8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 +5=63 +7=85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC has had pretty good numbers the past few days.
We were at the lake without internet so I haven't been posting.
DH has been doing the shots since 8/21. The shot was reduced to 1.5u from 1.75 because he can't see well enough to dose in 1/4 units.
DC is doing well. All P's are in place.
I have a bit of a dilemma now. Both DH and myself have to go away for 3 weeks on business.
We are leaving tomorrow evening to take the furbabies to the petsitter.
We will be at the petsitters for 2 nights 2 review everything with her and then we will be gone.
She has watched my boys before and they've done well.
She will test before each shot and will be able to get a AM +8 and a PM +2 during the week and more on the weekend.
There will be someone home with DC at all times, but that person will not test. Although she is very familiar with DC and knows when he's not acting right.
My question is due to the limited testing that will be happening should I reduce the dose while I'm away?
Any help would be appreciated.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 ADVICE NEEDED

DC is looking great! I'm just giving you a bump. You might PM Jill or Libby for the petsitter advice.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 ADVICE NEEDED

This is a tough one. Is your petsitter able to post here? Or, will you be in touch with the DPS while you're away?

You've already reduced DC's dose and her numbers look good. I'd hate to see her in higher numbers given the length of time you're going to be away. Typically, if you adjust the dose for a petsitter, it's to a dose that's on a line. I just think 1.0u will put DC in higher numbers. I'm tempted to say to leave it at 1.5u but only if your petsitter can get some guidance from you or from us.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 ADVICE NEEDED

Sienne and Gabby said:
This is a tough one. Is your petsitter able to post here? Or, will you be in touch with the DPS while you're away?

You've already reduced DC's dose and her numbers look good. I'd hate to see her in higher numbers given the length of time you're going to be away. Typically, if you adjust the dose for a petsitter, it's to a dose that's on a line. I just think 1.0u will put DC in higher numbers. I'm tempted to say to leave it at 1.5u but only if your petsitter can get some guidance from you or from us.

I will only be in contact with the PS periodically. My cell phone doesn't work while I'm in the USA.
Although I may end up purchasing one while I'm there.
I will see if she can post here with concerns. I don't know if she will update the spreadsheet though.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 ADVICE NE

DC has had a perfectly green day.
It's about time his numbers came back down.
All P's are in place.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 ADVICE NE

noreen, 3 weeks is a long time. is your pet sitter familiar with when to raise and lower doses or are you giving her a dose to be shot for the next three weeks? if you're not in contact on a regular basis i think i'd consider dropping the dose to 1u bid.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 ADVICE NE

Jill & Alex said:
noreen, 3 weeks is a long time. is your pet sitter familiar with when to raise and lower doses or are you giving her a dose to be shot for the next three weeks? if you're not in contact on a regular basis i think i'd consider dropping the dose to 1u bid.
She is not familiar with raising and lowering doses.
The cats will be at my best friends place and it's her 15 year old daughter who will be doing the testing and shots.
My friend is terrified of needles and won't even stay in the room during the test, but she will be with the cats throughout the day.
She will make sure they have food at all times.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 ADVICE NE

i dunno. tough call. DC will undoubtedly run a lot higher while you're gone if the dose is reduced to 1 unit.
my concern is leaving the dose at 1.5u for three whole weeks.... doesn't sound safe to me.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 ADVICE NE

Jill & Alex said:
i dunno. tough call. DC will undoubtedly run a lot higher while you're gone if the dose is reduced to 1 unit.
my concern is leaving the dose at 1.5u for three whole weeks.... doesn't sound safe to me.
That's what I'm thinking also.
Maybe I can get her to do a f1u
I'll be with her for 2 days before we leave from there, so I'll see how that goes.
 
Re: 8/24 DC AMPS=95 +2.5=76 +5.5=56 +10=59 PMPS=70 ADVICE NE

if you could get the 15 yr old to post numbers here maybe that would help.

or is there anyone in canada who would be willing to give a phone number or check in by phone?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top