? 8/23 Ivy Amps 173, +2.5 52, +5 Lo L, +6 51 L, +9 70, Pmps 224, +3.25 172 Libre (stop Cerenia /Mirataz?)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
8/21/26
Amps 183 Libre

We are back on the Libre for now. It seemed time to give Ivy a break from all the pokes. She just is so stressed.
The night I put it on her (Friday) I also gave an increase and then she was diving all night long. I spent the entire night awake with her, trying to convince her to eat a little bit of carbs even though I knew she really didn’t need them, but I was trying to get the brand new Libre to not fail by elevating her ever so slightly.
Somehow, it was a miracle the Libre did not fail because she was in a Low streak the entire overnight cycle😘

So yesterday morning, I decreased her dose slightly to get her to surf ok with the Libre but in a decent range. It’s such a delicate balance.

But yesterday morning, around 4:30 in the morning I heard her puking. Which she hasn’t done at all lately since she got sick a month ago
And she puked again about an hour later, right before I was about to start giving her breakfast and her insulin

Maybe it was from feeding her some extra carbs overnight, I’m not really sure.

I was just starting to think about when would be a good time to try to dial back the Cerenia and Miritaz.
She’s been on both of them for an entire month since she got sick on 7/20.
I would like to see if she doesn’t need them so she’s not immune to them when they are needed again in the future.

Or, do I just leave them in place ongoing as support since we feel she’s got IBD (based on her ultrasound results).

One of my doctors suggested stopping the Cerenia once she has had 10 good days of no vomiting and no loose stools and eating well and then reducing the Mirataz dose to every other then every 3rd day and slowly weaning off of that to test her appetite and stools.

But I’ve also read that other people have suggested stopping the Mirataz first before the Cerenia, so I’m not really sure which to try to eliminate first 😬
Any thoughts?

She’s so complicated 🐈💖💞
Have a boring Sunday everyone 🐈‍⬛🐈🏄‍♀️🌊😻

Ivy loves this doorstop and uses it as a paw rest 🤣🐾
IMG_5746.jpeg
 
I'm so sorry I'm not a vet and so new I can barely give advice, When I have one of my pets (and we have 6 in total) on Cerenia and Mirtazapine I always first stop the Cerenia and give the Mirtazapine a bit longer.

But I really came here to say that I'm absolutely in love with Ivy, omg is she cute with her paw on the doorstopper 🥰
 
I'm so sorry I'm not a vet and so new I can barely give advice, When I have one of my pets (and we have 6 in total) on Cerenia and Mirtazapine I always first stop the Cerenia and give the Mirtazapine a bit longer.

But I really came here to say that I'm absolutely in love with Ivy, omg is she cute with her paw on the doorstopper 🥰
Awwww thank you Britta. That’s so sweet.
And your cat experience is very helpful, so thank you for sharing it here!!
🥰😻💞
 
I agree with the logic that reducing the mirataz first in case any nausea is present, but I found during our first pancreatic episode that cerenia and ondansetron barely did anything for him but the mirataz was a miracle drug. So I kept him on a very small mirataz with no nausea meds for a long stretch of months with no problems. Maybe worth reducing the dose of mirataz a bit to test?

Unfortunately we've been on mirataz daily for months now (as well as ondan) and think we probably will be indefinitely, but it works for him I suppose. It's a small dose, less than a third of the measuring strip on the side.

Have a great Sunday! 🤗
 
It’s so interesting how there seems to be a difference of protocols!
🧐
It is actually my way of dealing after Max having chronic pancreatitis for years. When first diagnosed he was not getting the correct dose se of ondansetron and I gave him cyproheptadine twice a day. Every time I tried to stop cyproheptadine his appetite tanked. I had been using the dose for Tiffany who weighed a lot less than Max. My vet told me to increase the ondansetron dose and soon he did not need any appetite medication. I believe you need to find out what works for Ivy.
 
I agree with the logic that reducing the mirataz first in case any nausea is present, but I found during our first pancreatic episode that cerenia and ondansetron barely did anything for him but the mirataz was a miracle drug. So I kept him on a very small mirataz with no nausea meds for a long stretch of months with no problems. Maybe worth reducing the dose of mirataz a bit to test?

Unfortunately we've been on mirataz daily for months now (as well as ondan) and think we probably will be indefinitely, but it works for him I suppose. It's a small dose, less than a third of the measuring strip on the side.

Have a great Sunday! 🤗
Thanks Albert. It’s interesting to see how they respond.
I don’t think Ivy is nauseous. She’s been eating great (I’m sure from the Mirataz)
I think my vet feels Cerenia has anti inflammatory properties which can help.

I suppose we have to try one thing and see if there’s a negative effect to pinpoint where she is.
Thank you. I’m glad it’s worked well for Xander 🥰
 
It is actually my way of dealing after Max having chronic pancreatitis for years. When first diagnosed he was not getting the correct dose se of ondansetron and I gave him cyproheptadine twice a day. Every time I tried to stop cyproheptadine his appetite tanked. I had been using the dose for Tiffany who weighed a lot less than Max. My vet told me to increase the ondansetron dose and soon he did not need any appetite medication. I believe you need to find out what works for Ivy.
We are not even using ondansetron at this point. I don’t think Ivy is nauseated.
But she’s eating well from the Mirataz.

It’s so hard to know which one to stop first. I hear you about trying to find Ivy’s best protocol.

Thank you 🥰
 
What did you use for the extra bit of carbs to get her higher? Any chance that was something she was allergic to, hence the vomits?

Like Elise, I always removed Mirataz first, or at least lowered the dose first. Then the anti nausea.
 
What did you use for the extra bit of carbs to get her higher? Any chance that was something she was allergic to, hence the vomits?

Like Elise, I always removed Mirataz first, or at least lowered the dose first. Then the anti nausea.
Anything is possible about the carbs.
I used her lamb recipe foods (home cooked) so no new foreign cans of commercial food.

I used one 9% and maybe she didn’t like that particular food. She hasn’t eaten it in a very long time (it may have just been old, in thr freezer).

Thanks about the Mirataz protocol.
I really don’t believe she’s nauseous, but who really knows.
 
Back
Top