8/23 Zeus AMPS 450

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not one of the dosing pros but to me it looks like your problem is that you're switching doses too often. I don't see notes on the ss to explain why you changed from 2u back to 1.5u when you were getting blue and green numbers. The 2u looked good to me, but then again you looked good a few times on 1.5u and then switched also. Every time you change doses Zeus has to adjust and is probably bouncing. I know Racci and a lot of cats bounce every time they change doses. You have to let them settle into a dose.

Melanie & Racci
 
Thanks for responding. I have switched doses based on advice from the vet. At 2u and at 1.75 we got too low to shoot at pre-shot tests. I held the 1.5 or a fat 1.5 for about a month. It certainly does seem like a bit of bouncing going on now though. I do have the vial of lantus, not the pen, and have been using it for 3 & 1/2 months. I wonder if I should get a new vial? I haven't been able to get a script for the pens.
 
I agree with Melanie's observation about the dose changes. FWIW, with someone new to Lantus, our "no shoot" number is 150. You want to gradually begin to shoot lower numbers. If you take a look at the subject lines on the Board, you'll see that people here shoot low. There are always people that are shooting low blues and greens. The mantra with Lantus is "shoot low to stay low." However, you need to be data ready to do so. You've been great at testing. There's no reason to not try to gradually start to shoot lower numbers when they occur.

The other thing that I suspect needs to be factored in is glucose toxicity. If you stay at a dose too long and your cat is not in normal numbers at that dose, your cat's body adjusts to the higher BG level and begins to treat it as the new "normal." It becomes more challenging to bring numbers down. I think this is what's happening. It's why the TR protocol recommends evaluating the dose after 3 days. You want to avoid letting your cat getting comfortable in non-normal numbers.
 
Glucose toxicity... Hmmm, interesting. Makes sense, now that you mention it. I have experimented with shooting lower, but I think the lowest I have shot into was 103... Bcause I could be around to monitor. I'm just so afraid that Zeus will not react the way I think he will and will go too low while I'm at work. I will work up to it...or down to it I guess, :smile: thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top