8/24 Phoenix +11 BG 47

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I learned an important lesson this morning. Bhooma suggested that I start feeding Phoenix a snack at 9.5 hours to prevent him falling too low.

I did this but I just gave him some of his regular raw meat dinner. It failed to stop him from dropping. Now, I realize that I should have fed him some fancy feast LC.

I gave him half a can of f.f. LC at + 11 when Phoenix dropped to 47. Twenty minutes later, his BG was 56. I gave him half a can of fancy feast medium carb. I know I will have to push his insulin injection back 2 hours but that is okay. Next time I know to feed low carb. Have a nice day !!
 
Susan, you may also want to think about reducing his dose further? With doses over 10U, reductions are in multiples of 1U and you took a reduction of 0.25U.
 
Hi Susan, did you get any more tests after the 56? If he shoots up like he sometimes does after breakfast, you may be able to shoot.
 
Hi Susan, did you get any more tests after the 56? If he shoots up like he sometimes does after breakfast, you may be able to shoot.
Hi Bhooma,
Yes I did get more tests after he ate. Phoenix’s BG was 113 at + 12. He was at 115 forty five minutes later. I intend to give his insulin in about 10 minutes. That will be 2 hours after he ate the fancy feast.
I am unsure what to do about reducing his insulin. Phoenix just started back on the gentamicin breathing treatments last night. The gentamicin gives him diarrhea and also seemed to raise his BG. I don't know if I should just hold steady on his insulin dose or just go by his BG tests and reduce. I will do whatever you recommend.
I hated putting him back on the gentamicin, but he has developed a deep cough. The odd thing is, Phoenix has only 5 or 6 short episodes of coughing throughout the day. These are just 4 or 5 coughs and last for under a minute. The rest of the time, he is fine. He eats well and is active. His vet thinks they are allery related. It is mystifying to me at times whether to give the gentamicin or not, but I believe for safeties sake, I should give it to him. Let me know if you think I should reduce his insulin further. I trust your judgment. Thank you, Bhooma
 
Phoenix has dropped below 50 twice in the last 3 days. I'm not sure if 0.25U make much of a difference at a dose of 11.25U. Why not reduce for his safety and see and if his BG trends higher with Gentamicin, take it back up?

I know nothing about asthma and even allergies, but if the vet believe the coughing is allergy related, have you tried giving him Zyrtec? Have you seen @Margaret (and Pearl) reply in your previous condo?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2841182/
 
Phoenix has dropped below 50 twice in the last 3 days. I'm not sure if 0.25U make much of a difference at a dose of 11.25U. Why not reduce for his safety and see and if his BG trends higher with Gentamicin, take it back up?

I know nothing about asthma and even allergies, but if the vet believe the coughing is allergy related, have you tried giving him Zyrtec? Have you seen @Margaret (and Pearl) reply in your previous condo?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2841182/
Hi Bhooma,
Yes the vet did tell me to give Phoenix Zyrtec back during his vet visit in June. He also prescribed the breathing treatments. I gave Phoenix the breathing treatments because he had been on them before but he has never taken the Zyrtec. The breathing treatments seemed to clear up his coughing until the last few weeks.
The reason I haven't given the Zyrtec is because I am terrified of giving medicine he hasn't taken before. My other cat died from anaphylaxis shock from an antibiotic injection at a different vet. I also have a lot of allergies to medications and nuts. It makes me extremely nervous to give medications. I am going to start him on the Zyrtec tomorrow. His veterinarian is off on Tuesdays so I am going to wait until tomorrow in case I need to talk to him. I know this is probably my fault and I should have started Phoenix on the Zyrtec over a month ago. Thank you for your help!
 
The reason I haven't given the Zyrtec is because I am terrified of giving medicine he hasn't taken before. My other cat died from anaphylaxis shock from an antibiotic injection at a different vet.

Oh my gosh! That's awful! So very sorry this happened to you and your kitty! :(
 
Back
Top