8/24 Tiggy PMPS 274 +3 229

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/24 Tiggy AMPS 324

Hi Wendy,
Is there a way you could get a +3 and +4?
I bet you have a lower number in there.

It seems you are dosing on the pre-shot numbers.
And those don't give you a good feel for what's happening the rest of the time.
Dosing is based on the nadir and without having bg numbers in the other times of the day, you aren't getting
the whole picture.
 
Re: 8/24 Tiggy AMPS 324

Hi Wendy, Jane here :smile:

Rhiannon asked me to look in. How are you doing? How much are you able to monitor this cycle?

It looks like you've had a bit of a tricky time finding a dose you can shoot consistently, from your SS. Are you able to get more spot checks this cycle, so we can try to help you find a good way forward?

Jane
 
Re: 8/24 Tiggy AMPS 324 +6 293

I wish I had seen this earlier as I missed his +3 and +4. I did a +6 though. (293). I thought I was dosing based on nadir, most of them since we went to 4.25 were over 200 except once where it was 194 which still means an increase right? I can check PMPS+3 tonite if you like?
 
Re: 8/24 Tiggy AMPS 324

Just for your information: I would take note of this link on Counting Cycles.

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.

Theoretically, this 5th cycle on your current dose could have just been "the high before the break" (sometimes cats will go higher for a short while before going down in a cycle). He could have been in the green numbers at the AMPS time on 08/21, and is still bouncing from that, and bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, that's why we normally ask you to hold the same dose for 6 cycles.
 
Re: 8/24 Tiggy AMPS 324

ah ok didnt realize that. was thinking I was going to get told I held the dose too long. Oh well. I am learning! So what do I do now? Hold the 4.5 or go back to 4.25??
 
Re: 8/24 Tiggy AMPS 324

Also I have a question - it says you base the dose on the nadir.. is that the average over the three days? or the most recent? just wondered what you do if the nadir is low somedays and high others?
 
Re: 8/24 Tiggy PMPS 274

Good info from Dyana!

Dose is based on nadir. However, the nadir is not necessarily at +6. And even if Tiggy's nadir is typically at +6, there may be cycles when it moves around. My point here is that if you primarily test at +6, you don't know if that's the nadir. Random spot checks can go a long way to fill in the blank spots on your SS. And speaking of blank spots, please get a before bed test or at least one test during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. I'm a big fan of getting a +2 or a +3 test. It can give you a feel for how the rest of the cycle is likely to go.

I'm not sure exactly how to respond to your question. Dose is raised by 0.25 if nadirs are mostly below 300. You can raise the dose by 0.5u if nadirs are mostly over 300. For lack of an exact science, think of it as "majority rules."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top