8/24 China +10/PMPS 330,+2 303,+4 261,+6 227,+9 239,AMPS 278

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
8/22 condo
Didn't feel well yesterday and never got to a condo, but here's her numbers
AMPS 189, +2 208, +4 113, +5 84, +8 151
PMPS 296, +2 325, +5.7 51, +6.5 60, +8 144

HELP!!! I don't know who this cat is, but it's not China! (well...other than the cliff diving part) I really don't know what to do with her at this point though. I'm really considering dropping back and punting though.

I have to wonder if something is different and even though she's not dropping too low, if maybe dropping her back to 1 unit and just seeing how she does and slowly working back up (if necessary) might be a good idea...Or dropping her back to 1.25?

Really need your help here folks.

I'm running a temp and hopefully I'm not dealing with a post-op infection, but I don't trust that my mind is thinking totally clearly either at 101+ degrees

(and yes, I'm on high dose antibiotics and will be calling the doctor tomorrow if I'm not better)
 
Re: 8/24 China AMPS 338,+2.5 165,+4 56,+5 59,+6 91

a lot of cats seem to dive if their food is extraordinarily low carb. i think if you want to feed the raw, that's fine - it's good for her, but i wonder if you added more carbs about +1 and +2 if that wouldn't help. I'm not talking about 12%, though, just something like 5%. It looks like the 12% is sending her right back up into higher numbers.

I think i'd try giving her the 1% at preshot, then giving something like the fancy feast classics that are about 4-5% at +1, +2 and +3. You don't want to give more total calories, just change the carbs until her diving settles down a bit.

The insulin dose looks right on - i wouldn't change that. She's getting nadirs in the 50's most of the time. Instead, I'd work on smoothing out the bouncing.

Here are a couple of posts on feeding the curves to reduce bouncing that might be helpful to you: 8/10/13 Tashie, 10/29/11 Jetta, 6/1/14 Rocky

Take care of yourself - nothing wipes a person out like having a fever! i hope it resolves quickly and you're feeling better soon, chris. :YMHUG:

eta - if she starts zooming up at +10, another option would be to shoot her regular dose then. Sometimes just doing that one time (shooting at +10) can give you a little more overlap and take the edge off the high numbers. It becomes a vicious cycle when you've got a really high preshot, then a dive, which sets up another bounce. interrupting any part of that cycle can be helpful.
 
Re: 8/24 China AMPS 338,+2.5 165,+4 56,+5 59,+6 91

If she follows her pattern lately, she'll probably be at least in the 200's by +10 (that's about 15 minutes)

I only gave her the 12% today because I was just too tired to try to fool with her going any lower so I gave her the little extra carbs.

If you look back for the last week or so, she has been doing the same thing no matter what I fed her when she hit her nadir...an hour or two later and ZOOM!

This is just a totally different pattern for her that's driving me crazy...being sick just isn't helping any.

I'll test her in a few minutes and see where we're at....but if I shoot at +10 or any time early tonight, wouldn't I also have to shoot early in the morning?
(which I can do if it'll help....I'm pretty sure the answer is "YES" but again, fuzzy brain isn't thinking really clearly)

I can try going back to giving her the 4% for awhile too..keep her with the raw at PS and then maybe slow down the dives with the 4%?
 
Re: 8/24 China AMPS 338,+2.5 165,+4 56,+5 59,+6 91+7.5 160

yes to all of that - if you shoot her at +10 today, you'd want to shoot 12 hrs later. you can work forward back to your normal shot time. you wouldn't have to do it 15 minutes at a time, though - there's no danger when you shoot later. The larger the delay the more you might see an impact, though.

yes, i'd try a little higher carb in those mini-meals. it just seems like a lot of cats on zero or 1% carbs really dive. Not to say that others don't as well, but it seems a common thread to me.

i can appreciate why you'd carb her nice and solidly when you don't feel well! she's gotta accommodate you sometimes! :-D
 
Re: 8/24 China AMPS 338,+2.5 165,+4 56,+5 59,+6 91+7.5 160

Well her +10 was 330, so I went ahead and gave her normal shot.

This is something new (at least I don't remember seeing it as something to try when they're bouncing like this) so it should be interesting to see how it effects things

4am is awfully early, but depending on where she's at, I'll figure out what to do about her morning shot then

Thanks for the idea Julie...at this point, I'll try anything!



IF YOU ARE LURKING, PLEASE DO NOT TRY THIS WITHOUT ADEQUATE DATA AND KNOWING YOUR CAT VERY WELL! THIS IS NOT "NORMAL" PROTOCOL!
 
Re: 8/24 China +10/PMPS 330

it's not a new idea, or my own idea, but it can be really hard on the person. Most people shoot fairly early in the morning and even giving one shot at +10 can be rough. You don't want to do multiple +10 shots in a row because the depot can overfill, but once on a significant rise like this can be a helpful tool in the toolbox.

i suggested it a while ago to Elise to try with Max, but the way circumstances went she opted not to. make a note of it on your spreadsheet.
 
Re: 8/24 China +10/PMPS 330

Oh I wouldn't shoot her earlier than +12...for us, that's just 4am

I'll set the alarm and check her...if she zooms back high again, I can go ahead and shoot and then work her back to her normal shot time of 6am

Noted on spreadsheet too.
 
Re: 8/24 China +10/PMPS 330

Good luck with shooting at +10. I hope it helps flatten China out. Sending prayers for you to feel better soon.
 
Re: 8/24 China +10/PMPS 330,+2 303

So far, so good!

Only dropped 27 points since the early shot....better than 127..or 227

Thanks Carla...I sure am tired of feeling icky!
 
Re: 8/24 China +10/PMPS 330,+2 303

Good luck with the earlier shot and reducing the bouncing. Kat tried this with Gobbles starting in February last year. Yes, there were some bleary eyed moments.

Vines to you Chris, feel better soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top