8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +3.5 52, +9 72, PMPS 119 vet report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=231316#p231316

Hi Everyone,
A weird morning so far. Stu didn't eat the Cowboy Cookout in his automat last night (I think these cans are a bad batch; he didn't eat from one of the large cans the other day also, but did eat from the small can with relish; I'm going to take them back). Then he wouldn't take his pill, even though it was in the piece of butter. Then I gave him Wellness Chicken for breakfast and he ate some, but wandered away from his dish before I could give him his insulin shot (had to drag him back). Finally he ate and had his shot, and I left the pill in butter in a small dish and he eventually ate that, too (but I don't remember if the pill piece was still in it). And now we have to go to the vet!!! He did eat a second installment of breakfast (to which I added some 9% Turducken to keep him from dropping too much). More later. Keep your fingers crossed. It could have been a worse early morning, but not much worse!!!

Ella
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day

Good luck at the vet, we'll be thinking lots of good thoughts for you guys. Stu, Lanky says howdy & don't worry too much about that vet person!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day

Are you nervous about Stu's blood work? Maybe he's sensing that. Or, maybe he's just being a cat!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day

Sending good bloodwork vines to Stu Today!!!! Hope all is better!!--Hugs-Thinking of You!!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day, +3.5 52!!

Sending lots of good vet vines, paws crossed for the blood work results you need. :thumbup
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day, +3.5 52!!

never a dull moment huh. And wow off to the vet with a 52! Well take a deep breathe - it will all work out. And wishing you good vetty vines today.

HEY STU~ what's up! off to the that vet place huh. well be good buddy - it will be over soon. Maybe we can hang out some when you get back. See you ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day, +3.5 52!!

Stu man, Hope you get out of the vetty quick & that all is well--It's only a second dude, just like our pokes--Only other beans are doing it-
We luv you & hey maybe we can surf when you get back--You think?? Hugs from Moonie!


Ella will be looking for the update--Paws & fingers crossed that all will be well & treatment will proceed!!
BIG BIG HUGS!! from all of Us~!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day, +3.5 52!!

Good luck at the vet's, Ella and Stu! :-D I hope your day doesn't get any weirder.
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day, +3.5 52!!

Good luck! Maybe Stu is just trying to offset the vet stress so his test numbers are better! :lol: Paws crossed!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138 bloodwork day, +3.5 52!!

I hope your vet visit goes well. I know you probably won't have the results right away, but I hope everything comes out good for your I-131 treatment plans.
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138, +3.5 52!! Back from vet

Hi again Everyone,
Thanks for keeping an eye out for Stu. He spent about 2 hours at the vet's having samples taken for all the tests. He had anesthesia, so the vet took the opportunity to clean his teeth (gratis!; gave him a shot of the antibiotic Cefazolin and a week's worth of Cephalexin 250 mg, 1/2 pill every 12 hours to counteract any mouth bacteria that might have gotten loose). Teeth were fine; hardly any tartar (this was his very first dental cleaning, so we are happy about that). He had an EKG (all is fine), had chest and lung xrays (all fine: heart is normal size; no tumors anywhere; all organs where they should be). His blood pressure in the front legs was high (185/130), but fine in the back legs (70/50). Urine was taken by cystocentesis and confirms the dx of Chronic Kidney Disease: BUN and Creatinine were both higher than they had been 2 weeks ago (Stu has been taking the hyperT pills, so this was expected).
BUN = 62 mg/dL (had been 41 mg/dL; reference range is 16-36)
CREA = 3.2 mg/dL (had been 2.7 mg/dL; reference range is 0.8-2.4)
USG (fixed range) = 1.011 (had been 1.020; reference range is ??)
Calcium = 9.2 mg/dL (reference range is 7.8- 11.3) (he did not have this test before)
Phosphorus = 7.4 mg/dL (reference range is 3.1 - 7.5 (he did not have this test before)
Glucose (on the vet's Alpha Trak meter) was 111

The vet ran the samples on his equipment and also sent them to ANTECH Diagnostics: CBC/ Chemistry Profile; T4; Urinalysis. We should have the results back from ANTECH on Friday and the vet will then fax everything to Hypurrcat.

So that's where we are. I am satisfied that he did a thorough job . Now all we can do is sit tight and see what transpires. The vet gave Stu some subQs, also, so he looks and feels heavier! Both the vet and his vet tech were impressed with how strong a kitty Stu is. He came out of the anesthesia without any problems and wasn't even wobbly.

I asked if I should give insulin tonight and the vet said to go easy, since he hasn't had much food today (he went straight to his dish as soon as he got in the door, however!). I think, depending on the bg readings later, that I will give 1/2 dose (i.e., about 1/2 unit). Any thoughts?

Thanks for bearing with me. I wanted to write this down while it is still fresh in my mind. Stu seems fine. He's lounging in his camp chair.

Ella
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138, +3.5 52!! Back from vet

Glad everything went well, I hope the numbers are what Hypurrcat wants to see in order to do the I-131 treatment.

Scritches to Stu for being such a good boy . cat_pet_icon Now the waiting! :YMSIGH:
872-felix-the-cat-pacing.gif
nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138, +3.5 52!! Back from vet

So good to hear Stu is home and hope the results let him have the test sounds like he had quite the workover today
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138, +3.5 52!! Back from vet

well, I really don't know anything about those numbers but I am glad all the other tests ran today came back looking good! So happy to hear the dental cleaning went well ... how old is stu? Just a bit of tartar on his first cleaning? That's amazing .. mocha needed 8 teeth taken out!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +2 138, +3.5 52!! Back from vet, +9 72

Well, it sounds like Stu got quite the check up today! And a dental without the awful fasting the whole night before?
Wow.
Glad to hear he went right over to eat when you guys got home. Hope you both have a relaxing time for the rest of the day now.You have both had quite a day! Good Boy Stu!!!
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +3.5 52!! Back from vet, +9 72

STU: YAY - you did great at the vet - and they did your toothies too??? whoa man - you should get an award for being such a good guy. And fluids? man they really gave you the works! I think we should hang out today for a bit - get rid of that vetty smell. Can I come and visit? ~~ Mannie

Wow - Ella - quite the day for Stu, but I think it is good that they got just about everything. Now you can relax some, and wait. That's the hard part - waiting...
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +3.5 52!! Back from vet, +9 72

Sounds like Stu got a really thorough checkup, Ella. Great that he got his toofers cleaned too. :smile:
Now, the wait to find out that he will be able to have his treatment :smile:
 
Re: 8/25 Stu AMPS 182, +3.5 52!! Back from vet, +9 72

Hi Ella,
Ele, a question: I see in Blackie's profile that he gets Azodyl. Can you explain to me what that is and what it does? I think my vet mentioned it today (it was something that began with "A"!!).
Azodyl is a probiotic that is supposed to lower creatinine and help slow the progression of kidney disease. Here's the website: http://www.vetoquinolusa.com/pages/pro_azodyl.html Blackie has been taking it for about 1.5 years and I honestly don't know if it is working. but I don't think it can hurt.

I also wanted to mention a couple of things about your vet visit, but remember this is just my opinion and I am not an expert. First I was surprised that your vet put Stu under anethesia. My old vet told us that every time a cat (or any animal) goes under anesthesia it does damage to the kidneys. So in the future, I would try to avoid anesthesia if possible.

Second, that BUN & creatinine is pretty high. Have you started subQ fluids? Blackie didn't need fluids until his creatinine went above 2.7 and ECID, but you might want to be prepared for that. And I think getting the thyroid taken care of will let you get better management of the kidneys.

Third, you might want to think about adding a phosphorus binder to Stu's food. Blackie's phosphorus is 5.7 and everyone on the CRF websites and Carolyn (Latte) recommended that we start the phosphorus binder. You can talk to your vet about that. The aluminum hydroxide is tasteless and easy to add to food. From what I've read, high phosphorus can make a kitty feel pretty crummy.

Okay , enough negative stuff. I'm glad Stu is still feeling good and I hope you can get the I-131 treatment soon.
 
Glad everything went well. It definitely sounds like your vet did a very thorough job. Now it's just waiting for the results, which I know is never fun. But hey, a free dental AND a good tooth report! Way to go, Stu. :-D
 
Hi again, Everyone.
Stu was 119 at PMPS and ate some of his dinner, but I decided to give a reduced shot this evening and settled on 0.75 unit. He's doing well, I think: a bit subdued, but his mouth probably is tender from the cleaning. He wanted to go outside, but it's dark now. Mr. Cat will have to wait until tomorrow. Does anyone know what the best time is to give antibiotics (prescribed because of the teeth cleaning)? I'm thinking maybe 9 A.M. and 9 P.M. since these times don't conflict with meals or with his morning Methimazole. I think I'll wait to start until tomorrow morning, since the vet gave him an antibiotic injection (Cefazolin) in the late morning. Advice is appreciated. The half pills are not tiny! I bought some Pill Pockets (but they are the kind with dry corn syrup--the only thing the store here has). The full report on our visit to the vet is in my earlier post in today's condo.
Off to visit a few condos.

Ella & Stu

p.s. to Ele. I just got your post. Many thanks for the info. The vet was quite firm about putting Stu under anesthesia and I honestly don't think he would have done the tests and x rays unless Stu was "out". I didn't know about the possible kidney damage caused by anesthesia. We discussed fluids and he is going to show me how to do them (or Stu can get them there). We didn't discuss starting phosphorus binders because Stu's phosphorus is still in the "normal" range. Right now I'm just glad that he's alive and not too bad. I really worried this morning that he would die there and that I would not have had a chance to say goodbye.
 
Hey Ella - not too sure on the time frame for the antibiotics. Haven't had to do that in ages. I am glad though that Stu is doing well tonight. I did think of you guys all day today, and hoped all was well. I think your fears this morning are ones we all share, especially when our kitties have problems. It made me cry to read that - about not having a chance to day goodbye. It's a fear we all share.

Have a great evening, Spend time with your boy.

oh - on the pills - any chance you can grind them up, maybe mix with food?
 
Hi ella,
I cant post any links from my phone, but sometime last week..I think...I posted some links about phos and binder I in ele and blackies condo. Maybe someone could dig that up for you (wont be on puter till fri here).

It would be wise to get stu on a binder. High phos will cause nausea and vomiting ( clear foam usually). I know you said he vomits often due to eating grass. That strong desire to eat grass could be a sign of nausea, just in case you did not know. High phos can also cause greater progression of the renal issues.

Hopefully you can dig out the post I wrote to ele. You may not a binder permanently. Phos can change. After tx for the hyper t things could change.

I have a ton of binder. Its easy to use. Pm your address and I will get it in the mail friday, k? At least then you have it available if you decide it would be wise to use. And if you never use it, so be it. Mail it off to someone else, or send it back to me.
 
((((Ella)))) I didn't know you were afraid of losing Stu today or I would have sent even stronger vines. I hope you get the ok to do the treatment.
 
Ella,
I forgot to ask,..can you find out if your vet gave any pain meds during the cleaning procedure with the anesthesia?

(((ella)))
Until I saw what Libby posted I didnt read your note to ele. It is scary when faced with multiple issues. BUT...you have so many resources than the average bean, you are diligent. Most importantly you love that big guy with all your heart. Dont ever forget that every decision is based on that love. With that you can NEVER go wrong. I may regret or wonder with Latte, but when I go back to that place of where my decisions were coming from, I know it was right. Hang in there. You, dh, and stu have a lot more with big bug. :)
 
thanks, Carolyn. I got it! Sent you a pm. No pain meds, only antibiotics (no extractions, only cleaning). But Stu ate his nighttime snack with gusto. Big Bug may make an appearance tomorrow (but now we have live bugs--moths--in our "lawn").

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top