8/25 Biggie AMPS 310 +2 268 +4 172 +5 146 +6 126 +8 109 +9.25 118 +10.5 135 PMPS 156

Jackie and Biggie

Member Since 2022
I usually feed every 3 hours or so. He had a big LC meal (for him) at +3 and a small LC meal at +6. It doesn’t seem like food is raising his numbers a lot or maybe he would have been going even lower without those meals.

I know this number is a good one but I’m confused about it going down still.

I would love some insight on what is going on today and what I should be doing right now with his numbers continuing to go down today.

Thank you.
 
His numbers are going back up now (he got a large LC meal at +8.25). We are brand new and have just been doing this a week now and have been reading a lot about bounces and how when cats haven’t been diabetic very long their pancreas may start working again more quickly. I would love some words of wisdom about his numbers and any things I should look for and do or not do.

Up until today I was using syringes with whole units and eyeballing my .5U because I couldn’t find syringes with 1/2 units anywhere in town. I got syringes with 1/2 units from an online order in the mail today and digital calipers so dosing will be more accurate going forward, hopefully. It has been taking me a long time and lots of second guessing to decipher what I think is .5U but most of the time i think he may be even getting less (but I really don’t know b/c it’s such a small measurement). I wonder if going down to .25 would be warranted?
 
Last edited:
@Jackie and Biggie
Hi Jackie I will tag a few members for you
Can you go back to your title and put 8-24 in front of Biggie
I'll tell you how to do this
Look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Thread and add the Date first then save

We do a new post everyday on the lantus board
Date Biggie AMPS and the rest of your tests
You will need to link this thread to tomorrow's in case members need to go back and read it rather than searching for it
I'll explain how to do it , give me a minute

The best that I can explain how to do it is to look up top where that picture is of that cat on the left hand side , above it will be this post in that long line where it says https://feline diabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-25-Biggie
You copy it and then paste it on your new post tomorrow where you would begin to write something
 
@Jackie and Biggie
Hi Jackie I will tag a few members for you
Can you go back to your title and put 8-24 in front of Biggie
I'll tell you how to do this
Look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Thread and add the Date first then save

We do a new post everyday on the lantus board
Date Biggie AMPS and the rest of your tests
You will need to link this thread to tomorrow's in case members need to go back and read it rather than searching for it
I'll explain how to do it , give me a minute

The best that I can explain how to do it is to look up top where that picture is of that cat on the left hand side , above it will be this post in that long line where it says https://feline diabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-25-Biggie
You copy it and then paste it on your new post tomorrow where you would begin to write something
@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Can you read her post #1 also
Thank you
 
Here’s your last post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...k-to-change-pm-shot-time.267533/#post-2992887

Have you had a chance to read the sticky on our dosing methods? It will soon be necessary for you to pick one. He has not earned a reduction with either one. With SLGS you reduce if under 90 and with TR under 50. Post the pmps and we can figure out dosing then. A lot can happen in the last 2 1/2 hours of the cycle.
 
@tiffmaxee
Hi Elise I see she has SLGS in her signature and on her SS :cat:
I see today her nadirs were between 90 and 149 but all the ones before were higher
Would she maintain the same dose for now going by the naidirs that she got today ?
I'm going by what it days below about SLGS
I'm just trying to learn what she would do :cat:
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Here’s your last post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...k-to-change-pm-shot-time.267533/#post-2992887

Have you had a chance to read the sticky on our dosing methods? It will soon be necessary for you to pick one. He has not earned a reduction with either one. With SLGS you reduce if under 90 and with TR under 50. Post the pmps and we can figure out dosing then. A lot can happen in the last 2 1/2 hours of the cycle.
Thank you for adding my last post. Ok, I’ll post his PMPS at 9.
 
SLGS
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Last edited:
I see your spreadsheet has lots of tests. Biggie had a really nice cycle today. It’s too bad you skipped. I think you need a dose that you can shoot twice a day so try .25 tomorrow. If you were following TR then I would have told you to shoot as he’s slowly come up.
 
I see your spreadsheet has lots of tests. Biggie had a really nice cycle today. It’s too bad you skipped. I think you need a dose that you can shoot twice a day so try .25 tomorrow. If you were following TR then I would have told you to shoot as he’s slowly come up.

Did you feed him? If not wait and test again in 30 minutes. Maybe then you will feel comfortable shooting.

I didn’t feed him yet so I tested and he’s at 167. I was also wondering since he’s so close to 90 on his nadirs and sine he’s been steadily trending down when not on a bounce it would be good to try .25
Can I start him on that tomorrow? If I started it tonight I don’t know how many tests I can do because I’ve got a bad migraine, do you think .25 would be ok if I can’t test much tonight?
 
I didn’t feed him yet so I tested and he’s at 167. I was also wondering since he’s so close to 90 on his nadirs and sine he’s been steadily trending down when not on a bounce it would be good to try .25
Can I start him on that tomorrow? If I started it tonight I don’t know how many tests I can do because I’ve got a bad migraine, do you think .25 would be ok if I can’t test much tonight?
@tiffmaxee

Looks like that would be fine , I see Elise mentioned that above
She said
I think you need a dose that you can shoot twice a day so try .25 tomorrow. If you were following TR then I would have told you to shoot as he’s slowly come up.

Can't answer you about shooting 0.25 tonight I'm sorry
Hopefully Elise @tiffmaxee will see the tag soon

I hope you can go to bed and get rid of that migraine :bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee

Looks like that would be fine , I see Elise mentioned that above
She said
I think you need a dose that you can shoot twice a day so try .25 tomorrow. If you were following TR then I would have told you to shoot as he’s slowly come up.

Can't answer you about shooting 0.25 tonight I'm sorry
Hopefully Elise @tiffmaxee will see the tag soon

I hope you can go to bed and get rid of that migraine :bighug::cat:

Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom - I’ve been really sleep-deprived, which caused the migraine…so I think I’ll plan on that then, just starting tomorrow with .25. Thank you and thank you @tiffmaxee
 
Back
Top