DH is welcome to post if he has a question. We don't bite.

:-D
He appreciates the help everyone is giving us, but I doubt he'll post even though I told him he's welcome to. However, I asked him to look at Leo's condo, and if I'm ever not reachable in an emergency, that he knows to come here and post for your help.
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 +2 124 +3 152 +5 211 +7 443

I haven't figured this one out. He was high his entire PM cycle (actually, the last 2 cycles) and magically went low AMPS and the first few tests after DH shot 2.0u. Then when the shot *should* have started to take effect, his BG zoomed through the roof! DH says he didn't do a fur shot. Is the low pre-AMPS a storage shed effect somehow? He had two higher cycles before the magic drop.

PMPS +10 353
AMPS 160
+1 138
+2 124
+3 152
+5 211
+7 443
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 +2 124 +3 152 +5 211 +7 443

This is my first look at Leo's SS.

That 443 is suspicious enough that I would re-test, but it also seems his bounces occur really quickly. Can't disregard the skipped PM shot on 8/25, since it can come back to bite you in the next cycle or two, as evidenced by the ugly numbers on 8/26 - and don't misinterpret that to mean that you should have shot it. The bounce after PM 8/25 was intense. Here's hoping he stops freaking out when he hits blue or green. Today was really lovely until that sudden red. I notice in your comments that he may have stolen some kibble before AMPS, and there was a thunderstorm later that frightened him. All of that can certainly figure into the red 443.

MJ
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 +2 124 +3 152 +5 211 +7 443

Hi MJ, thanks for taking a look at his SS. Yes, he's bouncing around, isn't he? I was so pleased until I saw that red! I was hoping the blue wouldn't tickle his liver, but perhaps it might have as well. I'm learning that yes, you have to look back several cycles, and I want to keep him at 2.0u consistently for a while and see if he calms down.

MJ+Donovan said:
That 443 is suspicious enough that I would re-test, but it also seems his bounces occur really quickly.

I got a back-up monitor and have been checking them against one another today. The other monitor said 437, so I guess I have to believe it.

MJ+Donovan said:
I notice in your comments that he may have stolen some kibble before AMPS, and there was a thunderstorm later that frightened him. All of that can certainly figure into the red 443.

He gets pretty upset at storms, and this wasn't even a bad one. We adopted him from outside - he's only 2 1/2 ... he must have been traumatized by storms as a little kitten :-( He's such a tough sweetie other than that. I thought the kibbles caused the yellow and I had hoped the shot would kick in with lower values at +7 ... BOY was I surprised!

Lisa
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 +2 124 +3 152 +5 211 +7 443 +10

Hi Lisa...

Leo is enjoying liver training school! Bouncing is a normal occurrence as kitties work their way towards tight regulation. Leo went up today after his shot because he was bouncing from those blues. Bouncing occurs in response to a fast drop or numbers lower than kitty is used to. He's just being dramatic but we just ignore those bouncy numbers and focus on the numbers that we see when the bounce clears.

You've been doing a great job lately of getting those important +2 tests. You can get a good idea of how the cycle might play out by looking at the +2. For a bouncy kitty, you might see them start clearing around +2 and then they zoom zoom down.

To answer your question, the AMPS wasn't depot...he was just clearing a bounce and decided he wasn't done quite yet.

You all are doing great!
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 ?

Lisa & Leo said:
With all his bouncing, I am worried about how far he'll go, and if my responses to his values are appropriate. When he goes green, he's bounced so I want him out of the green today so I can see if that (and my handling of his food) avoids a bounce.

Lisa, you need to understand that while you can slow drops with food, you can not rush through what we call "Liver Training School". Leo will stop bouncing when HE is ready, not, alas, when you want him to. And, even more important: Green is where we WANT Leo to go! Repeat after me: "Green is great! I want him IN the Green!" :lol: I know you meant your remark in terms of bouncing, but just keep in mind that Leo is the one calling the shots. And he, THANK GOODNESS, wants to keep going blue and green! Count your blessings :mrgreen: He'll come through his liver training and learn to looooove those pretty blues and greens!

Nice numbers there again! Doing great :-D
Hugs
Jane

P.S. I checked, and my outbox somehow ate that PM I thought I'd sent you! Weird!
 
Re: 8/27 Leo AMPS 160 +1 138 +2 124 +3 152 +5 211 +7 443 +10

Hi Jane and Marje -
Liver Training School ... I love it! :-D :-D :-D

Yeah, I'm just nervous about the greens and low blues for the while because of his bouncing... you of course read my mind on that one! The greens are scary....Ooooooo.

Marje said: You've been doing a great job lately of getting those important +2 tests. You can get a good idea of how the cycle might play out by looking at the +2. For a bouncy kitty, you might see them start clearing around +2 and then they zoom zoom down.
No more +2's for a few days. I'll test in an hour and shoot, and I'm hoping he'll be higher so I can leave town without worry. DH will come home to test at +5 or +6. But you raise a question in my mind ... Leo's nadir seems around +5ish, but I can't tell yet. The way he's bouncing, should I tell DH to test at +5 or +6 when I am gone? My worry is catching Leo if he starts a downward roller coaster. DH can only come home once.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top