8/23Cairo PMPS 131+1/125,+2/90,+3/63,+4/53,+5/70,+5.5/100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeannie & Cairo

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123936&p=1285507#p1285507

I gave Cairo her .25 units of insulin even though her AMPS was 74. I hope that's ok (seems a little low this morning)...any thoughts on that? I have some time today to test her at +1, +2, & +3 so I'll watch her closely.

I ordered her the auto feeder but it won't arrive until Wed. or Thurs. I'd like to get her started on a regular feeding schedule even if I can't be here.

Have a good day everyone.

AMPS/74,+1/68,+2/58,+3/48,+4.5/69,+6.5/112,+9/106
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74

Great job shooting low this morning! :mrgreen:

Lots of kitties will have flat gorgeous cycles when you shoot low.

Your +1 and +2 tests can give you a lot of information. If the +1 is flat or lower and/or if the +2 is lower, Cairo may be planning on keeping you busy. Hopefully Cairo will surf nicely for you today!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74

Oh good.. thanks for the confirmation that it was ok to shoot this morning. I figured it was since her BG wasn't crazy low. She ate like her usual "piggy" self this morning and is acting very normal, happy and content.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68

Wellll, her +1 was lower (68). I'm going to do a +2 and a +3 today. Then I'm in a Saturday training for 3 hours and won't get anymore testing in until her +6.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68

You may want to sneak in another test in 30 minutes (+1.5) just to insure she's not starting to drop. You may also want to feed a bit more if you haven't already to help her continue surfing.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68

Ugh! Cairo's +2 is 58 (a 10 point drop since her +1)!! It's time for her to eat so I added a teaspoon of FF Gravy to her usual FF Classic. I have a class to teach (yes, on Saturday :sad: at 9 so I can test her one more time at her +3 then I can't get back until her +6.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68, +2/58

Good call on adding the gravy. Thankfully, she's not really dropping fast. You may want to try to get a +2.5 as well.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68, +2/58, +3/48

Oh noooo! Cairo's +3 was 48! I gave her another teaspoon of HC but I had to leave for this stupid class. I have my son on duty to give her HC every 30 min. until I can sneak back and check on her. Cross your fingers!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68, +2/58, +3/48

There isn't much I can do right now but I just want to make sure someone is online for my questions!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68, +2/58, +3/48, +4.5/69

I was able to take a quick break and go home and test her. She tested at 69 at a +4.5. I'm going to wait an hour to give her more HC food. Is that ok? Or, should I only wait 30 min. ?
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68, +2/58, +3/48, +4.5/69

Howdy! I saw your post, and had a few minutes just to poke on in here. I think you have done fine. It was great that your son can feed, and that you were able to get back and check on Cairo. When Mannie ran these lower greens I usually checked every 30 minutes just to make sure that he was doing what I thought he was doing, and for peace of mind. Some folks here test every hour, I preferred every 30 minutes when numbers were below 80. If the next test isn't up it would be OK to have your son feed too until you are back and know what Cairo has planned fr the rest of the day.

I think you did fine this morning to shoot that 74. My rule of thumb when I'd shoot green numbers was to test +1, +2, try see the pattern. If they were dropping then it was every 30 minutes. You did well this morning.

Hope Cairo surfs well the rest of the day. I will try and check back later and see how it is going. Surf's up Cairo!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74, +1/68, +2/58, +3/48, +4.5/69

Jeannie, you are doing great. It must be hard having to leave but it's good your son was there to feed. the 69 is good and if the next test doesn't drop I would give a little lc and see if Cairo will surf in the 60"s-90"s.

I forgot to add that you might want to remove the 911 from your first post if you are okay. That way if you need immediate help you can put it back on and those watching will know that there is a new emergency, ok?
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74,+1/68,+2/58,+3/48,+4.5/69,+6.5/112,+9/

For the record, although still freaked out, I was much more calm and collected through this bout with low numbers than I was the first time. :smile:
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74,+1/68,+2/58,+3/48,+4.5/69,+6.5/112,+9/

Great job today Jeannie - it does become easier over time, though I'm not sure how much more practice you'll get. :-D :-D

With that 48 today, Cairo is telling you he wants to go down to .1U. If you look at the New to the Group Sticky, about 3/4 of the way down, there are some pictures of what .1U looks like.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74,+1/68,+2/58,+3/48,+4.5/69,+6.5/112,+9/

great job today! kudos to your son for being on watch too.

good luck measuring the 0.1u! ;-) :mrgreen: and congrats on the reduction. :-D
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74,+1/68,+2/58,+3/48,+4.5/69,+6.5/112,+9/

Great job today Jeannie!! Cairo really is giving you a run for your money, isn't she?

I think most of us suggest this to get the .1 unit dose...Push the plunger in as hard as you can and hold it. Put the syringe into the vial/pen and just "release" the plunger

The vacuum will pull a tiny amount into the syringe

Good luck with the reduction! Cairo doesn't look like she wants to stay long here in Lantus Land!!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo AMPS/74,+1/68,+2/58,+3/48,+4.5/69,+6.5/112,+9/

Thanks everyone! Ok, question time :roll:

1) She is due to have her PM shot in about 15 min. Do I give her 0.1 now or wait until tomorrow morning?

2) How do I get the air bubble out with such a small amount in the syringe?
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131

If you haven't shot yet....

I would go to your first post and change that icon to ? so people see you have a question and then you can take it down when you get the answer.....

Cairo doesn't seem to be bouncing, so if it were me, I would go with the reduced dose....HOWEVER, I am far too new at this dance to give advice, other than the above of changing the icon :P
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131

I'd go with the .1 tonight

If you push the plunger in as hard as you can before you insert it into the pen/vial, you really shouldn't get an air bubble
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131

Thanks Chris! I was able to find the .1 and, you were right, there wasn't really an air bubble at all.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131

Hi! Well done today, and Woohoo! A reduction. I hope Cairo likes the new dose. :-D Nice too see too that there really isn't a bounce. Surf well tonight Cairo.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131

Thanks Michelle! ... and everyone else that has been helping me through this. I'm learning so much and, I can honestly say, that I couldn't have done this without all of you. :thumbup
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131

Congratulations on the reduction today! Very nice job handling those numbers. It's always nerve-wracking when you catch them on the way out the door, and you handled the situation just perfectly. I didn't get a chance to check back in on Cairo's condo until this evening when I got home, but I was glad to see that she came back up, and then surfed beautifully for the rest of the day. Fingers crossed for a safe surf cycle for you guys tonight!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

Just checking to see if I have any "911" buddies that might be up tonight...? Cairo is having a repeat of last Thursday night. She 53 at +4. I gave her a teaspoon of FF Gravy along with her FF Classic. I'll test her again in about 30 min. and see if she can get back into the 60's
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

She is certainly a cat on a mission and I have a feeling that she will not be on insulin for very long!

You are on the right track....just remembering the test in 30 minutes might be a food spike, so even if that is in the 60s you will need to get a few more tests in without food and make sure she is still rising....
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

I'm around tonight. Good job with the high carb. She earned a deduction today and we don't recommend back to back reductions, so you might as well carb her up high.
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

Also remember when you are posting that in order for your 911 to show to the group, you have to go back to the original post of the day and add the 911 icon to the initial post....then when your emergency is over, you need to go back to that original post of the day and remove it...
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

I can't stay on too much longer, but we usually don't pull out the HC until they drop below 50

She's still draining the depot from the larger .25 dose, so it's not a big surprise that she'd be lower tonight than you'd like her to be....at least you don't have to teach in the morning! (I hope!)

Generally, if you get a low like that earlier in the cycle, just feed a little of their normal LC food and retest in 30....sometimes that's enough to get them up on their surfboard

However, since she just earned the reduction today, there's no reason you can't carb her up and save yourself some stress!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

OK, thanks Chris. Now I know I shouldn't go into freak-out mode as long as we stay above 50. @-) There is so much to remember. I don't have to teach tomorrow so I'll hang out and make sure gets back up on that surf board. Don't worry about staying on... I got this! Thanks for being patient with me, I really feel like I'm being a pain the "you know where" but I really want the best for my girl. Nighty night!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

Hey! That's what all of us are here for!!

Wendy & Neko are highly experienced and are "west coast", so I'm sure she'll be checking in on you....and Marje & Gracie are around too so if you need help, post that 911 and holler for help!
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131 +1/125, +2/90, +3/63, +4

Ohhh sheesh! I didn't see all the other posts until now (only looked at Chris') Thanks all of you!

Wendy, I'll check in with you in a bit. I'm going to test in about 15 min then again in 30 and we'll see what happens. Thanks for the 911 icon lesson as well. Apparently, I'm a slow learner :oops:
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131+1/125,+2/90,+3/63,+4/53,+5/70

She's back up to 70. Not sure if it's the food or not. Putting on 1 of my fav shows, True Blood (hour long), and will test again in 30 and 60. ;-)
 
Re: 8/23Cairo PMPS 131+1/125,+2/90,+3/63,+4/53,+5/70

Looking good, let's see what she does without food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top