8/27 Grady AMPS 324 - Dosage change

Status
Not open for further replies.

sirswithin

Member Since 2013
I have not been getting the results I was hoping for when I reduced Grady's dosage from 1u to .75u. It's been a week and the numbers have not been good, with times where he's spiked up considerably. So, I'm going back to 1u and hoping I can eventually get back to blue and green numbers.
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've been to grady's condo before so welcome from us! No dosing advice from me, but I hope the extra juice brings out those nicer numbers again .. have a great day!
 
Yes, an increase is a good idea. Anytime a reduction seems to fail, you go back up to the last good dose. Keeping our fingers and paws crossed that this increase back to 1U helps Grady to get back to blue and greens. Sometimes, you need to go up, to come back down.
 
Good idea. His pancreas just might not be ready yet. Also you might want to get the occasional spot check later in the PM to fill in some data.

And I would try not to hold the dose too long if its not working. Reminder of the protocol...

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 (blue green) before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 (yellow) increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 (pink red black) increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
 
I just saw your SS. This is day 5 of normal numbers and they are getting even better!!! If he can stay 50-130 for 7 days then he earns a 1/4 unit reduction.. he is so close!

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top