8/24, Tango, AMPS 134, +6 142

Lori C & Tango

Member Since 2022
@Christie & Maverick @Diane Tyler's Mom @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

From 8/21
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-21-tango-pmps-131-127-78-10-102.267412/

I know I need to get more testing in after his PM shot. Last night got PMPS 468, +3 480 and +10 117. Will test again this morning in 1 1/2 hours than shoot 2.5 unless drops too much.

His numbers are better but still dips and climbs. He's only had one 500 and that was for his PMPS on the 20th. He's had 11 doses at 2.5.

I hadn't updated the vet (specialist) in awhile so I emailed her yesterday. Plus I need more insulin.

She thought his numbers were 'pretty darn good' and to leave the dose at 2.5. I also mentioned his water consumption and peeing as he still drinks more than pre-diagnoses but not as much these last couple of weeks. Peeing is about 4 times a day and pooping every other day. She also said, 'if the water consumption is being driven by his diabetes that would usually only occur when his blood sugar is greater than about 200 - he looks like he spends very little time there and honestly, we cannot regulate most animals so well that that entirely goes away. I suspect this is the new normal for him.'

Today starts 6th day on TR - how do you think Tango's doing? Are we looking for his numbers to be more consistent at the lower #s before lowering dose? Are his ups and downs still considered bouncing?

As always, appreciate your guidance!
 
I could not disagree with your vet more. He’s a newly diagnosed diabetic and seeing green nadirs. You can get him a lot tighter regulated of that I am sure. He’s bouncy because he’s not used to the normal bg numbers yet. Don’t worry about that. I’d hold the dose a couple more cycles and then evaluate as to whether to increase.
 
'if the water consumption is being driven by his diabetes that would usually only occur when his blood sugar is greater than about 200 - he looks like he spends very little time there and honestly, we cannot regulate most animals so well that that entirely goes away. I suspect this is the new normal for him.'

My boy is no where near regulated yet but my husband and I can tell now how his numbers are by his litter box, if we keep him in the blues and even better greens we find 1 pee at night and 1 during the day. If he creeps up into the pinks we will find 3 morning and 3 at night. Once they level out and start spending more time in lower you can definitely see a difference in symptoms, also behavior
 
I could not disagree with your vet more. He’s a newly diagnosed diabetic and seeing green nadirs. You can get him a lot tighter regulated of that I am sure. He’s bouncy because he’s not used to the normal bg numbers yet. Don’t worry about that. I’d hold the dose a couple more cycles and then evaluate as to whether to increase.

I agree. I do like the vet, although after reading her reply I felt that she was saying your cat is maintaining good numbers and regulation doesn't always happen, but Tango's diabetes is manageable. My interpretation.
 
My boy is no where near regulated yet but my husband and I can tell now how his numbers are by his litter box, if we keep him in the blues and even better greens we find 1 pee at night and 1 during the day. If he creeps up into the pinks we will find 3 morning and 3 at night. Once they level out and start spending more time in lower you can definitely see a difference in symptoms, also behavior

Umm... We'll have to keep a better eye on his liter box. Thanks for sharing.
 
Back
Top