8/24 Harley PMPS 330, +2.5/320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Overnight Harley again fell into the yellow's. I don't know where that 345 came from. I did shoot a fat 3u this AM and can test for a while to see what happens.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50619
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25

hmmmm. Wonder what's going on. No changes in food. No sneaking kibble. I am doing 6 small feedings of:

1 oz breakfast and lunch.
.4-.5 3x's in between meals AM & PM

Pattie
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25

Good morning! That is odd, but it might just be a little food spike. I hope you get it figured out or Harley at least shows you some yellows or maybe even blues.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25

Hi guys .. what's up with these pinks harley? Just being a cat are you? Well come down now please, all the other kitties are hanging out on the lower levels! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25. 356/+6.25

Double hmmmm. Wow, he keeps going up. His breath smells terrible, not fruity with ketones but rancid. Wonder if teeth problems although he is eating well.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25. 356/+6.25

Uh-oh ...funk-o-breath !?!?!

Make an appt for a dental. If he has bad breath something is brewing in there. the only way it can be acurately assessed is when the cat is under.

Back in the day BKs breath could have knocked over a horse. BK had to have 2 dentals before his teeth and gum problems got fully resolved - one in Dec 2008 and the 2nd around May 2009. It was his achilles heel. Even the least little bit of gingivitis makes a abig difference in BG. You can see in his ss, the after effects of the first dental and the return of gingivitis and then the after effects of the 2nd dental.

Have you checked for ketones - gingivitis is an infection and infection is one of the ingredients for ketones.
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25. 356/+6.25

I have missed a couple of days getting the ketones but will try tonight. Cannot get an appointment with Harley's regular vet for 2-1/2 weeks. They will give me one with another vet who "knows diabetes" but I am unsure. Of course, all I really want are labs drawn and check dental. I just don't know!
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25. 356/+6.25

when was his last dental?

For his first dental I took BK to a dental specialist, on the advice of his vet. She had got a good look in his mouth while he was under for a lump removal. She said it was more than she could handle. After BKs 1st dental, where he had 8 extractions, I figured we were home free for a year. (that was dumb on my part). So when his numbers started creeping up, like 4 months or so later, it didn't occur to me that he may be having tooth/gum problems again. One day he did one of those BIG yawns, and I noticed the gums around one of his remaining molars were red/inflamed. Back to the specialist we went annd down the BGs went....all the way to the Falls. We now go once per year (he only has 3 teeth left) to his regular vet for dental.

If you are more comfortable with his regular vet, I don' think 2-2 1/2 weeks is that long of a wait. A vet can't really check thoroughly without the cat being under some sort of sedation. At least not way back there in his mouth, where trouble could be brewing. If it's been over a year get the dental cleaning and any extractions that may be needed.
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25. 356/+6.25

Harley has never had a dental other than vet opening his mouth and looking in.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 327, 340/+2.25. 356/+6.25

Well, that nails it!

Any animal dental specialists in your neck of the woods? Since he has never had a dental there could be a lot going on in his mouth the fact that his breath is rank is a big red flag. don't wait for it to get to the point that he is having trouble eating from pain. In my experience regular vets don't seem to be keen on doing dentals on diabetic cats. A specialist is pricey, but in our case it was well worth it.

Jeepers Pattie, that could make one heck of a difference in the whole picture. . .
 
Re: 8/24 Harley PMPS 330

Not the best PMPS. Thanks Sandy, you spurred me on to call vet again. Dental specialist is on maternity leave until 9/20 (even worse than vet). So, tech looked at Harley's record (I think it says owner is a pest) because she said that vet had opening on Monday. She would have to look first and then do referral for dentist. I wonder if my dentist would take Harley - I could get him in quicker.

So, we will see what happens. Monday 8/29 - 9:30am. Will need to tell my boss that I have an appointment.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/24 Harley PMPS 330

Maternity leave! Oh for cryin' out loud. . .

I wonder how the vet is going to "have a look" . . .maybe the referral is required. Come to think of it I think the dental specialist BK went to required a referral.

Maybe your dentist could get him in quicker...would Harley open wide and say "ahhh"? :lol:

What do you think about going up to 3.25u in the AM, if tonight's cycle doesn't show improvement?
 
Re: 8/24 Harley PMPS 330

Yes, I like the 3.25. Frankly he is not acting like himself, almost like when he had DKA (sleeping in the hallway, etc.) I am going to feed some extra slushy FF to get him to pee.

Pattie
 
Not much of a change but I guess something is better than nothing....sorry to be so dramatic with the DKA statement but I always get concerned when he displays the same behaviors as before.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top