8/27 Ivy Amps 262, +3 222, +6 267, +9 263, Pmps 318, +3 360 Libre (loose stools again)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
8/26/26
Amps 262 Libre

Ivy ate a jar of baby food this morning so I’m hoping she keeps that down and doesn’t vomit 🙏

Link above discusses yesterday and her lack of appetite at dinner and vomiting.

I am nervous about her lack of eating last night. She didn’t eat any snacks either.

I gave a slightly reduced dose (2 units instead of 2.25 units today).
Last night I gave a 1/2 dose insulin of 1.125 units since she wasn’t eating and I had to syringe feed her.

I gave her Cerenia 16 mg and Ondansetron 4 mg this morning about 1/2 hour before I fed her.

Hoping she will eat snacks in her feeder just to get her eating again.
I used baby food in the feeder just to keep it more bland in hopes to settle her stomach.

I gave her the weekly B12 shot this morning, hoping that also will help her overall picture.
This is the fourth dose she has had, the plan is to give six doses and then go to one monthly shot. But something tells me she is not going be able to wait a month after this six week course.

As Wendy mentioned overnight, it’s possible her IBD is getting worse and maybe she will need budesonide.

I will increase her Mirataz dose today back to a full dose. Since yesterday I gave her a half a dose, perhaps that’s what caused everything to get out of whack. I was trying to wean her off of the Mirataz this past the week since she had been eating well, feeling well and her stools were good.

But yesterday’s vomiting and possible stomach upset of whatever kind, seem to have thrown all that out of whack. Maybe it was just the B12 weekly shot wearing off it’s so hard to know.

She definitely doesn’t feel well, she’s just staying in her bed in her room and didn’t give me any cuddles overnight since I slept on the sofa to be near her.

I hope she turns the corner today and feels much better 🙏

Hope everyone has a very boring day with no drama 🐈‍⬛🐈😻🍃🍀
IMG_5876.jpeg
 
I am so sorry Staci! I really hope that Ivy turns the corner soon. The "good news" is that you guys recently did a bunch of lab work from her prior flare-up, so you're starting from an informed standpoint.

Sending lots and lots of love, prayers, and healing vines for my favorite spicy princess!!
 
I am so sorry Staci! I really hope that Ivy turns the corner soon. The "good news" is that you guys recently did a bunch of lab work from her prior flare-up, so you're starting from an informed standpoint.

Sending lots and lots of love, prayers, and healing vines for my favorite spicy princess!!
Thank you Connie! 🥰
 
I'm so sorry, Staci!!! 🫂 💕

Really hoping the B12 shot works some magic... two weeks ago when Binx had another vomit episode (also not normal for him), he seemed to turn around within 12-24 hours after the B12 shot (who knows if that was it?).

Keep us posted today!
 
I'm so sorry, Staci!!! 🫂 💕

Really hoping the B12 shot works some magic... two weeks ago when Binx had another vomit episode (also not normal for him), he seemed to turn around within 12-24 hours after the B12 shot (who knows if that was it?).

Keep us posted today!
I will Briana. I’m so glad Binx recovered quickly!
Is he taking Budesonide?

Does the B12 shot seem to wear off for Binx too before the next one is given?

He’s monthly now, correct? How’s that going?
Did you do any follow up lab work to see what his B12 levels are now that he’s been taking it?
❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
 
I will Briana. I’m so glad Binx recovered quickly!
Is he taking Budesonide?

Does the B12 shot seem to wear off for Binx too before the next one is given?

He’s monthly now, correct? How’s that going?
Did you do any follow up lab work to see what his B12 levels are now that he’s been taking it?
❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
We don't have him on Budesonide but initially had talked to the vet about it. They didn't like the idea with the steroids but since Binx seemed okay after, we didn't explore it further.

The B12 hadn't worn off when we were on a weekly basis but the time we waited a month, I had to give it to him a week early. Yesterday was 2 weeks since his last shot, so I'll be keeping an eye on him this upcoming week.

I didn't do a recheck of his B12, it was almost $500 (CAD) for us. However, because we gave the last shot early, the vet said if that happens again, it will be good to recheck him.
 
If we consider the Budesonide for her, how is that given? What should I know about using this medication?
It is a stronger med than prednisolone and typically works locally just in the gut. Note the "typically". There are exceptions and this is something that needs to be discussed with the vet. Neko's heart could not take prednisolone but could the budesonide. By stronger med I mean doses are more like just 1 mg. Neko started out on 1 mg, and we reduced it over time. I did not impact her BG's but for Leroy it did. ECID. I started out with the 1 mg pills (tiny), but it was a pain to reduce to 0.75 mg as even with a pill cutter, the pills tended to crumble. I had a container of what I called "bude bits". I did end up getting it compounded into a flavoured liquid, which made it both easier to give and much easier to give a different dose.

I didn't do a recheck of his B12, it was almost $500 (CAD) for us.
Yikes! Last fall I got a B12 done for my IBD/SCL cat and the bill was $500 but that included urinalysis and urine culture. The cost for the B12 test was $191, plus blood draw. And of course cat's B12 was still normal, so I didn't need to do the test.
 
Oh Staci, I am so sorry Ivy feels crappy and there is another crisis you have to deal with. 🫂 Sounds like the Budesonide is something worth discussing with her vet. I wonder if the pancreatitis triggered some instability in the system. I hope the b12 works its magic again and she gets back on track fast. You are such a thougtful mom. ❤️ I am sending healing vines and lots of love. ❤️🌿❤️🌿❤️🌿🫂
 
If we consider the Budesonide for her, how is that given? What should I know about using this medication?
@Wendy&Neko
I just started my senior girl Hoodoo on budesonide. It's a tiny pill that she gets once a day. She's a pretty good girl about taking meds so I just pop it into the back of her mouth and it's small enough to easily swallow. (I'd really been dreading having to start her on it since she's FIV+ and has this weird tongue ulcer that no one can figure out and won't completely heal and I've been terrified starting a steroid would make it worse, but her diarrhea kept getting worse and she was losing weight, so I finally decided we needed to risk it.) My soul kitty Skya was on budesonide for 2 years and I got it as a liquid for her from a compounding pharmacy, so that's available too if liquids are easier.
 
We don't have him on Budesonide but initially had talked to the vet about it. They didn't like the idea with the steroids but since Binx seemed okay after, we didn't explore it further.

The B12 hadn't worn off when we were on a weekly basis but the time we waited a month, I had to give it to him a week early. Yesterday was 2 weeks since his last shot, so I'll be keeping an eye on him this upcoming week.

I didn't do a recheck of his B12, it was almost $500 (CAD) for us. However, because we gave the last shot early, the vet said if that happens again, it will be good to recheck him.
Ok I see. I’m just glad he’s responsive to the B12! ❤️‍🩹
 
It is a stronger med than prednisolone and typically works locally just in the gut. Note the "typically". There are exceptions and this is something that needs to be discussed with the vet. Neko's heart could not take prednisolone but could the budesonide. By stronger med I mean doses are more like just 1 mg. Neko started out on 1 mg, and we reduced it over time. I did not impact her BG's but for Leroy it did. ECID. I started out with the 1 mg pills (tiny), but it was a pain to reduce to 0.75 mg as even with a pill cutter, the pills tended to crumble. I had a container of what I called "bude bits". I did end up getting it compounded into a flavoured liquid, which made it both easier to give and much easier to give a different dose.


Yikes! Last fall I got a B12 done for my IBD/SCL cat and the bill was $500 but that included urinalysis and urine culture. The cost for the B12 test was $191, plus blood draw. And of course cat's B12 was still normal, so I didn't need to do the test.
Ok thanks Wendy. That’s helpful 💖
 
Oh Staci, I am so sorry Ivy feels crappy and there is another crisis you have to deal with. 🫂 Sounds like the Budesonide is something worth discussing with her vet. I wonder if the pancreatitis triggered some instability in the system. I hope the b12 works its magic again and she gets back on track fast. You are such a thougtful mom. ❤️ I am sending healing vines and lots of love. ❤️🌿❤️🌿❤️🌿🫂
Thank you Heike 🫂
You are asking great questions. I wish I had answers too!
I’m curious what my vet will say. Maybe he will call me later to discuss?

I think I can pill her if needed. She’s pretty good about pills.
With liquids they may taste worse, so that could be an issue for her.
Thank you for your support as always. Sending you hugs and love back 💖🫂💖🫂💖🫂
 
I just started my senior girl Hoodoo on budesonide. It's a tiny pill that she gets once a day. She's a pretty good girl about taking meds so I just pop it into the back of her mouth and it's small enough to easily swallow. (I'd really been dreading having to start her on it since she's FIV+ and has this weird tongue ulcer that no one can figure out and won't completely heal and I've been terrified starting a steroid would make it worse, but her diarrhea kept getting worse and she was losing weight, so I finally decided we needed to risk it.) My soul kitty Skya was on budesonide for 2 years and I got it as a liquid for her from a compounding pharmacy, so that's available too if liquids are easier.
Thank you Elaine. I appreciate your explanation. I hope it helps your sweet Hoodoo greatly.
This is just so difficult to get a handle on with Ivy.
It’s been about 5 weeks with little relief.
I think a pill is fine with Ivy. She’s pretty good about it.
I already give her Methimazole 2 x daily (and she’s feeling OK she’ll eat that in a tiny bit of a pill pocket). When she doesn’t feel OK I have to just pop it in her mouth and chase it with some water.

Thank you again Elaine 🫂💖
 
Update: I spoke with my vet late this afternoon and he feels that he’s not ready to use budesonide yet.
He’s not necessarily opposed to it, but he doesn’t think she needs it right now.

He’d like to continue using all of the support medications that we have and feels I should not be taping off of them at this time, so keep the Cerenia, Mirataz and if needed, ondansetron.
He thinks that the B12 is really helping her and we may continue to use that and not taper to once a month, depending on how she’s doing at the end of the six week course, that’s in two weeks.
We will have another conversation at that time.

We will do a repeat of labs in about a month from now to see where her levels are, especially the B12.
He wants me to use an herb called Si Miao San, which she feels has very good anti-inflammatory properties. I started using it about a week ago at a lower dose (1/8 tsp) and he wants me to bump that up as soon as she’s feeling better to a full quarter teaspoon twice a day.

At the moment she seems to be feeling a lot better, she ate her dinner well.
I even added some of her normal lamb food back in and she happily ate that along with some baby food.

I just have to hope that the poops throw them up and no more vomiting. Hoping the B12 works. It’s magic again.

Thanks everyone for your support and encouragement 🫂💞💖
 
If we consider the Budesonide for her, how is that given? What should I know about using this medication?
@Wendy&Neko
Shelly is on Budesonide after transitioning from Prednisolone after her diabetes diagnosis. We give her a liquid compounded formula with a syringe. We buy this though Chewy and you can get it flavored. Shelly enjoys the tuna flavor. I like to think it reminds her of her past life when she could eat anything 😂 It also comes in a pill form. We haven't noticed any side effects yet...
 
8/26/26
Amps 262 Libre

Ivy ate a jar of baby food this morning so I’m hoping she keeps that down and doesn’t vomit 🙏

Link above discusses yesterday and her lack of appetite at dinner and vomiting.

I am nervous about her lack of eating last night. She didn’t eat any snacks either.

I gave a slightly reduced dose (2 units instead of 2.25 units today).
Last night I gave a 1/2 dose insulin of 1.125 units since she wasn’t eating and I had to syringe feed her.

I gave her Cerenia 16 mg and Ondansetron 4 mg this morning about 1/2 hour before I fed her.

Hoping she will eat snacks in her feeder just to get her eating again.
I used baby food in the feeder just to keep it more bland in hopes to settle her stomach.

I gave her the weekly B12 shot this morning, hoping that also will help her overall picture.
This is the fourth dose she has had, the plan is to give six doses and then go to one monthly shot. But something tells me she is not going be able to wait a month after this six week course.

As Wendy mentioned overnight, it’s possible her IBD is getting worse and maybe she will need budesonide.

I will increase her Mirataz dose today back to a full dose. Since yesterday I gave her a half a dose, perhaps that’s what caused everything to get out of whack. I was trying to wean her off of the Mirataz this past the week since she had been eating well, feeling well and her stools were good.

But yesterday’s vomiting and possible stomach upset of whatever kind, seem to have thrown all that out of whack. Maybe it was just the B12 weekly shot wearing off it’s so hard to know.

She definitely doesn’t feel well, she’s just staying in her bed in her room and didn’t give me any cuddles overnight since I slept on the sofa to be near her.

I hope she turns the corner today and feels much better 🙏

Hope everyone has a very boring day with no drama 🐈‍⬛🐈😻🍃🍀
View attachment 80066
I'm so sorry for everything Ivy is going through. She is SO pretty ❤️
 
Shelly is on Budesonide after transitioning from Prednisolone after her diabetes diagnosis. We give her a liquid compounded formula with a syringe. We buy this though Chewy and you can get it flavored. Shelly enjoys the tuna flavor. I like to think it reminds her of her past life when she could eat anything 😂 It also comes in a pill form. We haven't noticed any side effects yet...
Awwww thank you and I’m glad Shelly likes her tuna flavored meds.
Thanks so much for letting me know the details. I really appreciate it, Carina 🥰💖
 
C'mon Ivy!!!! Eat that food and keep it down! Hope her stools firm up...those probiotics needs to do their job!

Since you mentioned hoping about the vet appt....figured I would reply here. Don't need a whole thread. No current concerns with Indy. Just going to continue doing what we are doing. Every time in the past the vet has said he is doing well he has decided to throw a monkey wrench into things...so she said "I have said all I will say about Indy. I know better!". On the sad news ..one of our beardies isn't doing well and she said there is nothing we can do. So he is on hospice care. Don't know how long we have him for, but we will do the best we can.
 
Hi Staci,
First, I’m sorry you’re going through these apparent cycles with Ivy. It can be exhausting.

You seem very detailed, so I’m curious as to whether you’re documenting symptom and food/supplement timing and if you’re seeing any patterns. For example, does the vomiting and/or in inappetance come first? Followed by syringe feeding a different food than she normally eats?

I’m guessing you’ve ruled out the obvious causes for diarrhea, but I am always suspicious of alternate foods in our IBD kitties. Charlie was a nightmare case and it came down to one flavor of one brand of food and absolutely nothing else or he’d get sick and have a blowout (which took me days to get on top of). He also had chronic pancreatitis. I had to resort to his main food when syringe feeding as a result. Fortunately he never developed an aversion to it. Even baby food was a problem.

I encourage you to read the label on the Lamborgini if you’re tempted to use it. I believe the first ingredient is fish, which many cats can have sensitivities to.

I have two GI cases right now that I’m chasing diagnoses on. It’s tricky. I feel for you and am sending positive energy your way.
 
Back
Top