Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
8/21/26
Amps 183 Libre
We are back on the Libre for now. It seemed time to give Ivy a break from all the pokes. She just is so stressed.
The night I put it on her (Friday) I also gave an increase and then she was diving all night long. I spent the entire night awake with her, trying to convince her to eat a little bit of carbs even though I knew she really didn’t need them, but I was trying to get the brand new Libre to not fail by elevating her ever so slightly.
Somehow, it was a miracle the Libre did not fail because she was in a Low streak the entire overnight cycle
So yesterday morning, I decreased her dose slightly to get her to surf ok with the Libre but in a decent range. It’s such a delicate balance.
But yesterday morning, around 4:30 in the morning I heard her puking. Which she hasn’t done at all lately since she got sick a month ago
And she puked again about an hour later, right before I was about to start giving her breakfast and her insulin
Maybe it was from feeding her some extra carbs overnight, I’m not really sure.
I was just starting to think about when would be a good time to try to dial back the Cerenia and Miritaz.
She’s been on both of them for an entire month since she got sick on 7/20.
I would like to see if she doesn’t need them so she’s not immune to them when they are needed again in the future.
Or, do I just leave them in place ongoing as support since we feel she’s got IBD (based on her ultrasound results).
One of my doctors suggested stopping the Cerenia once she has had 10 good days of no vomiting and no loose stools and eating well and then reducing the Mirataz dose to every other then every 3rd day and slowly weaning off of that to test her appetite and stools.
But I’ve also read that other people have suggested stopping the Mirataz first before the Cerenia, so I’m not really sure which to try to eliminate first
Any thoughts?
She’s so complicated


Have a boring Sunday everyone




Ivy loves this doorstop and uses it as a paw rest

Amps 183 Libre
We are back on the Libre for now. It seemed time to give Ivy a break from all the pokes. She just is so stressed.
The night I put it on her (Friday) I also gave an increase and then she was diving all night long. I spent the entire night awake with her, trying to convince her to eat a little bit of carbs even though I knew she really didn’t need them, but I was trying to get the brand new Libre to not fail by elevating her ever so slightly.
Somehow, it was a miracle the Libre did not fail because she was in a Low streak the entire overnight cycle
So yesterday morning, I decreased her dose slightly to get her to surf ok with the Libre but in a decent range. It’s such a delicate balance.
But yesterday morning, around 4:30 in the morning I heard her puking. Which she hasn’t done at all lately since she got sick a month ago
And she puked again about an hour later, right before I was about to start giving her breakfast and her insulin
Maybe it was from feeding her some extra carbs overnight, I’m not really sure.
I was just starting to think about when would be a good time to try to dial back the Cerenia and Miritaz.
She’s been on both of them for an entire month since she got sick on 7/20.
I would like to see if she doesn’t need them so she’s not immune to them when they are needed again in the future.
Or, do I just leave them in place ongoing as support since we feel she’s got IBD (based on her ultrasound results).
One of my doctors suggested stopping the Cerenia once she has had 10 good days of no vomiting and no loose stools and eating well and then reducing the Mirataz dose to every other then every 3rd day and slowly weaning off of that to test her appetite and stools.
But I’ve also read that other people have suggested stopping the Mirataz first before the Cerenia, so I’m not really sure which to try to eliminate first
Any thoughts?
She’s so complicated
Have a boring Sunday everyone
Ivy loves this doorstop and uses it as a paw rest