8/25 Skunkys AMPS 134 WHAT?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
If I hadn't been sitting down when I just did Skunky's AMPS, I would have fallen over. 134???
This is one of her lowest numbers ever, of any kind, except on Friday when she almost hypoed.
We reduced, Friday night, to .75 from the 1 that caused her numbers to go to low. She's been bouncing, I guess. Pretty high, lots of 300s and high 200s. And now this?

SO I fed her and am going to wait 30 minutes. Surely, surely, this was a fluke?

I even really skinnied yesterday's AM dose b/c we were going to be gone all day. Out of an abundance of cuation.

She hasn't been liking her new Friskies variety, so she doesn't eat a lot of it. In my mind, that is AWESOME. She eats too much, she's way too fat, so eating less is good. Right?

Thoughts? I don't know whether to give her her full dose of .75 or .5 or what. I will be home all day (wasn't planning to be but I need to be, anyhow. my house is a disaster).
 
30 minutes later, she's at 146. I just gave her more food (the one she despises) and she chowed down.

I can't wait much longer or it will throw me off tomorrow. I have to leave the house by 115 (it's 119 now) . . . . but hey, these numbers are a good thing I know.
I'm going to read "how to handle low numbers).
 
cool. that is what I was thinking. too.

When you say "hold" what do you mean?

thanks Mel!
Part of me is freaking and the other part is thinking - this is GREAT
 
Keep shooting it unless she drops low again as opposed to shooting it as a Big Chicken Shot. Lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
So. . . shoot .5 tonight, and keep that as the dose, or go back to .75 tonight? Sorry, I'm confused ;-)

I'll be doing lots of testing today.

Her poor ears. We're running out of ear space!
 
Ooh, this is good news! Still not fun to be worried about needing to change/stall shots, but it's great that he looks like he's starting to pull himself down here and there!
 
Skunky's Mom said:
Part of me is freaking and the other part is thinking - this is GREAT

:lol: - oh, I know that feeling all too well!

Hello, Skunky and Skunky's mom. I've only been a member here for a couple of months and have spent the last 3 weeks or so dealing with RealLife. Ugh! So I'm sorry I haven't had the chance to "meet" you earlier!

I'm rootin' for Skunky too that these unexpected low numbers mean he and his pancreas are getting better! dancing_cat
And if that's him in your avatar ... what a handsome fellow!
 
Thanks ladies for all your kind words and thoughts!

And thank you Geneva. She is a beauty if I do say so myself.

So today's numbers. . . 234 @+2, 226 at 4.5, and a whopping 297 at +7

I wonder if this are a reaction to the lower dose or possibly a bounce from some unexpectedly low numbers last night (that I didn't see until our AMPS).

Maybe that's the fits and starts of the pancreas I hear about. Probably not but. . . one can hope :razz:
 
Please tell Skunky I'm sorry I called her a handsome FELLOW! :lol: She's a beautiful GIRL!

What type of Friskies is she eating (or not eating as it were)? This is the pate? There are a couple of flavors that my cats just flat out won't eat. Does Skunky get any treats? Some of those are high carb; in fact, some of Alice's worst numbers came from the Blue Buffalo Kitty Yum treats I was giving her after each test. Once I eliminated those, her numbers settled down nicely.

Sending good thoughts for Skunky! dancing_cat
 
I'm sure she'll forgive you Geneva. Everybody seems to think she's a boy! I was in college when I got her and came up with that silly name @-)

It's the Special Diet Beef and Chicken she flat hates. She's not a big fan of the turkey and giblets either.

I'm trying to avoid too much fish and keep the phosphorous level down, just in case. So that doesn't leave a lot of options. She went crazy for the flaked tuna that I happened to have on hand and gave her last night. . She's ok with the 'country style dinner' but it's something like 10% carbs (i was looking at the old list).
LIke I said, I think it's great that she doesn't much like the food. She will eat it. If I only had crappy tasting food I'd be a lot thinner too ;-)


she's never been into treats. I bought her some freeze dried chicken for when I test her but we don't even eat much of that.

thanks! she was in the 300s last night. What a waste of getting up in the middle of the night ;-)

Ah, the sugar dance. Now, I get it!
 
About keeping the phosphorous down ... has Skunky had kidney blood work done? Having just lost a cat to kidney disease on Monday, I've been reading up on phosphorous levels too and have been thinking about switching to the Friskies special diet flavors. My cats love the regular Friskies Salmon Dinner, Liver & Chicken, Mariner's Catch, Supreme Supper, Poultry Platter, and Turkey & Giblets. I rotate them with a can of 9 lives Flaked Tuna (kitty crack) every now and then. But from what I've read they're all higher in phosphorous. :?

Have you've been to Dr. Lisa Pierson's site, catinfo.org ? She has a lot of good info there. Not too much on kidney problems though, but a lot about diabetes, obesity, nutrition, etc.
 
We had blood work done at diagnosis, and everything was fine. Though there is something niggling in my head that says maybe he did say some level was slightly elevated but that was to be expected with diabetes. I may be imagining that. He did say no kidney disease. I was worried that it was FKD or heart failure causing all the peeing. I was glad to hear it was only diabetes.

There's the special diet turkey and giblets. .. I reckon it's not as tasty as the regular one.

some of those aren't too bad. There's a special diet with salmon that is pretty low but I've never seen it anywhere. I' keep reading about how fish is bad. . but boy, she likes it.

the kitty crack isn't bad either, much to my surprise - 211.

9 lives has a lot of good low carbs but their ingredients concern me, all the artificial colors and stuff. titanium dioxide, I mean, really? NO i'm not giving that to my cat!
We did try the liver and bacon 9 lives and she liked it. It really smells like bacon. weird. phosphorous 315.

The crazy thing to me is that the Fancy Feast is crazy high in phosphorous! I can't afford it anyway so. . . good thing :cool:
 
Skunky's Mom said:
The crazy thing to me is that the Fancy Feast is crazy high in phosphorous! I can't afford it anyway so. . . good thing :cool:

Yeah, that is crazy because it's supposed to be the "better" stuff, as compared to 9 Lives and Friskies, or so the marketing people tell us. It's a shame someone can't make a wet food that's 1. low in carbs 2. low in phosphorous and 3. AFFORDABLE.

Purina makes a Pro Plan Urinary Tract Formula chicken entrée (in gravy) that's supposed to be very low in phosphorous. But it's 13% carb and even more expensive than Fancy Feast for a 3 oz can. I bought a 24 can pack from Amazon earlier in the summer and treat that stuff like gold! :lol:

Do you have a comprehensive list of the phosphorous counts? I've read two or three different lists and just can't keep them straight. Right now, with 8 cats, the 13 oz cans of regular Friskies are all I can afford to feed them on a daily basis.
 
Because no one has changed the old stickies and because Binky's list still contains data on dry food.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Wow!! Ya know in all the years I've been here I think that is the first time I've seen that one. :oops: It might have been pulled from another site just for being grain free.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top