Tara and Scully
Member Since 2014
Previous condo (8/18/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123763
Friday night Scully's PMPS was a cool blue 170. DH and I went out to a movie, and what a surprise when we returned to a reading of 38 at +4.5! Scully was fine, no signs of hypo, and she responded well to 1 tsp of FF Gravy Lovers chicken. The next morning we reduced her dose from 1 U to .75 U. No green so far, but she's a bouncy girl, so we'll see.
We've had a rough week with Scully's brother, Mulder (a civvie.) In 2012 he was diagnosed with pancreatitis and x-rays taken at that time showed he was born with one kidney smaller than the other. Beginning this past Monday, Mulder stopped eating. FYI: the cats free-feed canned food, which we leave out all the time, so when we're not home, we can't be sure who's eating what and how much, but offers of breakfast and dinner were declined and during the time we were home and able to monitor, he wouldn't eat. I have a few tablets of cyproheptadine (from April when he went a few days without eating) and gave him 1/2 a tab Tuesday night. He ate a little that night, but threw up Wednesday morning. Wednesday night I attempted to give him another 1/2 tab, but I only succeeded in making him throw up again. Friday morning we took him to the vet who did a complete blood panel and gave him a vitamin B-12 shot to help his appetite. Saturday they called to say everything is normal except for his creatinine level, which is 2.8. As many of you know, normal range is .7 - 1.8, so he is at the latter stage of Stage 2 chronic kidney disease (CKD.) Damn.
DH stopped by the vet and picked up the prescription food they recommended and said he probably wouldn't eat. He licked the canned food for about 5 - 10 seconds, and ate about 4 bits of the dry kibble (I am desperate to get ANYTHING into him.) The shot may have started to kick in yesterday because he ate some of the normal FF food twice. The vet recommended I continue to give the cypro tabs, 1/2 tab BID. Again last night it made him throw up. After that he didn't eat anymore food, but did eat about 5 crunchy treats.
Today has been better. Although I have not given him the cypro, he has eaten 3 times so far today. By the way, Mulder is a grazer, not a hoover. When he eats, he normally eats about 1/4 - 1/3 of a FF can at a time, which I know is not alot. I haven't decided if I'm going to give him the cypro. If I do, I was thinking of dissolving the 1/2 tab in some water and/or gravy to give it to him by syringe. Then maybe he'll keep it down. But if he continues to eat, maybe I should just leave well enough alone. One thing that has worked twice the last two days in getting him to eat -- letting him outside first. We play a bit outside for 20 minutes, then he comes in and not long after, makes his way to some food.
One additional thing... at his annual check-up last November, Mulder tipped the scales at 20 lbs. My vet said a little extra weight on an older cat was not something he was concerned about because they tend to lose weight and get too skinny, but Mulder was not to gain anymore weight. At the time, we were still free feeding both Mulder and Scully all dry food. We started cutting back portions, and when we took Mulder in April (for not eating), he weighed 17.6 lbs. At the time, we patted ourselves on the back. After Scully's FD diagnosis in March, we transitioned both cats to an all canned food diet, and have continued to see Mulder drop weight. Friday he weighed 14.2 lbs. My vet says he's not concerned about the weight loss yet, but I am.
My priority right now is getting him to eat regularly again. Then we'll transition him to a low-phosphorous, low carb food that Scully can eat, too. I picked up a can of Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets (thanks, Julie, for the recommendation a while back) and he has eaten some of that today in addition to his normal Fancy Feast.
Hopefully, we'll have a better week than this last one has been. Hope everyone is having a good Sunday! Hugs and healing vines to our sugar kitties and their beans who need them! And lots of appy vines!! LET'S EAT!!
Tara & Scully
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123763
Friday night Scully's PMPS was a cool blue 170. DH and I went out to a movie, and what a surprise when we returned to a reading of 38 at +4.5! Scully was fine, no signs of hypo, and she responded well to 1 tsp of FF Gravy Lovers chicken. The next morning we reduced her dose from 1 U to .75 U. No green so far, but she's a bouncy girl, so we'll see.
We've had a rough week with Scully's brother, Mulder (a civvie.) In 2012 he was diagnosed with pancreatitis and x-rays taken at that time showed he was born with one kidney smaller than the other. Beginning this past Monday, Mulder stopped eating. FYI: the cats free-feed canned food, which we leave out all the time, so when we're not home, we can't be sure who's eating what and how much, but offers of breakfast and dinner were declined and during the time we were home and able to monitor, he wouldn't eat. I have a few tablets of cyproheptadine (from April when he went a few days without eating) and gave him 1/2 a tab Tuesday night. He ate a little that night, but threw up Wednesday morning. Wednesday night I attempted to give him another 1/2 tab, but I only succeeded in making him throw up again. Friday morning we took him to the vet who did a complete blood panel and gave him a vitamin B-12 shot to help his appetite. Saturday they called to say everything is normal except for his creatinine level, which is 2.8. As many of you know, normal range is .7 - 1.8, so he is at the latter stage of Stage 2 chronic kidney disease (CKD.) Damn.
DH stopped by the vet and picked up the prescription food they recommended and said he probably wouldn't eat. He licked the canned food for about 5 - 10 seconds, and ate about 4 bits of the dry kibble (I am desperate to get ANYTHING into him.) The shot may have started to kick in yesterday because he ate some of the normal FF food twice. The vet recommended I continue to give the cypro tabs, 1/2 tab BID. Again last night it made him throw up. After that he didn't eat anymore food, but did eat about 5 crunchy treats.
Today has been better. Although I have not given him the cypro, he has eaten 3 times so far today. By the way, Mulder is a grazer, not a hoover. When he eats, he normally eats about 1/4 - 1/3 of a FF can at a time, which I know is not alot. I haven't decided if I'm going to give him the cypro. If I do, I was thinking of dissolving the 1/2 tab in some water and/or gravy to give it to him by syringe. Then maybe he'll keep it down. But if he continues to eat, maybe I should just leave well enough alone. One thing that has worked twice the last two days in getting him to eat -- letting him outside first. We play a bit outside for 20 minutes, then he comes in and not long after, makes his way to some food.
One additional thing... at his annual check-up last November, Mulder tipped the scales at 20 lbs. My vet said a little extra weight on an older cat was not something he was concerned about because they tend to lose weight and get too skinny, but Mulder was not to gain anymore weight. At the time, we were still free feeding both Mulder and Scully all dry food. We started cutting back portions, and when we took Mulder in April (for not eating), he weighed 17.6 lbs. At the time, we patted ourselves on the back. After Scully's FD diagnosis in March, we transitioned both cats to an all canned food diet, and have continued to see Mulder drop weight. Friday he weighed 14.2 lbs. My vet says he's not concerned about the weight loss yet, but I am.
My priority right now is getting him to eat regularly again. Then we'll transition him to a low-phosphorous, low carb food that Scully can eat, too. I picked up a can of Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets (thanks, Julie, for the recommendation a while back) and he has eaten some of that today in addition to his normal Fancy Feast.
Hopefully, we'll have a better week than this last one has been. Hope everyone is having a good Sunday! Hugs and healing vines to our sugar kitties and their beans who need them! And lots of appy vines!! LET'S EAT!!
Tara & Scully