8/23 Xander AMPS 246 +2 134 +3 86 +4 84

Albert, Remind me: did Xander have pancreatitis? I lose track of all the p-itis cases on the forum, but I seem to recall that he did. If so, it do you think it's completely resolved?
 
Albert, Remind me: did Xander have pancreatitis? I lose track of all the p-itis cases on the forum, but I seem to recall that he did. If so, it do you think it's completely resolved?
He did/does. He was first diagnosed 1/3 when his eating really went downhill and its ebbed and flowed ever since. Last specfpl was around April when we had the ultrasound and it was pretty high, but nothing severe noticed on imaging.

He probably has a low degree of it constantly, which requires the daily mirataz/ondansetron/gabapentin. I don't think these high morning numbers correlate though, as his eating was actually better the past 2 mornings. He's now been on gabapentin for over 2 weeks and its been a miracle as far as eating, with the initial side effects gone. His first preshot meals are low, but quickly pick up as it kicks in.
 
He did/does. He was first diagnosed 1/3 when his eating really went downhill and its ebbed and flowed ever since. Last specfpl was around April when we had the ultrasound and it was pretty high, but nothing severe noticed on imaging.

He probably has a low degree of it constantly, which requires the daily mirataz/ondansetron/gabapentin. I don't think these high morning numbers correlate though, as his eating was actually better the past 2 mornings. He's now been on gabapentin for over 2 weeks and its been a miracle as far as eating, with the initial side effects gone. His first preshot meals are low, but quickly pick up as it kicks in.
Any inflammatory condition or chronic inflammation can drive up their numbers. I deal with inflammation with Jude's FIC often. It creates a maddening moving target in terms of regulation. But Xander's numbers seem to follow a pattern: higher a.m. preshots (less higher in the p.m.) and at onset, relatively flat with nice nadirs. It looks like the .75U dose lowered his nadirs a bit, but, like you said, those preshot values, especially in the a.m., are consistently a bit higher. I've seen other cats on the board that have nice nadirs (nadirs that don't require an increase) but their preshots tend to be higher. Nao is one. It's a mystery to me.
 
Back
Top