Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
Hi all,
We're new after our diagnosis 3 weeks ago, and the folks on the main forum sent me here for some Lantus information. I am trying to do a tight regulation but so far cannot monitor every day (I'm trying to get my husband to monitor 3 days I am out of town.)
Leo is 2 1/2 and 10 pounds, newly diagnosed with BG values in the 500s. His spreadsheet is in my sig. He's been in the 300-400 range since he was diagnosed about 3 weeks ago. He started at 1.5 and has been at 2 units for 2 weeks. We laid off the frequent testing at the vet's suggestion to give him a break from the trauma, and retested curves after starting the new dose. The values were still high. We couldn't test for the last 3 days because we were out of town and the sitter doesn't know how to do the BG testing. I returned home last night and had a better preshoot value (297 - yay!) I shot 2.5 units, which the vet approved based on the previous weeks values - that was the first shot at that dose. Since it was a new dose, I got up to test last night at +5 and his BG was 38!!! The summary of last night's adventure is below:
Summary
PMPS 297, 2.5 units (his first injection at 2.5 after 2 weeks at 2.0)
+5 38 (.25 Fancy Feast classics+chicken for a BG treat)
+5 and 10 minutes 43
+6 69 (a little more FF, he didn't want to eat)
+6.5 68
+7.25 84 (finally finished 1/2 can FF)
+10 176 (had eaten another small bit of FF before this reading)
AMPS 407
He didn't exhibit any symptoms, except maybe more aggressive play since my return pre shoot last night. He was his normal chipper self, eating normally. He was a little disinterested in eating in the night, but gobbled the chicken treats he got for the BG tests (fresh boiled chicken).
I had planned to back him down to 2.0 or 2.25 based on his readings until I got his AMPS, which is right back up to his preshoot values on 2.0 Units. So, I shot him with 2.5u. I wouldn't have done that and gone to work, but I am here all day and will take readings at +4, +5, +6 and other times to get a good idea what's happening.
Should I have done anything differently? Perhaps not shot 2.5u last night? Given a Fancy Feast with gravy in the night? (I forgot I bought the higher carb ones for hypo events.) Reduced the dose this morning? Any advice on testing today other than what I listed?
I'll keep his spreadsheet updated during the day.
Thanks,
Lisa and Leo
We're new after our diagnosis 3 weeks ago, and the folks on the main forum sent me here for some Lantus information. I am trying to do a tight regulation but so far cannot monitor every day (I'm trying to get my husband to monitor 3 days I am out of town.)
Leo is 2 1/2 and 10 pounds, newly diagnosed with BG values in the 500s. His spreadsheet is in my sig. He's been in the 300-400 range since he was diagnosed about 3 weeks ago. He started at 1.5 and has been at 2 units for 2 weeks. We laid off the frequent testing at the vet's suggestion to give him a break from the trauma, and retested curves after starting the new dose. The values were still high. We couldn't test for the last 3 days because we were out of town and the sitter doesn't know how to do the BG testing. I returned home last night and had a better preshoot value (297 - yay!) I shot 2.5 units, which the vet approved based on the previous weeks values - that was the first shot at that dose. Since it was a new dose, I got up to test last night at +5 and his BG was 38!!! The summary of last night's adventure is below:
Summary
PMPS 297, 2.5 units (his first injection at 2.5 after 2 weeks at 2.0)
+5 38 (.25 Fancy Feast classics+chicken for a BG treat)
+5 and 10 minutes 43
+6 69 (a little more FF, he didn't want to eat)
+6.5 68
+7.25 84 (finally finished 1/2 can FF)
+10 176 (had eaten another small bit of FF before this reading)
AMPS 407
He didn't exhibit any symptoms, except maybe more aggressive play since my return pre shoot last night. He was his normal chipper self, eating normally. He was a little disinterested in eating in the night, but gobbled the chicken treats he got for the BG tests (fresh boiled chicken).
I had planned to back him down to 2.0 or 2.25 based on his readings until I got his AMPS, which is right back up to his preshoot values on 2.0 Units. So, I shot him with 2.5u. I wouldn't have done that and gone to work, but I am here all day and will take readings at +4, +5, +6 and other times to get a good idea what's happening.
Should I have done anything differently? Perhaps not shot 2.5u last night? Given a Fancy Feast with gravy in the night? (I forgot I bought the higher carb ones for hypo events.) Reduced the dose this morning? Any advice on testing today other than what I listed?
I'll keep his spreadsheet updated during the day.
Thanks,
Lisa and Leo