8/24 Julia +11.5/95 PMPS 90 +4.25/87 1st green PMPS!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last Post

Happy Caturday!

We're doing pretty well here. My patience pants are on! And we're finally seeing this bouncing ease up *anti jinx.* We've been at this same dose of 0.50 since 8/9 but I'm continuously seeing improvements in the numbers. From what I understand according to the TR protocol we're okay holding the dose since her nadirs are 60's and 70's with a few paw dips in the 50's. Then she'd bounce and we'd repeat. Well last night she bounced a whole 21 points from +11 to +3.5 after her PM shot! We stayed in blue and green the entire day yesterday! She cleared her bounce from the vet Monday pretty quickly, too, so we're happy and holding steady is the plan for now. She's never needed more than her 4% food to stay in safe numbers either so that's good.

Julia saw the vet on Monday for a recheck of some abnormal blood work from June. I wasn't sure what it was but as it turns out her BUN was abnormal. They redid a full renal panel and that is the only thing that still shows abnormal. The vet thinks that because this is the only thing out of whack that she's dehydrated and it's not kidney related since everything else is perfect. I could see this happening because she pees and pukes half of her body weight in the car every time on the way to the vet. :lol: So, we just have to watch and make sure she's drinking enough which she is. We put water in her food in addition to bowls around the house. The vet wants to recheck the blood work in 6 months.

Then on Monday she had some loose poo we thought was from being in the car but it has not stopped. Last night I could smell it as soon as i walked in the door. Holy cow did that stink. I called the vet for recommendations since I don't want to let this go on and they recommended we bring her in so we're doing that at noon today with a "sample." :lol: Fingers crossed that it's not expensive. I wondered if the bacteria in her belly are all out of whack since she finished antibiotics 1 week ago yesterday. She did eat yogurt with each dose though so we'll see. I was going to feed her lightly since we have another car ride this morning and I know she'll get sick. However, since we shot a slightly dropping number I'll feed just a little lightly but enough so that she doesn't drop too fast. If she get's sick so be it, we'll just clean it up. When we get home from the vet she's always starving so I'll fill her belly up again afterward.

Any recommendations/questions should make to the vet for the loose poo's? I've been reading and the only thing I know is if they give her Flagyl to have it compounded because of the taste. Any recommendations are welcomed!
 
Re: 8/24 Julia AMPS 118 Vet again today

You might have some room to fatten Julia's dose but I think this is your call.

The antibiotics are likely to have caused the loose poo. You might ask the vet about giving Julia a probiotic (e.g., FortiFlora or something like Pearls which is a human product). If the antibiotics played havoc with her intestinal flora, a probiotic could help.

Be sure if you get the Flagyl compounded, that if it's a liquid, it doesn't contain some kind of syrup. If you opt for pills, if they are small enough, you can purchase empty capsules and put the pill in a capsule so the taste isn't an issue. Otherwise, coating a pill in butter will help.
 
Re: 8/24 Julia AMPS 118 +2/57 Vet again today

Thanks!

Maybe we should talk dose closer to PMPS? I ask only because she just gave me a 57 at +2. Maybe the threat of an increase was enough? :lol:

Edited to add: I guess she wanted the decrease? :lol: +2.25/42 My thought to keep her going strong was to at least shoot through any bounce tonight at the 0.5 dose, especially with a vet visit which stresses her out. But we'll see where tonight takes us. Too early to think about it now. I put the spoonful of HC on a plate in front of her to catch any mess since she always makes one. She nearly bit the spoon right out of my hand she was so happy (gravy anyone?) and then put her paw on the plate to tip it to her. She's a riot. :-D
 
Re: 8/24 Julia AMPS 118 +2/57 +2.25/42 Vet again today

I hope everything went well at the vet today and they were able to give you something to help with the loose poo.
 
Re: 8/24 Julia +11.5/95 PMPS 90 1st green PMPS!

Julia did great at the vet despite the usual release of bodily fluids. :lol: Color me shocked but I don't even see any bouncing from her visit *anti jinx*. This is our first green PMPS ever! Either her depot is full or her pancreas jump started or something. Either way, we'll take it. I was prepared to shoot the 0.5 through a bounce before decrease. However, after seeing her greens decided to lower tonight after her 42 this morning and see how we do. We can always go back up if need be. Now I know that her 95 and 90 are pretty much the same number but to me the 90 is still a smidgen lower and I love it. I'm used to shooting dropping numbers as she always seems to be clearing bounces but now she's clearing one she didn't have. :lol:

And the vet checked - no parasites or anything notable. Going with Flagyl for 10 days in the liquid form. If she's not any better by Tuesday we can go with a blander diet but we'll see what happens. When she asked what she was eating (FF classic pate's and FF Appetizers) she did say that was good with her diabetes so that made me happy. Of course we knew this but I like that she acknowledged it. Dopey me knew that Sienne said something about the liquid form (no syrup - duh) but I couldn't remember when I was there. I'm holding off on her first dose tonight and will call them tomorrow to check if it has syrup. She already had the great poop explosion of Saturday so I think we're okay for a few more hours. :-D
 
Re: 8/24 Julia +11.5/95 PMPS 90 1st green PMPS!

Sending firming poo vines for Julia. Hope the "explosions" are over and the poo gets better quick.

Nice shooting on that 90 and first green! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/24 Julia +11.5/95 PMPS 90 1st green PMPS!

More firm poo vines from us for Julia! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Surf those beautiful numbers Julia! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
It's kind of cute.. the bean has on the patience pants and the kitty has on :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
have a great evening. hugs and scritches from us
mary and ollie
 
Re: 8/24 Julia +11.5/95 PMPS 90 1st green PMPS!

Hope the flagyl helps. I just usually coat it in butter and give the pill.

Great numbers today for Julia. Her SS is looking better. Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 8/24 Julia +11.5/95 PMPS 90 +4.25/87

Thanks everyone! Julia still loving her greens. When she goes in, she goes 4 paws in apparently. :mrgreen: :-D

She was so cute tonight lying next to my Dad as she always does. His hospital bed is in the living room up against Julia's couch where she sleeps and she has to be up by his head, always. But tonight she was lying on his bed with him. She is such a sweet girl. Even when she's noisier than the dogs at the vet's, and probably messier than them too, everyone knows her as she is so good.

I would have been fine trying a Flagyl pill for Jules but the vet said the dose she's giving her is so small that it doesn't come in pill form. I don't know enough about meds and compounding to know if that's right but I do trust this vet. And she had a small solidish poo tonight so hopefully we're trending in the right direction. I'll still start the meds of course but it was nice to see. :lol: Did I say that?
 
Poo patrol is intrigued to learn of a new development in the land of poo - an explosion of poo!


Congrats on the lovely green PMPS, and still going! :mrgreen:

Paws crossed the perilous poo predicament is soon in the past. :cool:
 

Attachments

  • exploding poo.png
    exploding poo.png
    26.4 KB · Views: 254
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top