8/26 Jean Luc +7 96 +11 376 +12 313

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77823
Hoping Kitty will start to follow some normal patterns soon. Cannot tell if the 359 is a bounce or if he ate food he did not finish at amps. Thoughts?
 
Re: 8/26 Jean Luc Amps 215 +2.5 359

IMHO, I see a bounce after those pretty green numbers.

If you want to know how much the food spikes your bg, trying getting a +1 or +2 .
You can approximate it from how much it changes from the AMPS or PMPS and eating breakfast/dinner.
It will change over time but you can see what it is right now.


It would be so nice if we got immediate feedback everytime we do something but it doesn't work that way.
The numerous daily factors just keep us guessing. :-x
 
Re: 8/26 Jean Luc Amps 215 +2.5 359 +7 503

Suppose his bounce is continuing after overnight in the 200s. Come on P and L get it together!
 
Re: 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196

Here we go.. starting like Friday night when he dropped <50 on 1.75. Gave him 1.5 tonight. Crossing paws for more balanced #'s. I have a very long day tomorrow with an early work meeting.

Should I go ahead and add a little higher carb to his +3.5 meal as a precaution?
 
Re: 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196

Will do. More proactive. Less stress. Works for me. Thank you.
 
Re: 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196

Gave him 1/4 can ff turkey. He hoovered it. His +3.5. meal (1/4 can ff) will be available until +7 when he gets another 1/4 can. He usually eats this at night but, not during the day.
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196 +5 & +5.25 52

Here we are again 52 @ +5, +5.25. This is after 1/4 can ff @ +3 & +3.5 and 1tbsp canned w/d @+5 . Does he need another reduction or shall I hold?
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196 +5 & +5.25 52

Let's get Jean Luc through the green surf first, and then we can think about the next dose. :-D

You doing okay, Shannan? Can you test him again in 30 minutes?

Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196 +5 & +5.25 52

I am doing well. Not too surprised this time. It seems to be repeat of Friday. Just about to test again. Jean Luc seems fine as well just sleepy like me!!! :arrow:
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 +5.75 75

+5.75 75
I guess it take 45 minutes for 1 tbsp of w/d to kick in. Now what??
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc pmps 366 +2.5 196 +5 & +5.25 52

How much longer can you stay up? I know you said you have a long day tomorrow and an early business meeting?
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75

Probably 1 hour. Will shoot luc at 5 before I leave.
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75

OK, first off then, is he hungry still? If so, you can give him another spoon of w/d to get him up enough so you can sleep tonight.

Tomorrow morning. You shoot at 5? You have to leave right after the shot?

Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75

Not hungry. Sleeping on top of his post. He will have normal ff turkey available +7 (1 hour). Shoot am. I can check before I leave 30-45 min. later.
last time he bounced. You can see it on spreadsheet.
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75

OK, here's a recap so far:

PMPS 366 1.5u (3rd cycle on that dose - was 1.75u prior)
+2.5 196 (fed 1/4 can FF LC)
+3 (fed 1/4 can LC)
+5 52 (fed 1 tsp W/D)
+5.25 52
+5.75 75

I think I may have missed some feedings?

Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75

I can check before I leave 30-45 min. later.
last time he bounced. You can see it on spreadsheet.

Yes, I can see it. But, that doesn't mean he'll bounce as high from this. Probably, but no guarantee. He's a cat, afterall. ;-)
It looks like today's numbers may have been a bounce from a low you didn't catch last night too? If it was, the bounce cleared sort of "all of a sudden" tonight.


Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75

PS can ff turkey
no +2.5 feeding
3.5 normal 1/4 ff
+5 1 tablespoon not teaspoon canned w/d
+6 79
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

PMPS 366 1.5u (3rd cycle on that dose - was 1.75u prior) (fed can FF turkey)
+2.5 196
+3 (fed 1/4 can LC)
+3.5 (fed 1/4 can LC)
+5 52 (fed 1 tbsp W/D)
+5.25 52
+5.75 75
+6 79

edit - OK, fixed it again.

At +7, test him and if he'll eat the w/d, you can feed him that instead of the LC stuff, or combine them.

In the morning, see what you get. I think Jane in South Africa will be on that early, and I'll send her a PM to keep an eye out.

The protocol doesn't call for an automatic reduction since he bottomed out at 52. BUT, you won't be there to check early in the cycle, and you won't be there for most of the day, correct?
I would suggest a reduction, but at the same time, a reduced dose might not have an immediate effect on his numbers (since the shed is still there from the 1.5 cycles, and maybe even from the 1.75u cycles previously).
I'd love to see experienced opinions on the morning dose before 5AM gets here...

Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

How much w/d?
Correct, will not be around tomorrow until pm to check on him. It'd be more enjoyable then stuck in a car. confused_cat
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

As much w/d as you'd normally be giving for his FF +7 snack. But...
You really haven't had to feed this drop more than normal except for that tablespoon of w/d at +5, right? SO his normal +7 low carb food might work as well.

Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

I also fed him an extra 1/4 can at +3 to try and stop him from repelling head first off the cliff. He did it anyway. Cannot blame him though.. it sure can be fun when done safely! !!!

Thanks again for your help. At least he is starting to show some improvement!
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

I'd feed a teaspoon or two.

I'm torn about suggesting a reduction for tomorrow. There are times when you're working really hard to keep the numbers up. I'm not sure that a tablespoon of WD is "working hard." On the other hand, this was a pretty fast drop in numbers and I suspect that if you hadn't been testing and feeding, Jean Luc would have been in the 40s. I just hate that I don't have a crystal ball to make these sort of predictions.

If you feel like a reduction is warranted, then take it. If the reduced dose doesn't hold, then increase back up as soon as you are sure that Jean Luc needs more insulin.

The alternative is to take a one time reduced dose in the AM because you're not going to be home. It may depend on where his numbers are in the AM. If Jean Luc bounces, none of this may matter. You may want to shoot through the bounce (i.e., hold your current dose in order to help the bounce to clear more quickly).

I know you'd like a black and white answer. A lot depends on where the numbers are in the AM and no matter what kind of scenario we come up with, Jean Luc will throw us a curve. It's best to wait and see. Both Dyana and Jane are up early. It will help if you can get a +11 or even a +11.5.
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

+7 96.. need to try and sleep. Thank you all.
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79

OK, Shannan,

Like Sienne suggested, if you can get one test at +11 or +11.5, then the AMPS test, there should be at least a couple of people online to help if you have a question in the morning.

You and he are doing great!

Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +5 & +5.25 52 5.75 75 +6 79 +7

Hiya Shannan, Jane here checking in. (I know you off sleepus right now, but just to let you know I'm here waiting for that (+11) or (+11.5) that you'll hopefully manage.)

For the recond, the way you posted the link to your previous condo, it doesn't work! Here is Jean Luc's 25th August Condo. You do that by posting "" followed by what you want the link to be called (above, "Jean Luc's 25th August Condo"), and finish with "". Got it? :mrgreen:

You did a very good job with those lows! Well done. I've been going over your previous condos and Jean Luc's SS.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm torn about suggesting a reduction for tomorrow. There are times when you're working really hard to keep the numbers up. I'm not sure that a tablespoon of WD is "working hard." On the other hand, this was a pretty fast drop in numbers and I suspect that if you hadn't been testing and feeding, Jean Luc would have been in the 40s. If you feel like a reduction is warranted, then take it. If the reduced dose doesn't hold, then increase back up as soon as you are sure that Jean Luc needs more insulin. The alternative is to take a one time reduced dose in the AM because you're not going to be home. It may depend on where his numbers are in the AM. If Jean Luc bounces, none of this may matter. You may want to shoot through the bounce (i.e., hold your current dose in order to help the bounce to clear more quickly).

Sienne makes good points there - we'd best wait for the AMPS (and pre-AMPS BG if you have one). From what I'm seeing this past cycle, I'm leaning towards holding the dose (because [a] he didn't dip below 50 officially, and I suspect Jean Luc will stick to his recent pattern of bouncing off greens, and holding the current dose to shoot through the likely bounce can help it clear faster). Then again - YOU need to be comfortable too, leaving him alone and not being there to monitor and possibly guide the cycle. So - we'll re-assess when we get to your morning BGs, k?

Really great job last night!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +7 96 +11 376

+11 376. He bounced as we thought he might. More shut eye for a moment for me!
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +7 96 +11 376

That's not too bad, Shannan. Beats the heck out of reds and blacks:-)
Carl
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +7 96 +11 376 +12 313

Hi Shannan

That's a bit of a drop there (though, I know, with meter variance one *could* take that more lightly than I will now in my feedback).

Given that you can't monitor all day, and Jean Luc has shown a penchant for diving fast and fairly low, I've changed my mind from my earlier post.

I would shoot a reduced dose this morning. (You have the option of doing a "standard" reduction, whether or not it's one-time-only, and taking the dose down to 1.25u --- You also have a couple of other options, but I'd like your feedback on this first.) You can always consider it a one-time reduction by tonight, depending on the numbers then. How do you feel about this?
Jane
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +7 96 +11 376 +12 313

I started a new condo. With question of 1.25 or 1?
 
Re: NEED EYES 8/26 Jean Luc +7 96 +11 376 +12 313

Okay.
ON THREE...EVERYBODY MOVE TO THE NEW CONDO...
1----2----3!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top