8/24 Chloe - AMPS 83 | PMPS 99

Librarianista

Member Since 2021
Yesterday:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-108-91-11-pmps-115-vet-dental-today.251841/

Hey! Haven't seen a green PS in a few cycles, so that's exciting. Not home to monitor today, but I think she'll be alright. Got a little MC gravy on top of her pate this morning to entice her to eat.

Behavior seems normal. She got her claws clipped so she would stop sticking to the carpet, but she's having a little trouble climbing up the couch at the moment (utterly ignoring the stairs we have right there), so that's a little pitiful. But they'll grow back.
 
Just saw that her dental went through yesterday. That's great!
I skipped the AM shot for Bandit's dental since the vet wanted her fasted for 8 hours before! I see some cats get their breakfast and a shot on the morning of the dental.

Btw, did a urine culture confirm the UTI? Could it just be FLUTD/Idiopathic Cystisis? That doesn't respond to antibiotics and gets trriggered by stress.
When I recently gave Bandit Clavamox and then Baytril for a suspected infection, I had to give her Ondanestron as well to stop nausea and vomiting.
 
Just saw that her dental went through yesterday. That's great!
I skipped the AM shot for Bandit's dental since the vet wanted her fasted for 8 hours before! I see some cats get their breakfast and a shot on the morning of the dental.

Btw, did a urine culture confirm the UTI? Could it just be FLUTD/Idiopathic Cystisis? That doesn't respond to antibiotics and gets trriggered by stress.
When I recently gave Bandit Clavamox and then Baytril for a suspected infection, I had to give her Ondanestron as well to stop nausea and vomiting.
They did a urinalysis, which is how they came to the UTI conclusion. The full results haven't been uploaded to the online portal just yet, but I'll copy them to my SS when they are. She had been drinking more and cleaning her genitals more in the last week or so, so the signs were there.

I have some Cerenia in case the nausea starts to hit again. Also picked up a probiotic. The perk of the Clavamox for us is that they are chewable, and she thinks they are treats. She's a terrible cat to pill, so these are amazing for that.
 
They did a urinalysis, which is how they came to the UTI conclusion. The full results haven't been uploaded to the online portal just yet, but I'll copy them to my SS when they are. She had been drinking more and cleaning her genitals more in the last week or so, so the signs were there.
I am no expert, but does she need to try a different a/b or be on Clavamox longer if it's a recurring/persistent infection?
@Margaret (and Pearl)

https://www.felinecrf.org/treatments_fluid_and_urinary_issues.htm
 
Hi! How long has Chloe been on the Clavamox, and how long are you directed to stay on it? It may work for you, but if it doesn't you will need to try a bigger gun and/or a longer time on the meds. We always needed to go for Veraflox (yummy marshmallow flavored liquid - can you believe some cats love marshmallows?? My cat Whisper used to eat them out of my hand, lol!) or Baytril class, and would need to stay on them 6 weeks minimum. If the UTI is a recurring one that is a good key that either the med used isn't effective and/or kitty isn't on meds long enough. If you get too much digestive upset to handle on the Clavamox I would suggest asking for something different.

Does this help?
 
Hi! How long has Chloe been on the Clavamox, and how long are you directed to stay on it? It may work for you, but if it doesn't you will need to try a bigger gun and/or a longer time on the meds. We always needed to go for Veraflox (yummy marshmallow flavored liquid - can you believe some cats love marshmallows?? My cat Whisper used to eat them out of my hand, lol!) or Baytril class, and would need to stay on them 6 weeks minimum. If the UTI is a recurring one that is a good key that either the med used isn't effective and/or kitty isn't on meds long enough. If you get too much digestive upset to handle on the Clavamox I would suggest asking for something different.

Does this help?

Thanks for jumping in!

We were on it for 10 days about a month ago, but I never got a recheck because at that we were only a few weeks out from her regularly scheduled checkup and each vet visit is getting more and more stressful.

We are on it again for 10 days, first dose was this morning. I will get it rechecked after the last dose this time. FWIW, her symptoms are not nearly as bad as they were the last time. So I'm hoping this round of abx will kick it into submission.
 
Thanks for jumping in!

We were on it for 10 days about a month ago, but I never got a recheck because at that we were only a few weeks out from her regularly scheduled checkup and each vet visit is getting more and more stressful.

We are on it again for 10 days, first dose was this morning. I will get it rechecked after the last dose this time. FWIW, her symptoms are not nearly as bad as they were the last time. So I'm hoping this round of abx will kick it into submission.

In my experience, it is unlikely that 10 days will work. My cats have needed to be on antibiotics for 6 weeks minimim. Every time you start and stop, and then start again, you risk building resistance to the antibiotic you're using so you need to stay on it straight through. Also, the Clavamox may not be strong enough for the infection, as it has recurred. We always used Baytril class (very comprehensive for UTIs and kidney infections, and stronger than Clavamox), and the way we got to 6 weeks was b/c the infection would recur within a month when we did a 2 week course. It is very common for infections to recur when the antibiotic chosen is not super effective and the dose is not given for long enough period of time. (Baytril class stronger than Clavamox - Clavamox might be first-round choice of vet for a cat who has never had UTIs before, but since you're on round 2, it might be a good time to consider a stronger antibiotic. If you want to stay on the Clavamox, then I suggest this as a trial: at least minimum 4 weeks. If the infection recurs again, no more Clavamox for me, trial over. At the same time, I personally would opt to change now).

Also, since the infection has recurred, you may want to get it cultured again - which will indicate which antibiotics should be effective against it. There is always a possibility that the medication you used before won't work again since the infection wasn't kicked to the curb the first time.

And after you finish the course of medicine - however long you choose to do it - you need to run another urinalysis 10 days later which will help ensure no bacteria has started to grow again in that time.

Does this make sense and help?
 
The vet's office usually calls the day after a visit just to check in. I asked if a culture had been done, and it had not. My specific vet was not in today, but I should hear from her tomorrow and I will ask what our antibiotic options are. She always seems a little skeptical when I bring in suggestions of what to do from this forum, and I have stopped mentioning it specifically. So while she's still our primary, I need to be cautious of how I ask about procedures and medicines to feel like I am taken seriously.

Thankfully, Blue Pearl's website mentions some of these solutions for cats with UTIs, and since that's a resource she's mentioned before, I hope that will give enough credence to my questions.
 
Back
Top