8/25 Miss Kitty AMPS 366 PMPS 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50699&p=545615#p545615

I gave her 2 units (reduction of 0.25 units) this morning. I'll check her in a bit to see where she is at today so far. New vet is supposed to call me today, I'll have a lot to tell him.
 
Re: 8/25 Miss Kitty AMPS 366

Hi guys .. miss kitty please come down off the pink floor .. Hope you and the new vet get along well .. it's so hard to find the perfect vet .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/25 Miss Kitty AMPS 366

Just got off the phone with new vet. He thinks Miss Kitty may be too sensitive to Lantus and to maybe try an insulin called Prozinc. Anyone heard of this one?
 
I don't know about Prozinc - however I believe there are several former users here in LL. If you place "prozinc question" in your header I'm sure they will chime in.
I think she just needed a decrease.

Those numbers are not too bad, considering you skipped a shot.
 
Perhaps the vet could explain what he means by "too sensitive." Lantus and Levemir are among the gentlest of insulins that are available. From what it looks like to me, this is the first time you've been following a consistent dosing protocol. In the almost 2 mos. that you've been consistent with dose, you've finally broken through the reds and pinks and you're starting to see better numbers.

My guess is that the vet is more comfortable with Prozinc. You might want to pass along this journal article to your vet. Cats did better on Lantus than PZI (or Lente) when the 3 types of insulin were compared.
 

Attachments

His issue is that she has been diagnosed for 8 months and is not "even" yet. I've only been following this protocol for the last two of those months however. He also thinks that since 0.25 unit made such a big difference in her that she is "too sensitive" and that insulin doses should be bigger and increased and decreased by whole units and not fractions. So, I listened to him mostly. I would be open to trying to switch if this ends up not working, but now it seems to be working. Is two months on this protocol too long to get a cat under control on this protocol? I don't know, they are all different. I think I've read that others here have taken a while to get their cats under control too. I don't think he paid much attention to the other article I gave him. Oh well, at least he has more pesonality than the other vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top