8/24 River AMPS=358 +3=278 +5=254 +7=283 +9=292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
7:45 amps: 358 (19.9 mmol)
10:30 279 (15.5)
12:30 254 (14.1)
2:30 283 (15.7)
4:30 292 (16.2)

So great to see something in the yellow range.
I guessing he's coming off his bounce. dancing_cat
Today I'll do a 24 hour curve, so we can see how he's doing at night.
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=358 +3=278

It looks like River is coming down from the bounce. It may be time to increase the dose.

FWIW, I don't know that you need to do a 24 hour curve. Sometimes, spot checks will give you as much information as a curve. (I just hate to see someone losing a night's sleep from testing.)
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=358 +3=278

River, what a handsome guy you are! We are rather partial to black cats at our house. :-D :-D Welcome to LantusLand, the best place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: Here is the link to your last post in Health. We are all pretty crazy about cats around here. Let us know how we can help.
Liz
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=358 +3=278 +5=254

Thank you, mille fois merci, Sienne and Gabby, Anne & Zener!

A bit of backstory on River: he was diagnosed with diabetes, and in retrospect the vet I was seeing for about 10 years didn't know too much about treating it. He was insulin-resistant for months, was never tested for pancreatitis, and one day got ketones, was rushed to the hospital where he spent 5 days, and diagnosed with panc. and maybe IBD. Everything was inflamed. I believe I caused this by feeding him a diet he eventually became allergic to.
Now he has a different diet, and is healing. flip_cat

He's been high for so long I want to make sure he comes down gently, as I believe he had a hypo on Tuesday because he got too low too fast. I'm being a bit conservative with changing dosage because I want to factor in that he still appears to be in the healing process, and will improve naturally even more. I just get a strong gut feeling about that. Plus I'm kinda scared and don't know what's what, which is why I so appreciate your warm hellos and help!

I'm encouraged by what I see today. I hope he continues in this positive direction. Thank you for being here to hold hands and paws <3.

Your cats are really beautiful, and their stories. The male calico, the Norwegian Forest cat, the sugarcats, they're all quite gorgeous. Glad you like black cats, Anne. Me too. I have three, one of whom ran into my house one morning nearly three years ago.
 
The inhabitants of Lantus Land are very generous with their time and information. There's usually people people around almost 24/7 if you have a question or need help.

Although I said that you shouldn't test all night, it is helpful to get at minimum, a before bed test every night.
 
I'm now changing my schedule so that I will be able to get in a test before I leave for work in the morning, and at least one in the evening. I'm putting him 15 minutes earlier each day until I get to 6:30, from 8:00. Is this the correct way of doing it? I am trying to be careful to not overlap his shots too much.

About increasing insulin, how does it sound if I keep testing tomorrow, and based on whether he goes lower or not, get advice on whether I should increase the insulin by .25 units?

BTW, I just bought the wrong test strips, so let me know if you can use a box of 49 for Bayer Contour!
 
Bonsoir Lara. Here's the link to your first condo on LL. Each day we put a link to our previous condo, so people can easily go back and see what was said. To do that, go to your previous condo, copy the URL address, then use the URL button above, and past the address inside. You can get the fancy link by doing the same as you did for the link to your SS in your signature. BTW, I've heard it's called a condo because it's where we live from day to day.

On the question of moving shot times, you can do either 15 minutes per shot, or 1/2 once a day, whatever works best for you.

I noticed a question in your previous condo on freeze dried liver or heart. They should be fine. My Neko is on a raw diet and for snacks she gets lots of different freeze dried things (chicken/duck/turkey heart, duck/turkey liver, quail necks, duck gizzards, duck tongues). Most raw pet foods have some or all of these in them in regular form so they should be fine freeze dried.
 
Thank you for the info, Wendy and Neko.
And what a great variety of lovely snacks you have in BC!
I'm going to try making some homemade kangaroo jerky sometime soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top