8/23 Vinnie day5 Lantus amps 185, pmps 163, +2 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

gary&vinnie

Member Since 2010
yesterday's post

quotes in italics from this morning on yesterday's post re: dosecrease from 7 to 7.5u started this AM

Ronnie & Luna wrote:
hi guys please open a new thread when you are.
I noticed the dose went up to 7.50u this morning on spreadsheet...and your AMPS is a nice blue.
Please get a +1 ok? you may want to monitor this cycle today if at all possible
Let us know how we can help if you need it.
PS: good job getting your Profile going!


Sienne and Gabby wrote:
Like Ronnie, I noted the dose increase. Please review the Tight Regulation sticky on dosing at the top of the Board. Just as a reminder:
Modified Tight Regulation Protocol wrote:
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I bolded the two areas you need to be attentive to. An increase of 0.5u is too much. With nadirs in the 200s, you would increase by 0.25u. I would have also waited the full 7 days given the blue nadirs, but that's your choice.






Ronnie, Luna, Sienne and Gabby,
Thank you for looking in!

I'm using the University of Queensland protocol sheet also linked in the stickies. http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link4.pdf

"If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)
Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on
if cat on low or high dose of insulin"

I think 7 units twice a day is a pretty high dose, so an increase of 0.5 is what's called for. As I worked today and DW doesn't do pokeys, she was with him today and he was happy as a clam and ate FFx4. PMPS was 163, now he's got some Trader Joe's. I'll do some additional pokeys tonite as the peak effect from this AM's dosecrease should be at approximately +14.

Thank you all for caring about us! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top