8/25 Jean Luc Pmps 495,424 +2.5-309

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
We definitely have bounce today. No ketones. Do you all still think 1.5U is appropriate for tonight? What about the NADIRs not dropping low on the 1.5U? I am confused. Increase / decrease?
 
Re: 8/25 Jean Luc AMPS 388 +4-449

Remember to link your condo (thread) from the previous day to your current condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77795

I mentioned this last night:
Sienne & Gabby said:
One suggestion. If Jean Luc does bounce into high (over 300) numbers tomorrow, you can "shoot through the bounce." In other words, shoot the 1.75u and then take the reduction at the PM shot. By holding off on the reduction, you can help the bounce to clear.

If you refer back to the protocol,
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
So, you will want to reduce Jean Luc's dose. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle (the nadir), not on the pre-shot value. Jean Luc dropped below 50 yesterday so he gets the reduction. However, he bounced. You took the option of shooting through the bounce. I would reduce his dose this evening.
 
Re: 8/25 Jean Luc AMPS 388 +4-449

Thank you. Not trying to ask redundant questions. I am just having a hard time getting the full dosing concept and rules. ProZinc was different. Jean Luc is wanting a lot of love this morning. Even jumped into my recliner with me.

Thanks again!
 
Re: 8/25 Jean Luc AMPS 388 +4-449 +6-446

It is a red flat day. Crossing paws for BG decreases to start soon.
 
Re: 8/25 Jean Luc AMPS 388 +4-449 +6-446

No need to apologize for asking questions. There is a lot to remember with lantus.
 
Re: 8/25 Jean Luc Pmps 495,424

Still high and flat.. Gave 1.5u. He has eaten dinner and gone back to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top