8/23 Norbert AMPS 205, +3 72, +5 128 PMBG 99

Norbert’s Mom

Member Since 2020
We’ve done a reduction for Norbert from 1U to ~.75U. He had a few instances of being below 100 when he was at 1U. I fixed his ss since my husband was showing a “skinny” on some of his shots while we were aiming for .75U. We have switched syringes to the type that show half units which makes it much easier to see how much we are giving.
Thankfully, I think I’m finally understanding the imsulin “depot”.
 
Interesting you are seeing green already on this dose. As per SLGS, anytime you see a number under 90, it means a 0.25 unit reduction. 0.5 is so much easier to give a consistent dose.
 
I’m a little surprised, too, that he’s had some green with the .75U. We will try the .5U and see how he does over the next few days. He has transitioned completely to the low-carb, wet food and he has been playing more because he is feeling better. Maybe this is burning off the carbs so he doesn’t need as much insulin?
 
Norbert is at 99 and my husband has not given him his p.m. dose. He has eaten. According to the sticky, it looks like it’s best to skip tonight’s dose and start back up tomorrow morning. Could this cause him to get behind?
 
So we won’t know if he was on the way up. Next time stall, don’t feed, and test again in 20 minutes. He will recover. It looks like he double dipped since he started back up. And is lower than the nadir.
 
I've combined your two threads today into one. Due to the number of people/cats here, we ask that people do just one post per day and just update the subject line or add the "?" prefix if you have a new question or need help. I'm also going to change the PMPS to a PMBG (PM blood glucose) which indicates you haven't shot.

People who have lots of experience and data on SLGS will shoot as low as 90. However, Norbert is still a little too new at this dance, so a skip will be best. I'd suggest your husband get a +1 test after he's fed for a couple of reasons. One, it's good data that might help you next time you get a low number, and two - to make sure he's coming up and safe. Norbert will see some higher numbers from the lack of insulin tonight, but I'm sure he'll be back on track in a day or two.
 
Thank you both. Hubby will check him again to make sure he’s safe. I will feel better with him being a little on the high side than getting low.
 
Back
Top