8/25 Tigger AMPS 394 PMPS 348

Status
Not open for further replies.

hnkstr

Member Since 2011
Ok, so I hear a noise last night when i'm in bed. I get up and can't find tigger anywhere.
Then i hear a noise and there's Tigger in my garbage can, with the lid shut. How?? It wasn't that full.

Didn't knock it over, but got the lid open and got inside and what I heard was the two Spaghetti sauce jars banging into each other.
:lol: cat(2)_steam :lol: cat(2)_steam

I'm not happy with it, but I have to chuckle.
 

Attachments

  • Garbage.jpg
    Garbage.jpg
    71.5 KB · Views: 261
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

Brent, if you shot at +10 this morning, please get some extra tests in, as an early shot is like a dose increase.
Also please note the + numbers of the shot times in the comments of your spreadsheet. Like PMPS at +14 (last night), and AMPS at +10 (if that's when you shot this morning.....). All this information helps us help you.
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

~O) ~O)
:lol:

one of my civies is a dumpster diver - I had to install a latch on the cabinet door where our trash can is. She's a petite 7lb peanut of a cat, but was able to open the cabinet and get inside the trash can.
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

It wasn't +10, I usually dose at 4:30-4:30
Yesterday wasn't quite 2 hours, I dosed at 5:50pm actually and dosed at 5:10am this morning.
I waited as long as I could, but had to head to work. My post was a guestimate yesterday, When I posted I had looked at the clock and said two hours since it was an hour and 50 minutes when I was doing the post which wasn't right when I dosed him.

I understand the 12 hour thing, but life doesn't always allow me to be that accurate all the time.
:smile:
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

Tigger has knocked it over before, but never gotten inside. I still don't understand how he lifted the lid and got inside without knocking it over.
:lol: :lol:

I guess i'll have to find something heavy to put on top of the gargbage now. I can't believe he was still that hungry, he had 3.5 cans of FF yesterday afternoon/night. I seriously cannot fill that cat. I cannot believe IAA causes such hunger, and that he hasn't gained weight (lost .5 lbs since May).

Do I go to 4 cans of FF for the PM???
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

hnkstr said:
I understand the 12 hour thing, but life doesn't always allow me to be that accurate all the time.

Sometimes the 12/12 can't be precisely held to (life gets in the way) and that's OK. It's just important to make note of any deviations. Reason being is that shooting early is like increasing the dose. It sounds like you shot 40 mins early this morning and you will want to pick up the other 40 mins to get back to 4:30 shooting time. I recommend you not do that tonight since shooting that early both AM and PM may sneak up on you.

That being said, I know that with Tigger being IAA, that may not be an issue- right now. One day, when the IAA has given up the ghost, you will have to be very mindful of early shooting.

What causes the hunger is the high BGs. Not all of the nutrition from the food he consumes makes it to his cells. As the numbers come down, that will resolve.
Maybe a timed feeder will help.
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

If he was not 394 I would have taken a different route this morning.

As for "That being said, I know that with Tigger being IAA, that may not be an issue- right now. One day, when the IAA has given up the ghost, you will have to be very mindful of early shooting."

That is exactly why i stated yesterday that I am not sure what i'm going to do when that day comes, in which everyone said not to worry about the future, worry about today. :smile:

I'll just state it again that I live alone and have an IT job that is demanding and I have my own health concerns. This isn't easy, and won't be easy when the IAA breaks. I don't know what i'm going to do when constant testing is needed. I'm looking into assistance, but financially I have to live within my means and although I would love to have someone here all day, I cannot afford it. I don't know what i'm going to do, and yes that does strike some fear in me.
Between my Mayo Medical bills, MRI's, Epidurals, etc and now Tiggers Diabetes, things are tight. I do computer work on the side to help pay for his stuff. :smile:
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

I don't mean to sound critical or harsh there, I take in everything you guys tell me and bank it in my memory for future use.
:smile:

I understand the protocol and the severity of the timelines, that is what is causing me some stress knowing I cannot hit them all the time and knowing consequences may come from that. If he was closer to 300 this morning, he still was getting the shot when he got it, but I would have reduced the dose i guess.
I had to leave earlier today due to a Production Outage at work, no option to stay until the 12 hour mark. These are the situations that are causing me concern and stress. And Mayo is telling me i need to unstress since I don't have the cortisol to handle stress! #^$*&#%*&^%$$

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Anyways, thanks for input as always it is appreciated and noted. By the way, picked up the Humulin R last night, and I have no idea how in the world I'm going to get .1 units! I talked to two people in depth incuding the pharmacist about how to get .1 units out of that bottle. Is there a special syringe I need? I thought .5 is hard to read! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

Hi guys .. how funny that tigger is now a magician! Hoping you can find something heavy enough to keep him out of there at night .. don't want him finding any goodies he shouldn't be eating! Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

morning brent! little imp - i had a dumpster diver too - a big hunking 24 lb cat (with teeny tiny feet) who was constantly on the "search for food" mission. they are crafty little critters! i can imagine you finding tigger in the garbage can! did ya yell at him? :lol:

here's a link that will be helpful - if you scroll about halfway down there is a guide to tiny doses and what they look like in the syringe: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

hopefully that will be helpful.

i don't hear critical in what you've said - it is just what it is. and it's good to know so if we can come up with ideas to help you we know what you're facing. but it is true that sometimes the issues we worry about in advance never materialize down the road. i don't want to dismiss your concerns at all. but it's also possible that tigger won't be a kitty that comes crashing down the dosing scale.

one possibility that was mentioned already today that may be your new best friend is the timed feeder. you haven't had to deal with low numbers yet - but when a cat gets too low we use food to pull them up. we learn how to use a combination of low carb to just bump a tad or keep them "surfing" or we use high carbs to pull them up. so if tigger gets into a phase of "crashing down the dosing scale" it might be that a timed feeder for while you are at work may be helpful. especially since we know tigger likes to eat.

i haven't done this, so i'm just speculating out loud and i'm sure others will jump in, but perhaps a 5 compartment feeder that you have set to go off while you're gone can dispense food for tigger. if you want to invest in a feeder, ask people here for feedback because i have seen a lot of discussions that some feeders seem to work better than others. you would also want one that is more "thief-proof" since some cats break into theirs. some cats are wary of them and take a little getting used to.

anyway, just thinking.
 
Re: 8/25 Tigger AMPS 394

Yeah, Tigger will not be the wary cat, Tigger will be the thief that picks the lock! If he can somehow figure out a way to get into that garbage can without knocking it over and lifting the lid, he will figure that feeder out
:lol: :lol:

Now, when I got the R inuslin, I also picked up a tube of hypo stuff they had in case of a bad hypo. In my field, I plan for the worst and hope for the best. If this IAA stuff is anything like technology, you think you have it figured out but you need to have a plan at least for the What If's.
:smile:

With Tigger, right now I currently do not have a good plan for the What If's and need to get one figured out.
Having a plan eases the pressure
 
Well, PM dosing done. Sitting in the mid 300's

I should find out about Acro tomorrow. Thought of going to 10.5 units in the morning but maybe see what his numbers are and go from there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top