8/25 LT AMPS 431 +4 384 PMPS 266 +2 165 +4 77 +5 78

Suzanne Burton

Member Since 2019
yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-72-2-5-76-3-63-3-25-68-3-75-89-4-120.218516/

Thanks to everyone who guided me, once again, through the hypo last night. I guess I got a bit to enthusiastic on the intervention last night- but I'm still a learnin'. Plus, LT hasn't been on the trampoline in a while and decided to hop on this a.m. He can see you beach kitties from the air.We shot through the bounce and gave his reduced dose of 0.5.

May everyone and their sweet kitties have a blessed Sunday.
 
May you also have a blessed day - it's not a big surprise to see the red this morning. Getting over-enthusiastic happens frequently at the beginning - most of us aren't psychic - that's what the spreadsheets are for. AND the experienced volunteers here are priceless. I have learned a lot through other cat's adventures and feel fortunate to have the spreadsheet tool.
I was a member of a human diabetes forum for a while, a few years ago. The FDMB is far superior, with so much reading knowledge packed in, and volunteers/educated people that still surprise me. I find a lot of honesty here too.
LT is going to be great!
 
LT decided to give you a little practice again yesterday!! Second time in LIME since a week! You did a great job last night !
As you said, he's supervising everybody from up there this morning! We'll see pretty soon how he likes his reducie!
Have a beautiful day Suzanne!
 
Riding the FD roller coaster today. Between my overdoing it last night, and the lower dose today, it's a painful time. I learned that the one dose of HC was enough, and the I should have given LC the second time instead of the HC.
 
I had a thought or lightbulb turn on today, after seeing that Tina rose approx 30 points in 30 minutes with less than a teaspoon of FF gravy (and large teaspoon of LC). The gravy works like glucose tablets for people - a quick spike up that helps fast, but doesn't last very long if BG is headed down. I know we are told that, but I finally experienced it.
 
Last edited:
Riding the FD roller coaster today. Between my overdoing it last night, and the lower dose today, it's a painful time. I learned that the one dose of HC was enough, and the I should have given LC the second time instead of the HC.
Don't beat yourself up, Suzanne! We have to learn these things somehow. LT will settle back down.

Figaro is all the way up there today too after a lime last night, so at least he and LT can keep each other company :)
 
I'm glad LT came back up for you last night. I hope he clears the bounce soon.

By the way, shooting though the bounce is shooting the higher dose one more time and then taking the reduction at the next shot time.
 
We shot through the bounce and gave his reduced dose of 0.5.

Shooting through the bounce is when you give one more dose at the higher rate to help with those high bouncy numbers.....so to "shoot through the bounce" you would have given him one more dose at the .75 and then took the reduction on the PM cycle today.

Another thing to remember, right?? ;)

We've often said this is a lot like trying to learn a college level course in endocrinology in 2 days or less! There's so much to remember!!
 
Awesome job keeping LT safe again Suzanne! Like everyone around here says: better to high for a week than too low for a second! LT will be back on track before you know it :)
 
Back
Top