8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78; 60 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87

It's been 14 cycles at this 0.25U dose. Ready for the next reduction to 0.1U?
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3

Is it time? Even though he's been staying above 50? If so, how do I go about measuring that????
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

One of the overlooked parts of the protocol, is that if your cat is in normal numbers for a week, it's time to reduce. It's an alternative to the under 50 rule. Here is the section of the protocol from the Sticky in lantus tr. The bold is mine.

Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Normal numbers on a human meter are 50-130. Elian has been in those numbers for more than a week now.

How about a picture of 0.1U? Click on the picture to enlarge it.


Plunger is basically almost all the way to the zero line, but not quite. You might practice with some colored water or juice in a used syringe. See how many drops you can squeeze out by twisting the plunger when you have it on the 0.1U mark.

Ready to give that a go tomorrow?
 

Attachments

  • 01unit-1.jpg
    01unit-1.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 289
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat
Yahoo Elian! Susie..this is such good news! Good luck with the new dose!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

Thanks so much Deb! I will give it a try in the morning! Yikes - I can't believe it!!!!
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

I was just opening your SS to see if you were at the one week mark. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

Looking at the picture of .1 - it doesn't look much different from what I believed to be .25 and what I've been giving him! I guess I have to take it down just a bit more.
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

I just happy that you gritted your teeth and shot low that first night. Elian's SS is a great example of how all of a sudden, things snap into place.
 
Re: 8/24 ELIAN - amps 87; 78 +3; pmps 78

Elian was definitely an all of a sudden snap into place-er! It still amazes me - all these weeks later.

Thanks Marje!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top