8/25/19 Blaze AMPS 405, + 2 380, +3 367, +4.75 363, +7 339, PMPS 346, +2 251, +3 233, +3.75 259

Status
Not open for further replies.
The idea behind feeding is to give the insulin a little extra food (glucose) to work on so that it stops the insulin from dropping BG too much too fast which often will extend the duration of the insulin activity. It appears though that Blaze has been using up the insulin pretty quickly and not getting much duration. This is a common problem with Novolin.

That drop is a good decent drop and obviously not abrupt or large and a decent start. I expected it might be a little more than that. The big question is where will he be at when the Novolin hits peak action usually sometime between +3 and +5 in the cycle. Can you check Blaze again at +3? Let's see what he's got up his sleeve.
 
Ok that's a lot slower/less drop than I anticipated. Let's get a +5 test and see if that is up or down. It may be he needs more insulin but he almost seems to do less with more which I am finding odd.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom I know, I'm really confused by all this. There doesn't seem to be any consistency, I was hoping to see some consistent numbers this weekend before I got back to work tomorrow and have less chances to get tests in during the day. Seems like yesterday were his best numbers on 0.5U. Ugh:(

Will test at +5 to see where we are.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom I have to leave the house for a bit so won't get exact +5 test. I just tested at +4.75? It's 11:45 am here, not sure if that's how I say what time I tested? But he's at 363. I'm hoping to be home in an hour to get another test but wanted to get one in before I left, since it's almost +5.
 
That's fine. The tests don't have to be on the dot of the hour...just in the general vicinity and you test when you can...you need and have a life other than Blaze's diabetes!
 
consistency? rarely happens with cats ... :cat::p .. particularly with the in-and-out shorter acting insulins like Novolin ... add in the ECID factor :rolleyes:

we do the best we can, but the cats' internal systems will override most anything we do
I know! I don’t know what the heck I’m expecting to see. I guess it’s just good to see him not too high and not too low. Hopefully we see better numbers once the Lantus is started!
 
Interesting. Loving the surf but wish it they were all lower numbers. While that latest test seems a bit lower, it's still in about the same range and could just be meter variance. HMMMM!?!

Take a break....no more testing needed till pre-shot.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Ya I'm wishing we had lower numbers too. Maybe I fed him too much today and that's causing him to stay in the same range instead of dropping a bit? I'm still unsure of how much and how often I should be feeding him. I don't want him to starve.
Should I give him 1U tonight? I could probably only get a +2 and maybe +4 test after dinner tonight, I have to be up early for work tomorrow.
 
No I think I'd stick with the 0.75u and at least give it a chance. Changing up the dose too muddies the picture so best to hold a dose for a few cycles to see what it does unless there are extenutating circumstances that require a smaller dose be given.....hooman not available, low pre-shot etc.

On the food front, most of us divide daily allowance into four or six servings with the pre-shot meal being a bit larger and the in between snacks a smaller. How much food are you currently feeding Blaze? What does he weigh? Is that his ideal weight or does he need to lose or gain weight?

We can figure out roughly what he should need food wise however an unregulated cat isn't able to process their food well so they generally need more until regulated and you simply dose according to the BG testing.
 
No I think I'd stick with the 0.75u and at least give it a chance. Changing up the dose too muddies the picture so best to hold a dose for a few cycles to see what it does unless there are extenutating circumstances that require a smaller dose be given.....hooman not available, low pre-shot etc.

On the food front, most of us divide daily allowance into four or six servings with the pre-shot meal being a bit larger and the in between snacks a smaller. How much food are you currently feeding Blaze? What does he weigh? Is that his ideal weight or does he need to lose or gain weight?

We can figure out roughly what he should need food wise however an unregulated cat isn't able to process their food well so they generally need more until regulated and you simply dose according to the BG testing.

@MrWorfMen's Mom
Okay sounds good, I will stick with 0.75U unless pre shot is low. Thank you Linda! So lucky to have you in mine and Blaze’s corner! :joyful:


Blaze weighs 12-12.5 pounds, he had lost some weight before his diabetes diagnosis but seems to be gaining a little bit back, he still feels a little boney in his back and pelvis area though. The vet has never told me he needed to lose weight, he’s kind of an all around big cat, not fat, he does have a floppy belly though.

Right now, I feed him 1 can of Fancy Feast classic paté for breakfast and 1 can for dinner, pre-shot. Sometimes he eats it all, sometimes he wants to eat his brother and sisters, and sometimes he doesn’t finish his.
The last two days, I have been doing a small snack of FF at +1.5 but last week when I left for work in the morning, I would leave a 5.5 ounce can of Friskies paté with some water mixed in and I assume all three cats munched on that during the day.
I give him some tuna flakes for BG test treats.
Today he is acting like he’s hungry, sitting by the food bowls in the kitchen a lot.
 
Last edited:
ECID -- Catcat's been slightly underweight, so I've been feeding two 5.5 oz cans of LC and one can of FF every day, works out to about 400-500 calories a day, as a 14-15 pound optimal weight outdoor cat he needs around 300-350 a day, he has gradually gained up to his correct weight so I'm going to be cutting down either quantity or calories to keep him where he is

so many older male cats develop that saggy belly -- feels like only skin and fur, not fat
 
ECID -- Catcat's been slightly underweight, so I've been feeding two 5.5 oz cans of LC and one can of FF every day, works out to about 400-500 calories a day, as a 14-15 pound optimal weight outdoor cat he needs around 300-350 a day, he has gradually gained up to his correct weight so I'm going to be cutting down either quantity or calories to keep him where he is

so many older male cats develop that saggy belly -- feels like only skin and fur, not fat

@CandyH and Catcat I'm sure Blaze is extra hungry right now because he isn't regulated yet and has been bouncing, he's just more hungry today than he has been. He goes into the kitchen when we are in there and stands by his food bowl and meows today.

Just now I split a 5.5 ounce can of Friskies pate between the three kitties and then split one FF can between the three of them and mixed them together for dinner. Blaze finished his but the other kitties didn't.

I think I will do 1 can FF for breakfast and 1 can FF for dinner and put some smaller meals of Friskies made into food-sickles in the timed feeder for while I'm gone during the day at work.

and yes, Blaze has the saggy belly that feels like skin, not fat. I love to pet it but he isn't a fan of belly rubs :joyful:
 
That floppy belly skin is known as a primordial pouch. It's protection for the abdomen in a fight situation and also has lots of give when cats run so they can take long strides. Think Cheetah.....fastest land animal. It's quite normal and doesn't indicate kitty needs to lose weight. Personally I think they are hysterical! A trivial factoid! :woot:

Now food wise for Blaze.....

If you consider his 12 to 12.5 lbs to be about ideal, then he needs roughly 240 calories per day. This would be adjusted up or down depending on activity level and whether he needs to lose or gain weight. The formula for calories is 13.6 X ideal weight in Lbs. + 70.

FF pates run roughly 90 to 100 calories per can so ideally Blaze would eat about 2.5 cans per day. Seems you are likely just about right on the mark. That said, if he is hungry, I wouldn't hesitate to let him have 3 cans per day while you are working on getting him regulated.

His BG has come down a wee bit which is good so let's see what he can do tonight. :)
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom I love their floppy bellys!

And okay, sounds good, thank you for the feeding help. Looks like I have been feeding him a good amount! He just seems a little more hungry today than normal so I gave him a little more. Might do 3 cans a day for right now until he's better regulated like you said.

I will test BG again at +2 and maybe +3 or +4, what do you think is best?
 
I'd start with +2 and then we'll decide from there on further testing. I'll check in around your +2 but then I am heading off to bed unless Blaze decides to do something dramatic which I doubt he will. Been up late very the last 2 nights and these old bones are feeling it. LOL! ;)
 
I'd start with +2 and then we'll decide from there on further testing. I'll check in around your +2 but then I am heading off to bed unless Blaze decides to do something dramatic which I doubt he will. Been up late very the last 2 nights and these old bones are feeling it. LOL! ;)
Okay, talk to you around +2! Thanks Linda! I totally understand, I normally like to go to bed by 8 but with Blaze’s diagnosis, I find myself staying up later! :eek:You deserve lots of rest, you help so many people, you truly are one of a kind!
 
It's a tiny bit lower but not much. Almost 100 points both nights which is a significant drop for that timeframe but not unusual. How about another little snack now and test again at +3. If he is down more, another small snack and grab a final test before you go to bed for the night. Leave out some food for him. If he should drop to anything in the low 100s, then offer him a few kibble bits and retest about 30 minutes later to prop him up. You don't want him dropping below about 100. Should he decide to be dramatic (I don't expect he will) then post for assistance on Health with a HELP in the title.

I'll probably still be up by +3 so please post. Not as tired as I thought I'd be. :p
 
It's a tiny bit lower but not much. Almost 100 points both nights which is a significant drop for that timeframe but not unusual. How about another little snack now and test again at +3. If he is down more, another small snack and grab a final test before you go to bed for the night. Leave out some food for him. If he should drop to anything in the low 100s, then offer him a few kibble bits and retest about 30 minutes later to prop him up. You don't want him dropping below about 100. Should he decide to be dramatic (I don't expect he will) then post for assistance on Health with a HELP in the title.

I'll probably still be up by +3 so please post. Not as tired as I thought I'd be. :p
Okay gave him a little snack that he’s eating right now, will test again in 30 more minutes at +3. Thanks Linda, talk soon!
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Not sure if you're still on here but Blaze is down again at +3 233.

Gave him another little snack of FF. Will test again in 30 minutes. I hope he doesn’t drop more, I’m so tired tonight.
 
Last edited:
Yup. Give him another little snack. That's a really small change now. He's actually surfing nicely but it would be nice if his numbers would come down a bit more. If you are going to be up for a bit yet, test him again before bed. Doesn't look like he's going to do anything exciting tonight. If you happen to br on of us who gets up in the middle of the night to use the ladies, it would be nice to know what he does later in the night cycle periodically.

I'm heading off to bed and will be checking in to see how things went tomorrow. Sweet dreams. :)
 
Yup. Give him another little snack. That's a really small change now. He's actually surfing nicely but it would be nice if his numbers would come down a bit more. If you are going to be up for a bit yet, test him again before bed. Doesn't look like he's going to do anything exciting tonight. If you happen to br on of us who gets up in the middle of the night to use the ladies, it would be nice to know what he does later in the night cycle periodically.

I'm heading off to bed and will be checking in to see how things went tomorrow. Sweet dreams. :)

Okay thank you Linda! Sweet dreams, get some rest. Talk to you tomorrow :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top