8/25 HeathyAMPS203 PMPS100,+4-36,+10.5-133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heathy and Mommy

Member Since 2011
Well, I fell asleep last night and slept through the +6 test. But did test at PMPS +10 252, +11 178, AMPS 203.
I've had trouble with testing AMPS+1

Didn't feed too much after amps shot. One hour later, he was ravenous and would not let me test. Last time he ate was at 1645 last night after the pmps.
So I fed him at +1.5 and now he's sleeping. I'll test at +3 because he ate.
Hopefully he will not fall. OMG

I guess he should eat w/the AMPS/PMPS Shot. But then the numbers are skewed for the +1 +2 reading.
How long does it take for a cat to digest so that the test is not affected?


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50714#p545703
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; Problem testing! 2 hungry!

Take a few breaths - you're doing fine, and you've got lots of people here to help you! The most important time to not feed before a test is those pre-shots. As Sienne said last night, feeding 2 hours or less before a pre-shot test will skew the results and you'll be shooting a food-influenced number, which can cause problems.

Personally, after Trixie's pre-shot test, feeding, and shot, I feed here when she asks (limited, measured quantities, of course) from shot time till +3-ish. I generally test her at least at +2 and +4, regardless of when she ate during that time frame.

It's more a matter of the insulin kicking in, rather than the food digesting - no matter what, a cat's gotta eat :lol: ! Generally, you'll start to see numbers go down about 2 hours after the shot (when the insulin really starts working), but this is one of those areas where every cat is different (ECID), and sometimes every shot is different. It's great that you're workng in those +1 tests, because you're learning how quickly Heathy responds to his shot. Again in general, the numbers will dip to the lowest at about +6, then start rising after that. This is when the insulin starts to wear off, so it's best to avoid feeding after +6 if possible, and definitely don't feed after +10. Again, though, ECID...for Trixie, I have found that she general nadirs (hits her lowest numbers) between +2 and +4 rather than +6, and she'll often just stay there till close to +10.

I know there is a lot of stuff to absorb...hopefully this makes sense. Just keep asking questions - you're doing great!!

Amy
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; Problem testing! 2 hungry!

Please feed your cat at the time you shoot. While Lantus onset is typically an hour or two after eating, that is not always the case. It is best if you have food on board whenever you give insulin.

Most of us feed several small meals during the earlier half of the cycle. I really wouldn't worry about food influencing the numbers overly much. Remember, you're feeding low carb. Unless your cat is exquisitely carb sensitive, it will not overly influence Heathy's numbers and if so, the effects are short lived.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; +3.5 121

Welllll, I finally got it. +3.5 121. Hoping it doesn't dip too far.

I also understand hopefully, that I can feed him 2 hours prior to the amps/pmps test. And let him munch bits during the +1. +2, +3, +4 phase.
OMG! I almost starved him and his sister LunaToones today. I fed him a small portion after his AMPS.

Heathy and my husband wake up at 4am everyday. eats, etc. That's exactly 3.5 hours before his AMPS. So it will work out better because he can eat before his AMPS test. I won't have to change that part of his regular schedule. Whew..I just hope I got it right! Thanks All..you're Terrific!
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; +3.5 121

Hi guys .. nice numbers for heathy today, that low blue looks terrific! I know it can be overwhelming trying to figure out feeding times etc., but you have everyone here more then willing to help you figure out the best times to feed .. so take a deep breath and relax .. you are doing great!
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; +3.5 121; +6, 54 !!

Ok Ok I'm Breathing but starting to Hyperventilate . Does this merit re-testing every 20 minutes? OMG I had a feeling he was going to go fall! Help!!
15 minutes later he's up to 63. I panicked and gave him 3 core nuggetts.
I
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; +6, 54 , +6.25 63

You are doing fine.........feed a little bit of low carb food for the 63...test in 30 minutes....you want to see if he will surf in these green numbers (good thing!) Keep breathing...no hyperventilating. I know it is scary to see lower numbers, but these are not panic mode numbers, OK? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203; +3.25 121 +6 53 +8 67

Yes, thanks. After cleaning out all 3 kitty litter boxes...I realized it was not an emergency. Waited an hour before retesting because he ate. But now I see that I need to keep testing to if he's surfing a while in those #'s Got It!
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 LOW #'s REDUCE DOSE? HELP!! !!!

Since his nadir was 54...and low #'s all day....should dose be reduced?? Delay dose??
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 LOW #'s REDUCE DOSE? HELP!! !!!

We usually don't give a reduction unless they go under 50. So no , Heathy didn't earn a reduction today, but he is definitely thinking about it! :-D :-D :-D :lol:
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203

Whew, that's a relief because I gave him the same dose. I am so nervous about him going under 40 tonight. Will be a long night. ~O)
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102,+2=59 Trying to br

Well, here we go again. I'll test in 30 min. This is so scary! But I'm breathing.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102,+2-59 Trying to br

Just so you know, because Heathy is a returning from remission and because he's a long term diabetic, in order to earn a dose reduction, his numbers need to fall below 40.

Given the drop at +2, I like your plan of testing every 30 min.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102,+2.5 -79

Oh...I wasn't considering him as a long term diabetic...but of course, he is. He has been eating. I hope these reading aren't too far off. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102,+2-59 Trying to br

I don't know if this will help you out or not about the feeding schedule, but I've got a big (18.5 pound) cat, too, who wants nothing more than to eat whenever he's awake. I'm trying to reduce the amount of food he gets so he'll lose some weight (slowly) and have found this schedule has worked for us. I feed him like this:

AMPS - 0.8 oz food set down, while he's eating I test and shoot.
+1 - 0.5 oz food set down (sometimes I test; this number should be a little higher than AMPS because of food spike).
+2 - 0.5 oz food set down (test; if this number is lower than AMPS, you may have an active cycle which means he may continue to drop. If this number is about the same or higher than the AMPS, you likely will have a flat or rising day).
+3 - 0.5 oz food set down (I'll test here if the +2 was a big drop from AMPS).
+10 - 0.5 oz chicken breast (raw, cut into little chunks, microwaved for 10 seconds).

Repeat exactly the same for PM cycle.

Just test as necessary throughout the day and evening, more testing with lower numbers, less with higher numbers. Sometimes, I'll feed at +2, +3, and +4 if Champ is asleep at +1, but I always make sure to feed at least by +2.

If you need to feed to bring numbers up at any time, feed a little bit at a time, using medium carb (8-15%) food first to see if this brings him up. If you use high carb food, or too much medium carb food, you can cause his numbers to go through the roof. You'll have to experiment with different percentages of carbs to see what works for Heathy. You really want to try to get them to surf the 60's and 70's (or anything below 100) if at all possible. Make notations on Heathy's spreadsheet in the remarks section whenever you use food to bring up numbers. Note the percentage of carbs you used, how much you gave, and when you gave it (for example, 1 tbsp MC 13% @ +4). This way you can keep track of how the different kinds of foods influence his numbers so you'll have something to reference back to when you need to raise his numbers again. It's all a science experiment!!

Hope this helps in some way!!
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +2-59 +2.5 -79,+3

Thanks , This really helps. Especially since you have a big cat also. I'm going to try your schedule.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +2-59 +2.5 -79,+3

+8- 36, gave karo and gravy food.

Test in 15. Maybe I gave too much karo and fpood. I just paniced and he kept eating. Omg!
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +8- 36

It's OK 36 is a pretty low number that you want to go up--All you need is 2-3 drops of karo and gravy..It should bring him up--Not to worry. you are in control-right? you have your meter,strips,hcfood & karo, so you ca do this...Guess when you are OTJ you forget a little, No worries, we are here--just post next number-I will be on for a few--BTW Welcome to lantus land!
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +8- 36

Um...... This is why we suggest frequent testing when a cat is running in low numbers. It's best to test frequently until you know how your cat is responding. HC food wears off and numbers drop.

Also, this looks like your +4, not your +8. Please post when you get your next test. If numbers are still low, feed a small amount.You don't want Heathy to fill up. Steering low numbers can go on for hours.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +8- 36

I'm looking at the SS, and it *looks* like
PMPS 100
+1 59
+2 73
+3 67
+4 36
and then in red in a separate box:
+6 54
+6.25 54
+6.5 67
kinda confusing... confused_cat

Can you clarify when you get a chance?
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +8- 36

Ok!!!!!!!!.. 15 min +4.25-60. Unfortunately he and LunaToones are hunting for that Friskies can Beef gravy. Test again in 15 min
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +1-102, +8- 36

OK, so the red text box was for the little daytime dip?

Now you're at 60. Much better. They do love that gravy, huh?
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +4-36, +4.25-60, +4.50-10

Amazing Gravy! Now the +4.50 109. What a jump! I am still concerned because he has been dipping at +5 & +6.

So, if that happens, we do this all over again? until #'s are stable.
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPS 203 PMPS 100, +4-36, +4.25-60, +4.50-10

Generally we look for 3 rising/steady numbers 30 min apart, as I recall.
Seems like Heathey responds VERY well to gravy.
Hopefully he won't bounce to the stratosphere tomorrow.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 8/25 Heathy AMPs203 PMPS 100, +4-36,+5.20-88,+6-67,+6:40

I haven't been on your condo yet.....but welcome. Heathy has been keeping you busy!!! Just checking in to make sure all is ok.

BTW....we don't use the stars on our condos....that's usually for info that Jill, Libby, or Sienne is going to give us. We use the green smiley dude for numbers under 100, the question mark for when you have questions, the heart for obvious reasons, the candles and rainbow are for kitties who have crossed the bridge, OTJ if cats no longer need insulin and have gone through their two week trial, and 911 if it's a no kiddin' emergency.

We're glad to have you with us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top