Eva and Achilles
Member Since 2010
Hi everyone. This is my first post on the Lantus board. Achilles, my 11 year old kitty was diagnosed about a week ago. Our first vet started him on Humulin N. We saw a new vet last night who started him on 2 units of Lantus b.i.d.
We gave him the 2 units last night and his BG at +10.5 was about 140. (I say "about" 140 b/c we had some problems with the Relion meter this morning, and had to test 3 times in a matter of minutes. First test: 53, Second test: 143, Third test: 137. I decided to throw out the first reading of 53 and take the average of the last 2 readings.)
Anyway, we gave him another 2 units after his AMPS 140 number, and DH is going home to check his BG levels periodically. But I am on the fence as to whether to follow the vet's advice and stay at the 2 units or lower it to 1 unit b.i.d. I've read on the maid FDMB board that starting at 2 units of lantus b.i.d. is considered high. I will say though, that it was nice to see Achilles' number down to about 140 at +10.5 after his first lantus injection.
Can someone look at Achilles' spreadsheet and offer advice? Thanks.
We gave him the 2 units last night and his BG at +10.5 was about 140. (I say "about" 140 b/c we had some problems with the Relion meter this morning, and had to test 3 times in a matter of minutes. First test: 53, Second test: 143, Third test: 137. I decided to throw out the first reading of 53 and take the average of the last 2 readings.)
Anyway, we gave him another 2 units after his AMPS 140 number, and DH is going home to check his BG levels periodically. But I am on the fence as to whether to follow the vet's advice and stay at the 2 units or lower it to 1 unit b.i.d. I've read on the maid FDMB board that starting at 2 units of lantus b.i.d. is considered high. I will say though, that it was nice to see Achilles' number down to about 140 at +10.5 after his first lantus injection.
Can someone look at Achilles' spreadsheet and offer advice? Thanks.