8/27 Fin AMPS 371 PMPS 417

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/27 Fin AMPS 371

will you be able to get any spot checks tonight? IMHO there isn't enough data yet for a dose increase.
 
Yes, I am doing some spot checks tonight for a clearer picture....which is why I am only thinking about an increase. I am also thinking about a new bottle of insulin.

Fin threw up at about 11.5 today so I was cleaning that up. Poor Fin. I will get an 11 in the morning. All my animals are having issues right now. MiAmor isn't eating much and has diarreah, C.C. has been screaming since I got home so I thought she might have a UTI, but the vet said she doesn't - she too has diarreah, and Fin's numbers are soaring with no obvious reason.

I swear I am never leaving them again.... :?

What do you all think as far as spot checks? Should I be doing a +4 and +8 or should I be doing a +3, +6, +9....or something else??

Thanks!
 
Hi Barbi,

have a look at the starred stickie above Data Ready To Shoot Low Numbers?
Takes a bit of data collecting, but it is very handy info to have for those mystery spot checks.

Here is an excerpt:

Let's talk specifically for Lantus and Levemir. This is about fine tuning your curves.
Are you data ready to handle a lower preshot number?

This is where the very early cycle spot checks (those +1's, +2's) and those very late cycle spot checks (the +10's, +11's) come into play. Call them the "neglected" spot checks. Everyone gets those +6 spot checks, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle.

Say you get a preshot of 150. Well if you've collected the data on the average time it takes the insulin to start having any effect for your cat and what happens after +12, then you might see that shooting a 150 is actually very safe in your cat.

Kitty will be in the 200's before the insulin starts working. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) between shooting and effect time to your advantage.

So why the +10's and +11's? Well say you are on day 5 of a dose increase change and your storage shed is now not only full, it is overflowing... and your +10 or +11 was way higher than your preshot.
Good way to stay out of trouble cause now you know you would have shot a still dropping number, not a good idea. so what is the plan then?.... keep testing, and not 2 hours later, every 20-30 minutes would be better, so you can catch the minute it turns and do not loose all your overlap.

If you miss the rise and cat is way up there BG wise before you shoot, remember the number is just going to continue to rise in those hours before the insulin has a chance to kick in, and you have a roller coaster curve going rather than the flat curve that is ideal.
 
Well, first off, don't stay up all night testing unless you have insomnia. Will you be around tomorrow? If so, a full curve (testing every 2 hours) would be great! If you can't test every 2 hours, a mini-curve (every 3 hours) would also be a good alternative.
 
LOL...no, I am sleeper so if I stay up it is on pupose. I think I will grab a curve tomorrow since I have some work to do anyway. Still waiting for him to go potty so I can get a ketones reading.

I dream of a day when I will look back and say, thank goodness we aren't there anymore.... :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top